Rubi rail removal question... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-02-2013, 05:24 PM   #1
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,952
Rubi rail removal question...

Hey guys, so I removed my rubi rails to reinstall my Smitty rails with steps and had a quick question...the rubi rails had 3 bigger bolts, then a bunch of the little bolts that went through the pinch seam. If you remove the rubi rails, do you need to put back the 3 bigger bolts back or leave em off?

NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 05:28 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 240
The mopar install instructions show them as part of the rocker kit. This would make me believe that a stock without rockers didn't have the bolts?

If that helps??

JMOD is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 05:35 PM   #3
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMOD View Post
The mopar install instructions show them as part of the rocker kit. This would make me believe that a stock without rockers didn't have the bolts?

If that helps??
I have no clue, never owned a Sport. My last rig was a Sahara and my current is a rubi, both had something there, and I don't remember if I put the 3 bolts back in on the last one.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 05:43 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Dr. Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 987
I just installed Rubi rails on my 2 door Sport JK and I had to use all of the hardware to that came with the rails. I didn't use any hardware that was already on my Sport.
Dr. Evil is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 05:47 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 240
I put rubi rockers and ace on the sport I had and don't remember if the anything was their? But the kit on the Quad website that show the install instructions is listed for: MOPAR® Production Rubicon Rock Rails in Satin Black and includes all the bolts?????????
JMOD is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 06:31 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 240
BTW, if your not using them rubi rails you could always trade me for a few steaks for you next trip?????
JMOD is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 08:06 PM   #7
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,952
Ill crawl under there tomorrow and see what those bolts bolt into to make sure they dont need to be in there.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 08:31 PM   #8
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,204
Are you talking about the body mount bolts? If so, you definitely want those back in.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:00 PM   #9
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Are you talking about the body mount bolts? If so, you definitely want those back in.
Do rubicon rails mount with body mount bolts? There weren't that big. I haven't driven the jeep yet but I really don't think they were body mount bolts.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:03 PM   #10
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFRs2000NYC View Post
Do rubicon rails mount with body mount bolts? There weren't that big. I haven't driven the jeep yet but I really don't think they were body mount bolts.
for a JK there are two 12 or 13mm hex bolts that screw into the frame, and 4 10mm nuts that clamp the rubi rail to the pinch seam...

for a JKU there are three bolts and six nuts that clamp the rubi rail to the pinch seam.

__________________
-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:03 PM   #11
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,204
I'm not sure. However most rock rails do use the body mount bolts.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:04 PM   #12
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabber02 View Post
for a JK there are two 12 or 13mm hex bolts that screw into the frame, and 4 10mm nuts that clamp the rubi rail to the pinch seam...

for a JKU there are three bolts and six nuts that clamp the rubi rail to the pinch seam.

Those are also the body mount bolts, are they not?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:05 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Dr. Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 987
Rubi rails don't use body mount bolts.
Dr. Evil is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:05 PM   #14
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
I'm not sure. However most rock rails do use the body mount bolts.
ACE rails use the body mount bolts, yes - rubi rails screw directly to the frame.
__________________
-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:05 PM   #15
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Evil View Post
Rubi rails don't use body mount bolts.
^^ this is correct..
__________________
-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:11 PM   #16
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,204
Gotcha! Most aftermarket rock rails use the body mount bolts. Therefore the answer to the OP is that he does not need to replace those bolts.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:11 PM   #17
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,952
Ok so I have a JKU, so from what I read above I gather I don't have to put those bolts back it correct?
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:12 PM   #18
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabber02 View Post
ACE rails use the body mount bolts, yes - rubi rails screw directly to the frame.
That explains how you can have both.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:12 PM   #19
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,949
that's correct.
__________________
-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:13 PM   #20
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFRs2000NYC View Post
Ok so I have a JKU, so from what I read above I gather I don't have to put those bolts back it correct?
Correct. We posted simultaneously.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:13 PM   #21
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
That explains how you can have both.
yeah its actually a great idea... they fit together well too..
__________________
-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:28 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 240
if you don't put them back in you may want to hit the holes with some primer, since the screws cleared it out. If I recall you cant get to the top side if you spray but a finger nail polish brush would let u get a good coating???

for what its worth lol
JMOD is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2013, 09:36 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Dr. Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMOD View Post
if you don't put them back in you may want to hit the holes with some primer, since the screws cleared it out. If I recall you cant get to the top side if you spray but a finger nail polish brush would let u get a good coating???

for whats is worth lol
Good point. I had to break through the covering of the holes when I installed the Rubi rails so that makes sense that they will be exposed if no rails and no screws.
Dr. Evil is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2013, 03:55 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 51
I installed a pair of mopar rock rails-same as the rubi's but have the extended tube on the outside. I picked em up on Craigslist. The came with the 3 larger bolts and 6 smaller bolts (for each side). When I installed them, there were NO bolts already under my jku sport s. There were the tapped holes already exposed underneath. No plugs or caps or anything over the holes. I bought the jeep new. It was a breeze to install.

Didn't have a torque wrench small enough to torque the bolts. You guys think that'll be an issue??

I'd say keep the bolts with the rails. If you sell them, the buyer would need them.
Wranglerjoe79 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2013, 11:40 AM   #25
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
No, you don't need to put the bolts back. If you want, pull the c nuts off, clean off the area and hit it with some paint. The c nuts, the bolts and the nuts are all separate from the Jeep. If you were to buy a new set of rails, they would have them all in a small plastic bag.

ETA New Jeeps (12+) don't use the c nuts. The holes are already tapped.

Vin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC