Single switch location? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-03-2014, 10:46 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Tractors4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 85
Single switch location?

I just ordered a set of Rigid Duallies to mount on my A pillars. Only having one auxiliary switch I don't see the point in putting in an A pillar switch pod. I'd rather not cut a hole in the dash for it. Anybody have any ideas. I have a 2012 Sahara with the 6 speed.

Tractors4u is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2014, 10:53 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
joeg679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tractors4u View Post
I just ordered a set of Rigid Duallies to mount on my A pillars. Only having one auxiliary switch I don't see the point in putting in an A pillar switch pod. I'd rather not cut a whole in the dash for it. Anybody have any ideas. I have a 2012 Sahara with the 6 speed.
I put the switch to the left of the steering wheel, under the vent, for a few reasons. A) because it's a straight shot to the firewall, so you can snake the wire through, drill a hole and pop in the switch. B) It lights up red when on and I didn't want that in my line of sight while driving. It sits low enough so I don't see it when it's on and it's easy to access.

joeg679 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 08:21 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 282
At the top of your a pillar there is already a big 1" round hole. I put the switch for my duallys there. I bought a 7/8" (iirc) grommet from Home Depot and it fits perfectly in that hole. Then the switch presses perfectly into the rubber grommet. No drilling required.
elToro is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 11:23 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 54
I did the D2's on the A-pillar using the smittybuilt brackets that puts the lights off to the side and lower. The included dongle cables on the lights were a little short to make it all the way under the sheet metal so they are hanging out. Not really liking the exposed connector. I will likely switch to a different bracket.

I also did the top of the A-Pillar mod for the switch. I used the grommet recommended in another thread. PN 42323 from O-Riley. Was a really tight fit but worked out.

The relay will bolt up to the back of the horn really nicely. Just remove the bolt, put on the relay and replace bolt. Took one minute.

Oh and here's a tip on the negative ground connection:
Lowes:
1 SKU: 08236 71167 6mm locking washers
2. SKU: 38902 00290 M6 x18 washers (extra wide to cover the large connector on the rigid cable).
3. SKU: 08236 71187 Class 8 Hex Nuts M6-100
Cost less that three bucks for all.
They have locking nuts too but I chose this route.

Hope that helps,
-RJ.
RedBird2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 01:30 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Tractors4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by elToro View Post
At the top of your a pillar there is already a big 1" round hole. I put the switch for my duallys there. I bought a 7/8" (iirc) grommet from Home Depot and it fits perfectly in that hole. Then the switch presses perfectly into the rubber grommet. No drilling required.
I had considered that hole for a switch. I'm not sure what type of switch with come with my Dually's. Hopefully it will be one of the round ones. If not I'll have to order one.
Tractors4u is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 01:33 PM   #6
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
joeg679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tractors4u View Post
I had considered that hole for a switch. I'm not sure what type of switch with come with my Dually's. Hopefully it will be one of the round ones. If not I'll have to order one.
It is the round one, but you have to by the grommet that the others bought, in order for it to fit in that hole.
joeg679 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 01:33 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Tractors4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBird2 View Post

The relay will bolt up to the back of the horn really nicely. Just remove the bolt, put on the relay and replace bolt. Took one minute.


Hope that helps,
-RJ.
I didn't think the Dually's had relays because of the low current draw?

Thanks for the part numbers.
Tractors4u is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-09-2014, 05:36 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Tractors4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 85
Thanks guys for the tip on using the rubber grommet. It worked like a charm.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1090542.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	654777  

Tractors4u is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC