Soft Top Removal / Hard Top Install - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-16-2011, 09:19 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Soft Top Removal / Hard Top Install

I have a 2011 Sport 2DR with a soft top.
Got a nice deal on an 08' hard top and would like to install that.
The soft top seems easy enough to take off the bows but I have some questions about the hardtop install.

The wiring and wiper hose is not included. This isn't particularly needed right?
Do you need to get special bolts?
Does anyone have a video install? I can't seem to find one.

Thanks guys

Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:24 AM   #2
Trying to Get Lost

WF Supporting Member
 
jeffk42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 994
Images: 4
First, can you even use a 2008 top on a 2011? They moved the footman loop in 2010, so it may not latch up front.

The wiring isn't needed as long as you're not planning on using the wiper. You'll need bolts and the pieces for the bolts to go into, they're little threaded floaty things (technical term) that hide underneath the lip below the holes in the body.

__________________
2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport S [Photos]


jeffk42 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:25 AM   #3
ESP
Needs stuff..
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,112
Not sure that will fit yours. If it can, call a dealership and ask them to tell you all the required parts for a hardtop install. Maybe they could print this out for you or send it to via email? Are you keeping the soft top? I had a hardtop on my 2010 for about 4 months and thought I was going to like it more but I couldn't stand not being able to just open it to enjoy the sunshine, moon, and passing breeze.
__________________
Behold...THE LEGENDARY ESP

98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:30 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Yes I'm keeping the soft top.
Does the middle loop matter?
I don't plan on lowering the windshield.
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:33 AM   #5
Trying to Get Lost

WF Supporting Member
 
jeffk42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 994
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky View Post
Yes I'm keeping the soft top.
Does the middle loop matter?
I don't plan on lowering the windshield.
There's a latch that holds the Freedom panels down up front, it uses that loop to anchor it. I'm assuming that if you try to put the 2008 hardtop on, the Freedom panels won't latch since the loop is in a different place.
__________________
2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport S [Photos]


jeffk42 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:36 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
After searching around I thought the 08' would fit.
Are they backwards compatible? 11'>08' would work but not 08'>11'
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:37 AM   #7
ESP
Needs stuff..
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffk42 View Post
There's a latch that holds the Freedom panels down up front, it uses that loop to anchor it. I'm assuming that if you try to put the 2008 hardtop on, the Freedom panels won't latch since the loop is in a different place.
I think this is gonna be your biggest problem. The front panels directly over your head may not latch properly from the design on your 2011 vs the 08. I believe they changed it around 2010.
__________________
Behold...THE LEGENDARY ESP

98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:38 AM   #8
Trying to Get Lost

WF Supporting Member
 
jeffk42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 994
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky View Post
After searching around I thought the 08' would fit.
Are they backwards compatible? 11'>08' would work but not 08'>11'
I can't say with 100% certainty since I haven't tried it, but I would imagine that since the loops are in different locations, neither scenario would work without modification.

I saw something about a conversion kit at some point, but I didn't really pay attention because it didn't apply to me.
__________________
2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport S [Photos]


jeffk42 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:42 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Haven't picked it up yet. I only have the front panels.
My step-dad is gonna pick it up with his truck tonight.
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:43 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
KooL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 495
Did the 2008 hard tops even latch to the footman's loop in the front? For some reason I am thinking it didn't. They were having leaks up front so they added that latch, IIRC. I could very well be dreaming too though.
KooL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:45 AM   #11
Trying to Get Lost

WF Supporting Member
 
jeffk42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 994
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by KooL View Post
Did the 2008 hard tops even latch to the footman's loop in the front? For some reason I am thinking it didn't. They were having leaks up front so they added that latch, IIRC. I could very well be dreaming too though.
That could be, I've never seen the pre-2010 top in person.

Twisky, if you have the front panels of the top, you could just go put them on and ensure they fit. You don't need the rest of the top for that part.
__________________
2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport S [Photos]


jeffk42 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:48 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffk42 View Post

Twisky, if you have the front panels of the top, you could just go put them on and ensure they fit. You don't need the rest of the top for that part.
Good point. I'm going to go take off my SpiderShade and see.
Problem though. Its 40F out and if I drop my top I don't think ill be able to latch it again
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:48 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
KooL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky View Post
Haven't picked it up yet. I only have the front panels.
My step-dad is gonna pick it up with his truck tonight.
Is there a latch (L-shaped one) on the front inside edge of one of the panels? If not, you might be okay. Not sure though.
KooL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 09:55 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
The 08s have a latch on each side of the passenger compartment and a single unused "footmans" loop in the middle. The latches are pretty much directly in front of each seat. The rear of the panels have twist knobs that tighten them, along with a few swivel latches to help tighten evenly.
mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 10:25 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160





Everything seems fine. Like I said. I only have the front right now.
Are the door surround screws re-used for anything else?
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 10:59 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
After searching around it seems I need some nuts and bolts from a home improvement store. I'm not going to use the Mopar retainers and bolts for the back.

I do however need these. Its a long bolt through the soundbar part# 1CJ57XDV-AC
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 11:02 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky

Everything seems fine. Like I said. I only have the front right now.
Are the door surround screws re-used for anything else?
Door surround screws aren't used for anything else. When i store the softtop I keep the surrounds and folded top all together in the closet and the soft windows under the bed
For the back half of the ht, there are two bolts (one on each side) that hold down the leading edge. They screw down into the top and will be under the panels once they are on. Then there are 3 each side (unlimited model anyway) clamps that mount it in the cargo area.
mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 11:08 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky
After searching around it seems I need some nuts and bolts from a home improvement store. I'm not going to use the Mopar retainers and bolts for the back.

I do however need these. Its a long bolt through the soundbar part# 1CJ57XDV-AC
eBay has them
mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 11:17 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhaines View Post
eBay has them
Called the local stealership. He has em' $14 each.
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 11:31 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky

Called the local stealership. He has em' $14 each.
Good deal, sounds like you have everything lined up. If you do get the wiring/hose harness and the new hvac controls and the new wiper stalk on the column put in, then all ya have to do is have the dealer turn on that feature in starscan and youre all set!
mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 11:37 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Thanks guys for your help. Will post tomorrow once I get everything I need and put together.
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 12:18 PM   #22
Trying to Get Lost

WF Supporting Member
 
jeffk42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 994
Images: 4
Glad this worked out for you. Looks like KooL was correct -- the early tops don't use the footmans loop. Good information to know!
__________________
2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport S [Photos]


jeffk42 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 12:38 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Went to the store and got some nuts and bolts.
Will this be enough to keep the top down or do I NEED the rail clips?
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 12:46 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
KooL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 495
Good to know that I'm not crazy. Haha. Glad to see that its gonna work out for ya. You should only need 6 hardtop bolts. They all go in the rear. Your two door doesn't have the bolts that go above the Unlimited's B pillar.
KooL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 12:49 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
KooL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky View Post
Went to the store and got some nuts and bolts.
Will this be enough to keep the top down or do I NEED the rail clips?
I don't see why that wouldn't work. I assume the washer is for under the lip since your bolt head has a flat wide base. Just don't get too carried away tightening them down.
KooL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2011, 12:51 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
I would use some billet alum pieces between the washer and hardtop to make sure it doesn't crack around the hole, just a thought.
mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2011, 09:52 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
Twisky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: National City, CA
Posts: 160
Got everything installed.






I browse Crazedlist (look into it) every day looking for deals like this.
Dealer about 13 miles away posted this up.
Called him and picked it up 20 minutes later.
He said people were calling saying to hold it since it was a 3 hour drive.
It's a 2008 on my 2011.
The reason it was so cheap was because it was scratched.
Which I'm gonna do anyway

Total cost:
TOP $375+ tax = $397.50
Nuts and Bolts = $9.27
Soundbar Screws = $28.31

Grand total = $435.08
Twisky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2011, 01:27 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisky
Got everything installed.

I browse Crazedlist (look into it) every day looking for deals like this.
Dealer about 13 miles away posted this up.
Called him and picked it up 20 minutes later.
He said people were calling saying to hold it since it was a 3 hour drive.
It's a 2008 on my 2011.
The reason it was so cheap was because it was scratched.
Which I'm gonna do anyway

Total cost:
TOP $375+ tax = $397.50
Nuts and Bolts = $9.27
Soundbar Screws = $28.31

Grand total = $435.08
Helluva deal!!!

mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard versus soft top in Portland area scottpdx Oregon Jeep Forum 20 09-21-2011 12:47 AM
New top, hard top, soft top, bikini, or ? owensct TJ General Discussion Forum 9 09-07-2011 10:35 PM
I have a hard top, and a soft top. Whats recommended to use for the winter in NJ??? Dr. Venture YJ General Discussion Forum 23 09-15-2010 06:26 PM
Soft top to Hard top? Paul_Wrangler General Jeep Discussion 66 08-23-2010 10:44 PM
soft top and hard top keving TJ Tech Forum 2 05-14-2009 03:18 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC