Static Radio - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-23-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 39
Static Radio

Hey Everyone,

I want to know if anyone else is having issues with the radio when using auxiliary.

Ever time I play songs through my iPhone and crank the volume half or more, I start to get intense static on the right side. I've tried multiple devices different types of cords, all yield the same result. This only happens when playing through auxiliary. Dealer thought it might be my right speaker, so they replaced it, and it's still happening. I think it might be the actual auxiliary input, maybe it busted inside.

This is a BRAND new JK, so I don't think it should have any electrical issues for now...lol

Anyone else have the same issue?

psywash is offline   Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
lolpetewtf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sudbury, MA
Posts: 1,961
I noticed the AUX input on my stock radio was very loose. The slightest movement of the cord resulted in static. Replace that awful stock unit with a real one.

__________________
2012 Cosmos Blue JK
Galaxy DX-99v2/Sirio 5000

S Package/Auto/Dual Top
Custom Stereo/20% Tint
lolpetewtf is offline   Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:35 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolpetewtf View Post
I noticed the AUX input on my stock radio was very loose. The slightest movement of the cord resulted in static. Replace that awful stock unit with a real one.
Replace the entire Unit? or just the AUX?

I kind like the stock look, some of the aftermarket units look too cheesy.

Any Recco on units?
psywash is offline   Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:00 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
lolpetewtf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sudbury, MA
Posts: 1,961
I hear you. I wanted to keep the stock for looks but it is so restrictive and underpowered you will want to swap it eventually. I have a Clarion CX501. Built in bluetooth + mic, and design fits with the HVAC vents. Check it out.
__________________
2012 Cosmos Blue JK
Galaxy DX-99v2/Sirio 5000

S Package/Auto/Dual Top
Custom Stereo/20% Tint
lolpetewtf is offline   Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:48 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 39
I eventually want to swap it to the stock full screen version. I don't really wanna pay 1500-2000 right now.

What if I buy an iPhone/iPod Mopar adapter. Will that fix the connection and give better sound quality?
psywash is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC