Side step question - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-28-2014, 01:44 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Bedford
Posts: 16
Side step question

So on my rubicon there are rock sliders. I was wondering if I could still get side steps with the rock sliders on or do I have to remove them before I install them? Please and thank you

m1melo is offline   Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 01:45 PM   #2
Build Thread Queen

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
StarBrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,199
Check out ACE Engineering's rock sliders. They work well as a step and are the only ones I know of that work with the Rubi rails installed. They are VERY popular here!

__________________
2014 JKU FE - 'Celticon' - Hydro Blue Pearl - Auto - 3.73 - Premium Soft Top - TeraFlex 2.5" Lift w/Rancho 9000xl Shocks - 15" MBTKO/33" DuraTracs - TeraFlex Monster Trackbar/Adjustable LCAs - ACE Rock Sliders/Cargo Basket - Rampage Recovery Bumper - Crown Stainless Brake Lines - MORE Dead Pedal - Pioneer 4000NEX - Polk DB651/6501
My build thread: StarBrite's Celticon

Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
StarBrite is offline   Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 01:46 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Rugged Ridge RRC Side Armor w/ Rubicon Rock Rails?

Just read this a while ago. Seems some are OK.
Cjsparky is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 03:23 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarBrite View Post
Check out ACE Engineering's rock sliders. They work well as a step and are the only ones I know of that work with the Rubi rails installed. They are VERY popular here!
Don't mean to hijack the OP's thread but I just have to ask this... why do the Ace steps require grinding to install? If they KNOW some extra clearance is required for the mounting bolts to fit why don't they just size things to fit? I am sure there is a good reason, just can't figure out what.
GroovyGeek is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 06:20 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Manu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 199
The guy who installed mine actually threw the factory washers and put thinner washers than the quarter inch ones that come stock.

His reasoning, the bolt is the same length, then you are adding the thickness of the ace mounting and the washer which leaves less thread to catch. The ace mounting is itself about a quarter inch so that would provide provide as a washer
Manu is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC