Programmers - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-22-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Bvh55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 148
Programmers

Has anyone ever gotten a new jeep and started programming it? If so, have a unit youd recommend? I have a '13 with 3.73 gears and would like play around for gas mileage etc, and I'm also about to be getting wheels/tires. Is a programmer something I 'need'?

Bvh55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 08:38 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pine CO
Posts: 171
I went with larger 315/70/17 tires 2.5" lift ect. on a 13 jku.w/ auto and 3.73's. After any regears and using a larger tire you really need to recalibrate the ECM. Before I reprogrammed it I took a 1500 mile trip after the tires were on and lift was done. My speed was off by 4 to 5 mph and the rig did not seem to run quite right. Fuel economy was about 16/17 most of the time down from 19 stock. Anyway I bought the AEV Procal for the 13 JK's and I went ahead and reprogrammed it using it for the larger tire size, tire pressure settings dropping the setting to 20 psi from the 30 it was set for and steering wheel center functions. The reprogramming made a big difference in the vehicle running, shifting and my fuel economy is back to 18/19 with the larger tires. This was done prior to the trip back home. The AEV Procal worked great and was easy to use. Very happy with it. I don't know about any other programmers, hope this helps you out

fireguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 09:03 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Bvh55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
I went with larger 315/70/17 tires 2.5" lift ect. on a 13 jku.w/ auto and 3.73's. After any regears and using a larger tire you really need to recalibrate the ECM. Before I reprogrammed it I took a 1500 mile trip after the tires were on and lift was done. My speed was off by 4 to 5 mph and the rig did not seem to run quite right. Fuel economy was about 16/17 most of the time down from 19 stock. Anyway I bought the AEV Procal for the 13 JK's and I went ahead and reprogrammed it using it for the larger tire size, tire pressure settings dropping the setting to 20 psi from the 30 it was set for and steering wheel center functions. The reprogramming made a big difference in the vehicle running, shifting and my fuel economy is back to 18/19 with the larger tires. This was done prior to the trip back home. The AEV Procal worked great and was easy to use. Very happy with it. I don't know about any other programmers, hope this helps you out
Very helpful, thanks!!
Bvh55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 09:30 PM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
cmaggi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 1,482
Not new, but i have a 2010. After larger tires I wanted to correct the speedo for mileage (only 2.5% off though). I spent the extra $150 and got a Superchips Flashpaq. I'm getting 6.7% more mpg's which will pay for itself in 2 years. The pick up is also greatly improved and I'm glad I spent the extra money up front. I don't know the gains you'd receive in a 2012+, but the Flashpaq had more features than a procal by far. Either one would help you though if you regear or change tire size. The ProCal won't help you for tuning the engine, but will recenter the steering wheel and activate DRLs. Just compare the two for what you need vs. your budget.
cmaggi2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 09:43 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Bvh55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaggi2 View Post
Not new, but i have a 2010. After larger tires I wanted to correct the speedo for mileage (only 2.5% off though). I spent the extra $150 and got a Superchips Flashpaq. I'm getting 6.7% more mpg's which will pay for itself in 2 years. The pick up is also greatly improved and I'm glad I spent the extra money up front. I don't know the gains you'd receive in a 2012+, but the Flashpaq had more features than a procal by far. Either one would help you though if you regear or change tire size. The ProCal won't help you for tuning the engine, but will recenter the steering wheel and activate DRLs. Just compare the two for what you need vs. your budget.
Thanks...I already have the gears I'll be running (had 3.73) from the factory. I will be getting tires/wheels soon, and I already don't like the shifting (mostly low speed deceleration), so I'd be willing to spend a few bucks extra to improve that. It's only 8 weeks old, but I don't think it shifts right.
Bvh55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 11:24 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jrussblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: se la
Posts: 3,066
Diablo sport and bully dog are the only ones currently to market with an 11-13 jk programmer. The diablo seems to be preferred over the bully dog's rep.
__________________
06 LJ
78? CJ-7
jrussblues is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 11:27 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
I went with larger 315/70/17 tires 2.5" lift ect. on a 13 jku.w/ auto and 3.73's. After any regears and using a larger tire you really need to recalibrate the ECM. Before I reprogrammed it I took a 1500 mile trip after the tires were on and lift was done. My speed was off by 4 to 5 mph and the rig did not seem to run quite right. Fuel economy was about 16/17 most of the time down from 19 stock. Anyway I bought the AEV Procal for the 13 JK's and I went ahead and reprogrammed it using it for the larger tire size, tire pressure settings dropping the setting to 20 psi from the 30 it was set for and steering wheel center functions. The reprogramming made a big difference in the vehicle running, shifting and my fuel economy is back to 18/19 with the larger tires. This was done prior to the trip back home. The AEV Procal worked great and was easy to use. Very happy with it. I don't know about any other programmers, hope this helps you out
That's almost a 35" tire and with the calibration of new tire size you are back to getting 18/19 mpg?
Hmmm....maybe I should try the lift and tire combo first before regearing

Got pics of your JKU?
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 12:34 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
I went with larger 315/70/17 tires 2.5" lift ect. on a 13 jku.w/ auto and 3.73's. After any regears and using a larger tire you really need to recalibrate the ECM. Before I reprogrammed it I took a 1500 mile trip after the tires were on and lift was done. My speed was off by 4 to 5 mph and the rig did not seem to run quite right. Fuel economy was about 16/17 most of the time down from 19 stock. Anyway I bought the AEV Procal for the 13 JK's and I went ahead and reprogrammed it using it for the larger tire size, tire pressure settings dropping the setting to 20 psi from the 30 it was set for and steering wheel center functions. The reprogramming made a big difference in the vehicle running, shifting and my fuel economy is back to 18/19 with the larger tires. This was done prior to the trip back home. The AEV Procal worked great and was easy to use. Very happy with it. I don't know about any other programmers, hope this helps you out
20 PSI? On the highway that could be dangerous and cause lower gas mileage. Something don't sound right with your MPG statement with your setup.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 05:23 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pine CO
Posts: 171
I am running 30 psi on highway and will air down to 20 or so when off road and on rocky trails. My procal reprogrammed the TPMS on my dash warning light to 20 psi. down from the factory setting of 30. I measured my tire height for the 315 70 17 GY duratracs at 33.75" just under 34" per the procal instructions. My speedometer is nearly spot on with the radar speed indicators I have passed and by instant gps readings. I have kept track of mileage and fuel used and on my current tankful i am getting 19.1 according to the computer on the vehicle and on my last tankfull my calculation of mpg was within 2 or 3 tenths of the computer on the dash. It was 18.4. This is my experience so far with just over 3000 mile on the Jeep in 7 weeks of ownership. All my mods were done within the first 500 miles so basicly I am surprised it run and drives as well as it does and the fuel economy is in the ranges I have reported here. This rig is way better than our 04 TJ Rubicon as far as comfort and the on road performance. I hope to get some pics up here soon of the JKU just been busy and crappy weather here.
__________________
2004 Red TJ Rubicon 3" Terraflex Short Arm Lift Rancho Shocks 32" GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn F&R Bumpers Warn Winch.

2013 Gecko Pearl Auto 3.73's JKU 2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift 5100 Bilsteins 315 70 17 GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn Zeon 10k Winch Rubicon Sliders XRC Front and XRC Rear w/Tire Carrier bumper.
fireguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 05:29 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
I am running 30 psi on highway and will air down to 20 or so when off road and on rocky trails. My procal reprogrammed the TPMS on my dash warning light to 20 psi. down from the factory setting of 30. I measured my tire height for the 315 70 17 GY duratracs at 33.75" just under 34" per the procal instructions. My speedometer is nearly spot on with the radar speed indicators I have passed and by instant gps readings. I have kept track of mileage and fuel used and on my current tankful i am getting 19.1 according to the computer on the vehicle and on my last tankfull my calculation of mpg was within 2 or 3 tenths of the computer on the dash. It was 18.4. This is my experience so far with just over 3000 mile on the Jeep in 7 weeks of ownership. All my mods were done within the first 500 miles so basicly I am surprised it run and drives as well as it does and the fuel economy is in the ranges I have reported here. This rig is way better than our 04 TJ Rubicon as far as comfort and the on road performance. I hope to get some pics up here soon of the JKU just been busy and crappy weather here.
315/70/17 when on the JK makes sense to be 33.75" as they typically are 3/4"-1" less with weight on them
Got links to pics of your JK?
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 06:21 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pine CO
Posts: 171
Just tried to get some pics off my smart phone to my pc and I was not able to do so. I have not mastered the computer, phone and tech stuff so it is a challenge at times. I will get some pic's off my camera here soon as I can get a chance to take em. When do you expect the anniversary JKUR to be delivered?
__________________
2004 Red TJ Rubicon 3" Terraflex Short Arm Lift Rancho Shocks 32" GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn F&R Bumpers Warn Winch.

2013 Gecko Pearl Auto 3.73's JKU 2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift 5100 Bilsteins 315 70 17 GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn Zeon 10k Winch Rubicon Sliders XRC Front and XRC Rear w/Tire Carrier bumper.
fireguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 06:27 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
robdizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: milan, Illinois
Posts: 178
Also had great luck with the aev pro cal. Corrected my speedo for the 35's I put on to dead on with the GPS and activated day time running lights. For the price you can't beat it IMO.
robdizzle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 08:22 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pine CO
Posts: 171
As far as the other tuneing programmers go, I am somewhat leery of messing with fuel and timing settings and trying to achieve better performance. I would hate to create a big problem with the rig. Would like more info from folks who are running with them.
__________________
2004 Red TJ Rubicon 3" Terraflex Short Arm Lift Rancho Shocks 32" GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn F&R Bumpers Warn Winch.

2013 Gecko Pearl Auto 3.73's JKU 2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift 5100 Bilsteins 315 70 17 GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn Zeon 10k Winch Rubicon Sliders XRC Front and XRC Rear w/Tire Carrier bumper.
fireguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 08:25 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Bvh55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
As far as the other tuneing programmers go, I am somewhat leery of messing with fuel and timing settings and trying to achieve better performance. I would hate to create a big problem with the rig. Would like more info from folks who are running with them.
Totally agree-I guess speedo is the only thing I need.
Bvh55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 08:49 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
flipmeover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 219
Can you reprogram back to stock so the dealer can't tell you've used a programmer? I've been looking at these, but i'd hate to void the warranty on my '13 JK before I hit 3k miles.
__________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
- Scott Adams
flipmeover is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 09:14 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
robdizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: milan, Illinois
Posts: 178
Yes. Its super easy. Just a series of dip switches. Can do it in a matter of minutes
robdizzle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 09:22 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipmeover View Post
Can you reprogram back to stock so the dealer can't tell you've used a programmer? I've been looking at these, but i'd hate to void the warranty on my '13 JK before I hit 3k miles.
The ProCal doesn't mess with the actual PCM parameters of the engine running itself. It just helps to get the gears right of you change & get the speedometer reading right with larger tires. And the ProCal can be used to return to stock.

Now actuall programmers that change fuel & timing parameters in general aren't good ideas. The factory tune is going to be your best balance of power & fuel mileage. If you know anything about the way engines are tuned, you will understand why Chrysler vehicles don't respond to bolt ons like cold air intakes. Chryslers use speed density equations not a mass airflow set-up. And even if the tuner claims it can return you to stock, we can still tell you have used a programmer.
__________________
ASE Certified Master Tech
Chrysler Certified Tech - bringing you info straight from the stealership on the cheap.
crawlin_archer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 10:16 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
Just tried to get some pics off my smart phone to my pc and I was not able to do so. I have not mastered the computer, phone and tech stuff so it is a challenge at times. I will get some pic's off my camera here soon as I can get a chance to take em. When do you expect the anniversary JKUR to be delivered?
What phone you using?
iPhone? Android?
If either, download photbucket and create a free account on our comp.
then upload the pics through that app on your phone and copy and paste the IMG code
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-24-2013, 04:56 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
flipmeover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlin_archer View Post
The ProCal doesn't mess with the actual PCM parameters of the engine running itself. It just helps to get the gears right of you change & get the speedometer reading right with larger tires. And the ProCal can be used to return to stock.

Now actuall programmers that change fuel & timing parameters in general aren't good ideas. The factory tune is going to be your best balance of power & fuel mileage. If you know anything about the way engines are tuned, you will understand why Chrysler vehicles don't respond to bolt ons like cold air intakes. Chryslers use speed density equations not a mass airflow set-up. And even if the tuner claims it can return you to stock, we can still tell you have used a programmer.
Thanks for the info. I was going to ask if you were a mechanic for Chrysler from the "we can still tell" comment, but then I logged on from my PC (instead of the phone) and saw your signature.

I'd love to be able to adjust my performance for power or economy, but what Iím really looking for at this point is to be able to adjust my idle up a few hundred RPMs. Right now, when Iím sitting at a red light Iím idling at ~500 RPM and my JK shutters like a U-Haul truck. Engine runs smooth if I tach it up to ~600/700 RPM. Any suggestions?
flipmeover is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 08:59 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 112
It should idle around 700rpm when warm. If it's idling to low it should set a code for unable to maintain targeted idle speed. And I know thru my scan tool we can't change the targeted idle speed. If it still has warranty I would take it in & get it looked at. Cause we can look at the data & it will show a idle target speed & actual idle speed & they should be very close to each other. Most people think the desired idle speed is adjusted by the throttle body, but thats not how the pcm maintain idle. It controls idle thru timing adjustments.
__________________
ASE Certified Master Tech
Chrysler Certified Tech - bringing you info straight from the stealership on the cheap.
crawlin_archer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 02:55 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pine CO
Posts: 171
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastNugly View Post
What phone you using?
iPhone? Android?
If either, download photbucket and create a free account on our comp.
then upload the pics through that app on your phone and copy and paste the IMG code
FastNugly I have an Android phone that is way under utilized by me. You make it sound so easy. I would not know exactly how to do what you just so nicely suggested. When I was born computer was not even in the dictionary then, and my abilities have not kept up with technology advances along the way. I will try to get one of the youngsters at the firehouse to help me out with this or stay with the camera shots when I get out wheeling here soon. Thanks for the help and I will get some pics up soon. Still can't get the smile off my face when driving my new Jeep.
__________________
2004 Red TJ Rubicon 3" Terraflex Short Arm Lift Rancho Shocks 32" GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn F&R Bumpers Warn Winch.

2013 Gecko Pearl Auto 3.73's JKU 2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift 5100 Bilsteins 315 70 17 GY Duratracs LEVEL 8 ZX Wheels Warn Zeon 10k Winch Rubicon Sliders XRC Front and XRC Rear w/Tire Carrier bumper.
fireguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 06:12 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
FastNugly I have an Android phone that is way under utilized by me. You make it sound so easy. I would not know exactly how to do what you just so nicely suggested. When I was born computer was not even in the dictionary then, and my abilities have not kept up with technology advances along the way. I will try to get one of the youngsters at the firehouse to help me out with this or stay with the camera shots when I get out wheeling here soon. Thanks for the help and I will get some pics up soon. Still can't get the smile off my face when driving my new Jeep.
LOL!
Follow as they teach you. It's the easiest way to load pics on the forum.
Google photobucket and create your free account.
Then download the app in the App Store and within that app, log in with your created username and password (this way you can upload from anywhere. Computer, phone, anyone's phone)
Then within the pics in photobucket you will see a bunch of links you can copy.
You want to copy the IMG code and then paste that within a thread
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 06:46 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
flipmeover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlin_archer View Post
It should idle around 700rpm when warm. If it's idling to low it should set a code for unable to maintain targeted idle speed. And I know thru my scan tool we can't change the targeted idle speed. If it still has warranty I would take it in & get it looked at. Cause we can look at the data & it will show a idle target speed & actual idle speed & they should be very close to each other. Most people think the desired idle speed is adjusted by the throttle body, but thats not how the pcm maintain idle. It controls idle thru timing adjustments.
Thanks crawlin_archer. It's my only complaint with the Jeep and it's regularly idling lower than 700, so I think I will take it in.
flipmeover is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 09:36 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 2,419
hey BVH, did your jeep come with the procomp tuner? I drove mine off the Allen Samuels lot and there was one in my glovebox.
Tweak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-26-2013, 07:21 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Bvh55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweak View Post
hey BVH, did your jeep come with the procomp tuner? I drove mine off the Allen Samuels lot and there was one in my glovebox.
Holy smokes! I don't think so but will double check. I haven't received the procal I just ordered. Thanks for the heads up!

Bvh55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC