Sirius dealer install in a 2010 JK? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-26-2010, 07:11 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
silvrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 916
Sirius dealer install in a 2010 JK?

So this Sport Im looking at didnt have Sirius. I really like Howard and the other stations. This is a must.

Is this just a head unit install? Or is it much more involved?

Just checking here really quick. About to Purchase, soon.

Have a few other questions too. But will try a search this time.

silvrevo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 07:17 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
silvrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 916
New Avatar too,, That Obamma one was really getting old.

silvrevo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 08:47 PM   #3
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,199
Having the Sirius installed was a must have for me.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 10:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
Depends on what head unit you have- if it's satellite capable, it's an antenna, module, and wiring job. If not, add in a head unit- Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 11:40 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
silvrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 916
just having the stock jeep head unit with sirius put in,,replacing this stock jeep radio without sirius? This is done before I buy the jeep. From the jeepdealer. Nothing aftermarket,,just the jeepstero with sirius. Thanks
silvrevo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2010, 09:08 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvrevo View Post
just having the stock jeep head unit with sirius put in,,replacing this stock jeep radio without sirius? This is done before I buy the jeep. From the jeepdealer. Nothing aftermarket,,just the jeepstero with sirius. Thanks
if your jeep head unit has a SAT button, it has satellite and everything needed to run it. there is no additional module. satellite is built into the head unit. if you dont have the SAT button (i see even simpler 2010 oem radios these days with less buttons), then you need to swap the head unit for one with a SAT button. Then you additionally need to buy a SIRIUS antenna kit and install that. I did all this on my 2007 Jeep. used SAT radios on ebay go for around $250-$350.
__________________
2013 VW GTI
2009 Nissan Xterra
plac is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2010, 09:27 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
steam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 167
Wrong! You can buy a Sirius Radio kit, for any car, from Radio Shack or Best Buy for way under $90.00. The kit is a small module with display that connects directly into your AUX jack on the radio. I was almost going to buy the Sat upgrade but the dealer price was 3 times the module unit (that is just as good as the Jeep unit). USED Sat units on E-Bay can be stolen in which case they can never be used again, a deal made between the car manufacturers and Sirius/XM. A friend of mine got nailed on E Bay when he purchased the unit only to find out that it was reported stolen/missing...and that was from a good seller on E Bay......buyer be warned!
steam is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2010, 09:35 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 360
thats pretty obvious.. of course you can go aftermarket, but who would want to? more wires, more mess, more theft.

this is the place you would go for your used unit.

http://www.radiosandmore.com/rm/
__________________
2013 VW GTI
2009 Nissan Xterra
plac is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2010, 01:19 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
captblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Woodbine, GA
Posts: 80
I had mine done by the dealer - needed a new radio (original did not have SAT capability), wire harness and antenna. Good professional job - antenna is under the padding on the sound bar.

Worth the money. I had the portable unit in my PU and was tired of the wires, etc.
__________________
Bill

"An armed society is a polite society." - Robert A. Heinlein
captblack is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-28-2010, 10:58 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
silvrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 916
Thanks guys,, I had one put in a car a few years back, kinda messy.

I found a Jeep that has it OEM. So Im good to go. With OEM fit and finish.

silvrevo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Winch Install denis4x4 JK General Discussion Forum 6 03-14-2010 06:29 PM
Chryseler Announces Prices for 2010 Geoff@Bestop Off-Topic 13 08-20-2009 11:10 PM
Pics of new head unit and sirius install. Jp90Talon Communications and Electronics 4 01-23-2009 07:45 AM
dealer is telling me they can install cruise control captdan JK General Discussion Forum 8 01-14-2009 01:01 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC