Sirius Problem Help!! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-25-2012, 08:23 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Sirius Problem Help!!

Ok heres the deal. Brand new to the Forum. Searched for this problem all over the internet and have not found a solution. If it is in another thread sorry.

I recently purchased a 08 Wrangler Sahara with Sat Radio. Got it activated and it worked great for a couple of days. Now all the Screen says is updating channels. It will say this when you press the Sat button and stay on this screen for about 15 seconds before going back to the FM station I was on. Sirius says it is the Sat Module. Jeep says it is sirius. Dont want to waste money having my jeep dealer fool around for hours on end with it. Also it is just the regular CD player with Sat not the Navigation head unit.

Has anyone else had this problem? Does anybody know where the Sat Control Module is? Any help would be great.


Thank You in advance

Trail Jumper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2012, 08:27 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
scapegoat32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 75
did you ask sirius to resend the signal, or did they already do that?

scapegoat32 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2012, 09:21 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
swiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Texas
Posts: 369
Can you hear the demo channel? If not I think it's hardware.
__________________
2013 Rubicon Unlimited Billet Auto
Recon 10,500 winch, ACE sliders, JCR Dagger front, Rigid Industries Dully spot and 10" Combo, EVO MFG ProTeK Skids, Spidershade, ATX Crawl, Nitto Trail Grapplers 35/12.50/17, Rock Krawler 3.5 X-Factor, w/ Fox 2.0. Ace Rear bumper, Poison Spider Diff covers and Evap skid.
2012 Rubicon Unlimited Silver 6 Speed (lemon)
swiber is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2012, 10:00 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 2,348
Disconnect battery for 5 minutes. Reconnect and then check the radio.


Bob K.
nwbronco is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 07:36 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OK to everybody above thank you for the suggestions.

Scapegoat32- Have recent the signal several times through sirius and through the website on my own. No Luck

Swiber- I cannot here anything through the channel. cannot change channels or anything. However it was also this way when we were trying to activate it.

Nwbronco- Yep tried that already no luck there either. Even did that and then resent the signal.

Does anybody have an idea where the Sirius mudule is?
Also is there anyway to test the TPMS Sensors I think I have 1 with a dead battery?
Trail Jumper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 21,496
Sirius is built into the radio. There is no separate module.

If you have a bad TPMS module, your light on the dash will blink for 75 seconds and then remain on. It's one of those little tidbits you learn from your owners manual.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 08:50 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Ok just a question. If the sirius is built into the radio how come there are sirius tuner recievers and modules (some people call them different things) for Jeeps, Dodges, Chryslers used on ebay? I might be wrong here just trying to clarify what's out there. Just go to ebay and type in Jeep sirius module and it will pull it up. maybe the older headunits are different but some have Dodges listed up through 09.

Thanks for the info about the owners manual I will check into that about the tpms sensors.
Trail Jumper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 08:58 AM   #8
Just a kid at heart...

WF Supporting Member
 
seadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Almost where I belong...
Posts: 14,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trail Jumper
Ok just a question. If the sirius is built into the radio how come there are sirius tuner recievers and modules (some people call them different things) for Jeeps, Dodges, Chryslers used on ebay? I might be wrong here just trying to clarify what's out there. Just go to ebay and type in Jeep sirius module and it will pull it up. maybe the older headunits are different but some have Dodges listed up through 09.
The "antenna" is located in the sound bar on the passenger side. It is plugged into the head unit separately. Pull the head unit out and see if it came loose.
__________________
Brian



I tried to be good, but I got bored...
seadog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 08:58 AM   #9
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trail Jumper View Post
Ok just a question. If the sirius is built into the radio how come there are sirius tuner recievers and modules (some people call them different things) for Jeeps, Dodges, Chryslers used on ebay? I might be wrong here just trying to clarify what's out there. Just go to ebay and type in Jeep sirius module and it will pull it up. maybe the older headunits are different but some have Dodges listed up through 09.
Most likely for radios that didn't come with sirus, but had the option of adding it. like a lot of aftermarket radios say sirus ready with addapter. That means you plug the addapter in and you can use the radio controls to change the channels.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 09:19 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Cosmic Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by seadog View Post
The "antenna" is located in the sound bar on the passenger side. It is plugged into the head unit separately. Pull the head unit out and see if it came loose.
^This.

It sounds like the unit is trying to aquire the signal, not finding it and is defaulting to the FM radio. The antenna coming loose was my first thought.
__________________
2012 Winter Chill Arctic Edition JK
Cosmic Charlie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:51 AM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Yeah have already pulled the radio out and checked the conection there and it was good also check out the antenna and it was fine also.. This is just really driving me crazy. Yeah it sounds like it is searcning for a signal but not finding it and that is what sirius said as well. They say the radio is not comunicating with the module or Sirius reciever but nobody else seems to know anything about these.
Trail Jumper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 03:12 PM   #12
Just a kid at heart...

WF Supporting Member
 
seadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Almost where I belong...
Posts: 14,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trail Jumper
Yeah have already pulled the radio out and checked the conection there and it was good also check out the antenna and it was fine also.. This is just really driving me crazy. Yeah it sounds like it is searcning for a signal but not finding it and that is what sirius said as well. They say the radio is not comunicating with the module or Sirius reciever but nobody else seems to know anything about these.
The antenna is powered by the radio. It's not passive, like the regular radio one. Before buying one, I'd see if I could borrow one and plug it in.
__________________
Brian



I tried to be good, but I got bored...
seadog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 05:59 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
RB-10rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princeton area in new jersey
Posts: 1,118
You might need your software updated on your radio .i had a similar problem with my sat. It was always updating channels like once a week .then when the apple came out with IOS5 i had to update software in the radio .free of charge after that phone works great and no more searching or updating channels.its worth a shot
RB-10rubicon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 09:08 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 180
That does sound sirius

Jurhip is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trackbar reinstall problems - Help clakebewije JK General Discussion Forum 7 03-28-2012 04:29 PM
Can't diagnose fuel pressure problem dsmithwc04 YJ Tech Forum 6 03-26-2012 02:02 PM
Chevy V-8 Engine Swap In A 1989 YJ Help? ghittner YJ Tech Forum 7 03-25-2012 09:16 PM
Help Locating A P/N seanpholman JK General Discussion Forum 1 03-25-2012 07:50 PM
Possibly fuel pump? help needed Surfordie TJ General Discussion Forum 3 03-25-2012 06:00 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC