Spod - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-25-2014, 06:48 PM   #1
Newb
 
CanadianJeepGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Spod

Hey everyone...I was looking at starting to add accessories to my 2011 wrangler sport. (Windshield lights ect)..during research of wiring i have read a ton of positive reviews on Spod..should I buy the accessory first...or spend the money on an Spod have that installed and then buy accessories or forget about spod all together...just fishing for some ideas and thoughts on it

CanadianJeepGuy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-25-2014, 10:44 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
mountainneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 445
sPod is definitely worth the cost. One of the best mods. Makes connecting all your accessories super easy.

mountainneer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 07:28 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Knuckles65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,206
Not to mention, it's a completely stand alone system so there's no way any of your aftermarket electronics can interfere with the "wonderful" CANbus system.

I did my sPod first and as mentioned, it makes adding electronic accessories so much easier.
__________________
2013 Commando Green JK Rubicon
-------------------------------------------------
Remember - sometimes, the advice you get on the Internet is worth exactly what you paid for it!
Knuckles65 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 08:41 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Smokinjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: InyoKern, CA
Posts: 630
Get SPOD first !! Whee you save time and $$ is quick and ez install of accessories .
Smokinjoe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 11:08 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
calvarycoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Posts: 104
agreed. sPOD is worth the $. Easy DIY install. Do that first.

Click image for larger version

Name:	0531131652.jpg
Views:	418
Size:	155.3 KB
ID:	810513

I still have to hook up my rock lights; and an air compressor is a future mod. But, I see the switches everyday and get excited to get those done in the spring.

I currently have 50 lightbar and reverse spots hooked in.
calvarycoffee is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 11:26 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Nuke83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NW of Atlanta
Posts: 722
You need to make the decision of whether you're going to get an sPod or not. If so, budget to get it before or with your first accessory. If not, press on.

If you get your accessories, install and wire them, then decide to circle back and add the sPod, you've effectively killed half the reason for having one. In the meantime, you've spent time and money adding toggle switches, wiring relays and fuses throughout your Jeep. If you come back after the fact and add an sPod, you're doubling your effort as you'll now need to reroute your wiring from each accessory to the sPod.

Also, you can just as effectively isolate all your accessories from the CANbus without the sPod. Simply direct wire your relays to your battery. This is what the sPod does, so it doesn't offer any significant, unique benefit there. It does it in a much cleaner method and also ensures that your wiring is done correctly with inline fuses and relays, but even with modest wiring knowledge you can essentially replicate the same result wiring your own.

It's a great accessory and serves its purpose well. For me, it's about $100-$150 more than I'm willing to pay. If I could get it at $300, I'd be pleased. I don't think it's overpriced when you factor in the cost of switches, relays, wiring, fuses, switch pod, and associated hardware. To wire in 5 of those on your own, you're looking at $35-40 per accessory if you go with quality products, so from a sheer cost perspective, factoring in their margin, etc., I don't think they're wildly overpriced. I just struggle with that kind of outlay before I've purchased the first accessory that it would push which is likely half or so the cost of the sPod. You're paying for convenience, the guarantee of safe and correct wiring and pre-wiring your switches. Personally, I've already installed the Rugged Ridge pillar switch pod, pre-wired all my switches, so all I need to do is add a relay and inline fuse when I install an accessory.
Nuke83 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 01:50 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
+1. I love the SPOD concept, but, the cost is a little too high for me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke83 View Post
You need to make the decision of whether you're going to get an sPod or not. If so, budget to get it before or with your first accessory. If not, press on.

If you get your accessories, install and wire them, then decide to circle back and add the sPod, you've effectively killed half the reason for having one. In the meantime, you've spent time and money adding toggle switches, wiring relays and fuses throughout your Jeep. If you come back after the fact and add an sPod, you're doubling your effort as you'll now need to reroute your wiring from each accessory to the sPod.

Also, you can just as effectively isolate all your accessories from the CANbus without the sPod. Simply direct wire your relays to your battery. This is what the sPod does, so it doesn't offer any significant, unique benefit there. It does it in a much cleaner method and also ensures that your wiring is done correctly with inline fuses and relays, but even with modest wiring knowledge you can essentially replicate the same result wiring your own.

It's a great accessory and serves its purpose well. For me, it's about $100-$150 more than I'm willing to pay. If I could get it at $300, I'd be pleased. I don't think it's overpriced when you factor in the cost of switches, relays, wiring, fuses, switch pod, and associated hardware. To wire in 5 of those on your own, you're looking at $35-40 per accessory if you go with quality products, so from a sheer cost perspective, factoring in their margin, etc., I don't think they're wildly overpriced. I just struggle with that kind of outlay before I've purchased the first accessory that it would push which is likely half or so the cost of the sPod. You're paying for convenience, the guarantee of safe and correct wiring and pre-wiring your switches. Personally, I've already installed the Rugged Ridge pillar switch pod, pre-wired all my switches, so all I need to do is add a relay and inline fuse when I install an accessory.
WACCC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 04:29 PM   #8
Newb
 
CanadianJeepGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks for the help guys. ..im gonna get one first...it is a little expensive but aww well you only live once..and it sounds alot easier and cleaner looking.Has anyone installed wired hth with flat panel switches ....that looks pretty cool
CanadianJeepGuy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 04:35 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
DNasty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 76
I really like the idea of the spod but I'm not a fan of an overhead switch panel when there is already one on the bottom of the dash with a ton of blanks from the factory. If they were to release a spod with an option of a direct fit switch panel where the stock one is I'd buy it tomorrow, even if it was double the price.
__________________
'14 JKU Anvil Willys Wheeler

-Dave
DNasty777 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 07:59 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Ricks Rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by calvarycoffee View Post
agreed. sPOD is worth the $. Easy DIY install. Do that first.

Attachment 810513

I still have to hook up my rock lights; and an air compressor is a future mod. But, I see the switches everyday and get excited to get those done in the spring.

I currently have 50 lightbar and reverse spots hooked in.
What gauge is that you have there?
Ricks Rubicon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 08:11 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
AndrewsJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Coconut Creek FL
Posts: 293
WACCC
Factor in the cost of the shop fees when a noobie cuts into a hot circuit and wires those accessories only to fry a circuit?
The S-Pod should come stock on the newer JK due the advantage it offers! Not to mention how well it performs and quality of its components...PS We spent 35-45 grand for these rigs, whats another $400 to do the job right from the start?! My .2c
AndrewsJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 09:18 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 48
I agree with Andrew's comment. I spent so much for my Jeep. What's another $450 for an Spod to ensure my electrical system is protected?
adamjgb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 10:45 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
JKJeepit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 470
I've been looking at the sPOD also... but so far haven't bought it..
I have added three items to my Jeep..
a Bully Dog tuner
and two sets of off road lights.. PIAA and some D2's

there is no reason you have to spice into circuits to add these items..
used an add a fuse circuit from the auto store...
this also gives you the option of adding into a circuit that requires the key to be ON. saving the battery in case you leave lights on.
also the lights, most lights, come with the relay and everything you need to wire it... you will probably need to extend wires into the cab, but that isn't an issue...
I temporarily have installed the switches that came with the lights..

I am leaning on something with the A-pillar area...
JKJeepit is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 11:36 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
trailless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNasty777 View Post
I really like the idea of the spod but I'm not a fan of an overhead switch panel when there is already one on the bottom of the dash with a ton of blanks from the factory. If they were to release a spod with an option of a direct fit switch panel where the stock one is I'd buy it tomorrow, even if it was double the price.
I only have one blank in my Jeep.
trailless is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 02:09 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
DNasty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailless View Post
I only have one blank in my Jeep.
I have quite a few, only buttons are TC and four ways.
__________________
'14 JKU Anvil Willys Wheeler

-Dave
DNasty777 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 06:46 AM   #16
DaK
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 1,231
Yeah, wish I bought my sPod first. Now I gotta pull the winch to re-route some wires to our bumper lights.
DaK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 11:21 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
calvarycoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Posts: 104
My gauge is Aeroforce Interceptor. Shows live data (and other goodies) via OBDII port.
calvarycoffee is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 11:52 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
JeepHerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2,696
Images: 21
If you plan to add even a couple of accessories to the Jeep get an SPOD- its great. That said- upgrade your switches if you're using it for lights. Why? Because the standard switches light up only when they're "on". Try finding your off-road light switch (1 of 6) in the dark. I have 3 lights on the right bank (bumper lights, D2s, LEDs in my bed)- finding which one I want in the dark is a PITA.
I find it ridiculous that SPOD doesn't offer better options for the switches at $400+. Forking over more money for dual-lit Contura switches irks me. However the functionality makes it all well worth the money.
JeepHerz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 12:18 PM   #19
Photographer and Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Argent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,402
Images: 1
Send a message via AIM to Argent Send a message via Yahoo to Argent
They offer it with dual lit switches - for $500

Argent is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC