Proper way to wire auxiliary lighting? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-21-2010, 01:47 PM   #1
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
Proper way to wire auxiliary lighting?

CanBus-ted???

OK, So I picked up a pair of IPF 968 driving lights for my 2010. I know IPF recommends wiring them into the factory high beam switch, but nuts to that, I want to turn my lights on when I want to.
I've done some reading on the CanBus system (which is utterly ridiculous from my limited understanding of it) and adding anything to "the loop" can get tricky.
So, what I want to do is wire the power feed directly from the battery, through the relay, to the switch and then on to the lights. Is this a safe way to do this? Is this the RIGHT way to this? I don't have any experience using relays, so am I correct in assuming they need a separate signal wire to trigger them?
Any help/advice/pointers/insults are welcome. Thanks!!

__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:07 PM   #2
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister View Post
CanBus-ted???

OK, So I picked up a pair of IPF 968 driving lights for my 2010. I know IPF recommends wiring them into the factory high beam switch, but nuts to that, I want to turn my lights on when I want to.
I've done some reading on the CanBus system (which is utterly ridiculous from my limited understanding of it) and adding anything to "the loop" can get tricky.
So, what I want to do is wire the power feed directly from the battery, through the relay, to the switch and then on to the lights. Is this a safe way to do this? Is this the RIGHT way to this? I don't have any experience using relays, so am I correct in assuming they need a separate signal wire to trigger them?
Any help/advice/pointers/insults are welcome. Thanks!!
You will have no problems wiring it that way. The wire that they want you to tap into the high beam should go directly to the battery.

__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
FAQ: RELAYS; how they work and how to wire it up... - MP3Car.com

I'm sure there are a ton of relay information out there, but basically you would have a 14 or smaller gauge wire with an inline fuse going to the load supply of the relay, and a similarly sized wire going from the load of the relay to your lights.

If you want to make sure you never forget to turn off your lights, you can find an ignition circuit to tap off of or you can splice off of your load supply wire after the fuse and run a 18 gauge wire to your switch and from your switch back to the activation pin. then you ground the last pin on the relay.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:14 PM   #4
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
If you ever plan on going light or accessory crazy I would recomend an auxillary fuse block:

12V Aux Fuseblock
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:15 PM   #5
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
Thanks for the input, guys.
So as far as wiring the switch, can I tap it off the cigarette lighter power lead like I've seen recommended for other accessories? Do I NEED to send a power signal to the switch?
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:15 PM   #6
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peepers View Post
If you ever plan on going light or accessory crazy I would recomend an auxillary fuse block:

12V Aux Fuseblock
just going to be the 2 IPF lights, then probably a headlight upgrade.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:18 PM   #7
MARGARET, 10-14-51\6-1-12

WF Supporting Member
 
GREEN-MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PEOPLES REPUBLIC OF MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 10,260
on my 10 jk i spliced into the cig wire it was the safest way i could find to run off road lights. i have since added an extra fuse box from painless, now i have 6 extra citcuts that are safe. yeah it was a pain in the butt and a whole day of fabing brackets and running leads to the batt. but now i wont screw up the can-buss system.
__________________

life is too short to be taken seriously all the time,,,, go buy a MR.potato head and have some fun.
GREEN-MACHINE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:18 PM   #8
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister View Post
Thanks for the input, guys.
So as far as wiring the switch, can I tap it off the cigarette lighter power lead like I've seen recommended for other accessories? Do I NEED to send a power signal to the switch?
No need to tap the cig lighter. Not sure which off the top of my head, but either the relay or the direct to battery line will power the switch. What does the wiring diagram for the lights say?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:24 PM   #9
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
don't know yet, ups says they should be waiting for me when i get home. just doing the preliminary research first.
i was wondering because from my understanding, the switch in a relay system is just a signal wire, so i was curious as to how that signal is sent and if it needs to be powered to do so.

i have a feeling i'm making a mountain out of a molehill.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:29 PM   #10
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
the relay is kind of like a light in your house. when you flip the switch it turns on the light. but instead of a light it closes a circuit to power a large or heavy drawing accessory. you have to have power going to the switch.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:36 PM   #11
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
so i guess i'll need to look at the manual and see if the switch is powered through the relay like daggo suggested, or needs a separate power source.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:45 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peepers View Post
If you ever plan on going light or accessory crazy I would recomend an auxillary fuse block:

12V Aux Fuseblock
That is a good idea regardless of how little you think you'll run in accessories. They are a lot easier to install than you'd think, and it's a "can-bus safe" place to run anything from
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:52 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister View Post
so i guess i'll need to look at the manual and see if the switch is powered through the relay like daggo suggested, or needs a separate power source.
The switch controls the relay... the relay is "powered" (from the cigarette lighter) THROUGH the switch, (so that when you turn the switch on, voltage goes to the relay, to turn the fog light circuit ON)

You sound like you're overthinking what a relay does... did you read that link peeper put up?
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:52 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,164
Feed your relay from the aux tab on the fuse box under the hood if you're not planning on too many more mods later.
T-tap one of your running light's hot lead and use that as the "trip" for your relay ---- that way you'll get a "ding ding ding" in the Jeep if you leave your lights on and you won't kill your battery.
Run your switch in through the firewall.

A fuseblock is always a decent idea but you can do it later.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:55 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister View Post
don't know yet, ups says they should be waiting for me when i get home. just doing the preliminary research first.
i was wondering because from my understanding, the switch in a relay system is just a signal wire, so i was curious as to how that signal is sent and if it needs to be powered to do so.

i have a feeling i'm making a mountain out of a molehill.
That "signal" is just closing a 12v circuit to the relay... nothing complicated like a coded message or anything... you could literally signal the swith to close with a 9V battery (or maybe even a 3V button cell battery, depending on the relay) it just needs a little bit of power.
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 02:58 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilldweller View Post
T-tap one of your running light's hot lead and use that as the "trip" for your relay ----
FTW! I usually use an ignition switched line, but that's even better
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 04:46 PM   #17
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
I'm not too worried about leaving them on, but thanks for the pointer if i decide i want to do that!!
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 04:57 PM   #18
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,483
One standard bosch relay for 30A of current draw

Just get a constant wire and hook it to 87, a ground to 85, connect your lights wire to 30, and your trigger wire from your switch to 86.
Ibuildembig is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 06:40 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by aelwero View Post
FTW! I usually use an ignition switched line, but that's even better
That's how I've been running mine for almost 70,000 miles.
I was going to rig them to come on with the highbeams but decided not to. I wanted to be able to have them on with any combination of lights.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 08:31 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 111
Is there a way to have the aux lights go on with the fog lights?
gellie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 09:25 PM   #21
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuildembig View Post
One standard bosch relay for 30A of current draw

Just get a constant wire and hook it to 87, a ground to 85, connect your lights wire to 30, and your trigger wire from your switch to 86.
i assume the numbers listed are the factory harness pinouts? i don't have that info.
the harness that came with the lights is pretty amazing. it's all snap together with a 4 prong relay and the mouse switch has it's own connector, so it doesn't look like it needs a separate power source.
looks like hot to battery, ground to body, plug in the lights and switch and it should be good?
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2010, 07:00 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister View Post
i assume the numbers listed are the factory harness pinouts?
Those are the terminal numbers on a standard Bosch-type relay


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sinister View Post
the harness that came with the lights is pretty amazing. it's all snap together with a 4 prong relay and the mouse switch has it's own connector, so it doesn't look like it needs a separate power source.
looks like hot to battery, ground to body, plug in the lights and switch and it should be good?
Usually the lights pull too many amps for the switch alone so you use one of the terminals on the relay as a trip feature. If you just ran the switch alone, you wouldn't need the relay.
Again, stop thinking so much about it. A relay is just another switch that can handle more power; that's it.

So you've got power, a "trip" for your relay, your powered product (lights), and a separate switch.

Let's look at the example that I put up the other day.
We use the aux pins on the fuse block for 12V power; simple enough. It's already fused.
We use a t-tap to the parking light to "trip" the relay. This means that your lights will only work if you have your parking lights on ---- that the relay is "off" unless you have the parking lights on. Nice idea because it allows you to run the lights with the Jeep turned off if necessary and gives you an audible alarm if left on by accident.
And run your remote switch into the cabin. As long as your parking lights are on, you can switch the new lights on or off and run them with any combo of other lights.
Want to run your fogs and driving lights only, go ahead. Hibeams and driving lights? Sure.
Etc.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2010, 07:01 AM   #23
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
That should do it. Now you know why I asked what the wiring diagram was with the instructions.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2010, 07:21 AM   #24
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by gellie View Post
Is there a way to have the aux lights go on with the fog lights?
If you found out which wire coming from the fog lamp switch goes to the fog lamp relay you could splice into that wire and have that either go to a switch for your offroad lights, or straight to the relay for your offroad lights.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2010, 08:06 AM   #25
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
the diagram isn't terribly helpful, and is the first time i've seen a ground wire referred to as an "earth" wire, makes sense i guess. the power feed wire is already fused.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-23-2010, 01:29 PM   #26
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
got them installed. i definitely made a bigger deal out of it than it was. it took about 2 hours, but i took my time and routed the wires out of sight and zip tied everything in place. i used the cigarette lighter hot for the switch feed, so the lights will only work when the key is on. i would have liked if my pre-runner bar had holes to run the wires internally, but i used some flex tubing and zip tied the wiring to the back of the bar, so it doesn't look bad. i used the standard 55w bulb, so i'll have to see what they look like at night before upgrading to the included 100w bulbs. just need to take it out when it's dark and get them aimed.
here's a few pics:


__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-23-2010, 01:35 PM   #27
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,708
i should add that if you buy the ipf 968's, you will see a short, black wire on the harness that plugs directly into the relay on one end and has a C shaped terminal on the other end. the wiring diagram says to refer to the instructions for that wire. trouble is, there are no other instructions. i figured it had to be a ground, so i hooked it up to the negative on the battery. apparently this was correct. the shared ground for the lights i connected to the forward most factory ground on the passenger side of the inner fender under the hood.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-24-2010, 01:59 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Jeep Patrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 201
Not always, BUT, 90% of the time ground is black and if they give you a terminal, it's usually a "C shape" or "O-ring" terminal, so you can litterally drill it into a grounded spot on the vehicle.

Jeep Patrol is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auxillary Lighting Install Writeup erickpl General Jeep FAQ/Stickies 15 09-20-2013 10:28 AM
Auxilary Lighting Writeup erickpl TJ Tech Forum 2 01-06-2011 08:50 PM
IPF Lighting erickpl TJ General Discussion Forum 9 01-13-2010 03:22 PM
Auxiliary lighting? RIPBiker13 TJ Tech Forum 89 08-31-2007 11:10 PM
Overhead lighting wire routing whiteyj YJ General Discussion Forum 0 06-01-2006 11:01 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC