Remote Starter - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-15-2010, 06:43 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 5
Remote Starter

Hello again! As I already mentioned early, i installed a remote starter from Autopage. Anyone knows if I need to install something called bypass to make it work with a 2010 jeep wrangler automatic transmition?

masov2001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-15-2010, 07:38 AM   #2
BBB
Newb
 
BBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Just had the Mopar remote start installed on our 2010 automatic. I believe the "bypass" your refering to may be needed if you have the "Sentry" security key fobs. These fobs have a computer chip in them that if not present when the Jeep is started, will only run the engine for a few seconds then shut off.

When I picked up our Jeep at the dealer, the new remote start did just that...start, then shut off after 15-20 seconds They reflashed it again and it still did the same thing. I said let me take it it home and I'll see if it continues to malfunction

On the way home I had a hunch that it may have something to do with the Sentry keys. I removed the OLD key fob and new spare Remote start key fob from the vehicle and presto... the remote start functioned properly. For some reason it appears that having the OLD key fobs present with the new "remote start" key fobs confuses the Sentry security system

__________________
Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 2010, Auto, Leather,
S.E. PA
BBB is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-15-2010, 09:55 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Bombero37A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Miami-Dade County, FL
Posts: 196
Yes you need a bypass module. I had the Clifford G5 Alarm installed with the remote start and it needed the bypass to to work.
__________________
PRAY HARD, LIFE IS SHORT!!!
Bombero37A is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-15-2010, 10:00 AM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 5
Thanks!
masov2001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote starter repoman100 JK General Discussion Forum 8 01-22-2011 02:26 PM
New battery Starter and starter relay and still won't start. Any ideas imowt TJ Tech Forum 4 08-11-2010 07:59 PM
Remote Starter BABDBAT Communications and Electronics 9 12-12-2007 08:16 PM
remote starter cocktail JK General Discussion Forum 8 03-31-2007 10:16 PM
Starter problems PLEASE HELP!!! 97REDTJ TJ Tech Forum 9 01-15-2007 07:36 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC