Spod problems - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-12-2013, 07:37 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Spod problems

I'm trying to install the spod I just got, and have the switches installed, wire run down to the side panel, try to put the white connecter through the grey piece then through the foam, but it doesn't fit through the grey piece.

I'm stuck with a square peg that doesn't fit in the round hole.

I have a stick, so the clutch hole is a no go. Am I missing something simple here?

vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 07:47 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Navysob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pearl Harbor
Posts: 92
You run it down the inside of the a puller and then it goes through the firewall right behind the dash. Here is what I did... I pulled the plug out in the engine compartment and then ran a small wire from the engine compartment into the can.. Tied it to the spod wire and pulled it trough. That is the easiest way to do it because it is high in the dash! My 2c

Navysob is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 08:02 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Is this the right hole? Neither end of the connector fit through this hole.

Attachment 197386
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 08:45 PM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
the Kolector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 2,577
There is one up under the dash, if you stick your head and look up, you will see it, thats the one I used.
__________________
You Are The Result of 3.8 Billion Years of Evolutionary Success. Act Like It.
the Kolector is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 08:45 PM   #5
Jag
Jeeper
 
Jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 319
I don't think that's the right hole.

The instructions you received should point out a rubber grommet you can cut/remove from the engine-side. Go from that side and push through a piece of wire (I bent a clothes hanger) - it's hard to tell what I'm looking at in your picture, but it should pop out behind that and lower down I believe.

Once you've got the wire, tape or zip tie the cable to it and wiggle it back through.
Jag is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 08:50 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Navysob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pearl Harbor
Posts: 92
That is the wrong hole!!!


Right behind the brake fluid
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2550166255.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	148.4 KB
ID:	197398  
Navysob is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 09:12 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
I can see that rubber grommet from the engine side, but then it looks like it runs along the fender, then has to go through the foam.

It looks like with an automatic it can go through the spot where the clutch should go through, and with manual, it needs to go through that hole, which is behind the side panel
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 10:22 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Navysob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pearl Harbor
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacca foeda
I can see that rubber grommet from the engine side, but then it looks like it runs along the fender, then has to go through the foam.

It looks like with an automatic it can go through the spot where the clutch should go through, and with manual, it needs to go through that hole, which is behind the side panel
Op has a stick so that would be the hole he would need to use.
Navysob is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 10:32 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
I Pm'd spod guy to ask. It looks like there's just the one hole and the connector just plain doesn't fit.

I was just wondering if I was missing something stupid, because it doesn't seem like anyone has any issues installing theirs.
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 10:33 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Thank you guys for trying to help. I appreciate it, and the helpful other owners is one of the things that keeps making me happy I have a jeep
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 11:38 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
By coincidence I installed my spod tonight and saw this before I went to the garage so I took a pic. I have a 6pd manual. From engine side I pulled the rubber grommet in the picture (upper right side of engine compartment) and ran a dummy wire into the cabin (super easy). Then taped the spod harness to the dummy wire and pulled it back through. Takes some finagling but its really not bad. I hope that helps! I'll post pics in separate reply in a second...
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 11:47 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacca foeda View Post
thank you guys for trying to help. I appreciate it, and the helpful other owners is one of the things that keeps making me happy i have a jeep
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	213.1 KB
ID:	197469
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 08:59 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commodore Perry
Any chance you could post a pic from the cabin side of where it comes through?
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 09:02 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
FLBum352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 114
This is sad....jeep drivers should find the "hole" every time!
__________________
12 Wrangler - tires and some stuff
Clermont Jeep Club
Instagram @hunthed
FLBum352 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 09:21 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacca foeda View Post
Any chance you could post a pic from the cabin side of where it comes through?
I'll try to get a pic and post later but its tight quarters. I just pushed some solid 14ga house elec wire from the inside of the engine compartment and the wire went right through...almost no resistance. Have you tried that? It comes out above and to the left of the clutch pedal.
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 09:32 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Looks like I was an idiot. I kept trying to figure out from the cab side where to feed it. Should have just stuck something in the hole and wiggled it around a little like a good jeeper
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 09:38 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacca foeda View Post
Looks like I was an idiot. I kept trying to figure out from the cab side where to feed it. Should have just stuck something in the hole and wiggled it around a little like a good jeeper
I think you'll be surprised hoe easily a lead wire will go through from the engine side. Tape the spod harness well with elec tape and it should pull through pretty easy. You'll have to work it a little to get it all the way through but it's not too bad. Post pics when you're done!
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 09:50 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Magichelmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Huntsville
Posts: 284
I think I just used a wire coat hanger.
__________________
2013 Wrangler Unlimited Sport, True Blue Pearl, 3.73 LS & 5 speed auto, Ace rock rails, EVO ProTek skids, Rubicon take offs, SPOD, CB, & Rigid Dually's.
Member of http://www.rocketcityrockcrawlers.com/
Magichelmt is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2013, 11:53 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Attachment 197556



Attachment 197557


I have some switch covers from otrattw on the way, and am waiting on some lights and brackets.

vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC