Stock Horn Replaced - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-11-2011, 05:02 AM   #1
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,726
Images: 1
Stock Horn Replaced

When a tractor trailer was intent on continually rolling back and the stock horn wasn't doing it decided to upgrade to the PIAA 400/500hz. horns on our 10 Rubi. Installed them yesterday and a huge difference. They do sound like the old style American manufactered horns and plenty loud. Easy install and no harness required.

kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 05:47 AM   #2
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
Can you post a sound clip?

__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 06:37 AM   #3
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,726
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Can you post a sound clip?
Check this out:
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 06:56 AM   #4
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
Thanks! Does it simply replace the stock horm without addtional wiring?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 06:56 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Sjeupie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 375
hmm, the stock horn sounds like a sissy if you put it next to the PIAA
Sjeupie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 07:25 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Deaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Posts: 178
Now that sounds like s horn!! Gonna look into that for sure! Thanks for the video. Can this be purchased at any/most parts stores or thru catalogue like Quadratec?
Deaf1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 07:52 AM   #7
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,726
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Thanks! Does it simply replace the stock horm without addtional wiring?
There is a 400hz horn and a 500hz horn that comes in the pack with wiring to connect the two. I removed the stock horn and replaced it in the same location with one of the PIAA's. No drilling or cutting of anything. I located the other just to the rear close to the fender and linked them together using the stock wiring, per the instructions, and that's it. The packet also provides wiring to link the two horns from the stock set up. I used higher quality clips than were provided. No other connections are required. I have limited electrical skills and it wasn't a problem to install.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 08:15 AM   #8
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
Thanks!
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 08:15 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Sjeupie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
The packet also provides wiring to link the two horns from the stock set up.
Is it therefore possible to have a 4-tone (2 stock, 2 new) horn?
Sjeupie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 11:30 AM   #10
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,726
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjeupie View Post
Is it therefore possible to have a 4-tone (2 stock, 2 new) horn?
Yes, you need to run a relay to handle the additional amps and wiring. It depends on how much you want to put into it. I don't know how much the stock wiring can handle.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 11:38 AM   #11
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,707
that's a good upgrade.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 12:30 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Barticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
Nice. I just found it on Amazon for $34 and ordered it.
Barticus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 01:47 PM   #13
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
I just ordered it also.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 01:53 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Turbaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barticus View Post
Nice. I just found it on Amazon for $34 and ordered it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
I just ordered it also.

I am going to order it too. I saw the one for $34, but it's the higher pitch one. I am seeing the lower pitch for $39. Seems louder in the youtube videos i watched having the lower pitch. What do you guys think?
__________________
Put your seatbelt on, I wanna try something....

Even if the voices are not real, they have pretty good ideas!
Turbaru is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 01:56 PM   #15
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RB-10rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princeton area in new jersey
Posts: 1,476
Sounds real good im going to order when i get paid thanks for the sound clip
RB-10rubicon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 02:11 PM   #16
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbaru View Post
I am going to order it too. I saw the one for $34, but it's the higher pitch one. I am seeing the lower pitch for $39. Seems louder in the youtube videos i watched having the lower pitch. What do you guys think?
I bought the low pitch for $39.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2011, 06:21 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Turbaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
I bought the low pitch for $39.

That's the one I went for too.
__________________
Put your seatbelt on, I wanna try something....

Even if the voices are not real, they have pretty good ideas!
Turbaru is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 12:16 PM   #18
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
It just arrived today. I'll be putting it in soon!
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 02:55 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
carnut08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
When a tractor trailer was intent on continually rolling back and the stock horn wasn't doing it decided to upgrade to the PIAA 400/500hz. horns on our 10 Rubi. Installed them yesterday and a huge difference. They do sound like the old style American manufactered horns and plenty loud. Easy install and no harness required.
Sounds like a good upgrade to me!

Would you please post a picture of exactly how they are positioned under the hood?
carnut08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 03:06 PM   #20
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,726
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnut08 View Post
Sounds like a good upgrade to me!

Would you please post a picture of exactly how they are positioned under the hood?
I'm unable to post a pic right now, but I did a direct placement of one horn with the stock horn. I placed the other just slightly to the rear next to the driver's side fender where it doesn't interfere with anything. You can place the second horn just about anywhere you find some clearance. Sorry I can't get a pic to you.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 03:07 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
carnut08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
I'm unable to post a pic right now, but I did a direct placement of one horn with the stock horn. I placed the other just slightly to the rear next to the driver's side fender where it doesn't interfere with anything. You can place the second horn just about anywhere you find some clearance. Sorry I can't get a pic to you.
That's OK. Would you post one when you can?
carnut08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 04:48 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 889
I would like to see the 2nd horn placement too. I really could use some noise there! Thanks.
Boosta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 07:29 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
JKashat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Bloomfield, Michigan
Posts: 266
Which kit are you guys using, PIAA #85110 (400/500) or #85112 (500/600)? Also saw a #85114 (400/500) "slim line"...
Thanks,
Jeff
__________________
His - 2012 "Bright White" Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon

Hers - 2011 "Black Sapphire Metallic" BMW X5 xDrive50i M Sport Package
JKashat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 08:30 PM   #24
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
The first one you listed. Hmmm, didn't see a slim line one. That might have been easier to install.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 08:38 PM   #25
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
I put this horn in today. It took one trip to Radio Shack for the wire splice clamps and 2 trips to Autozone. The first trip was for a T25 allen type wrench to get to the bolt holding on the stock horn. The second trip was for an extending wand with a magnet on the end to recover that bolt after I dropped it and it managed to land down by the headlight.

The wiring was simple, the horn placement not so much. The replacement horn is a wee bit larger so it's a tight fit. You need three hands to get in in easily. One to hold some light in the area, another to hold the horn and another to get the bolt in the hole without dropping it down by the headlight.

I found a space for the 2nd horn just behind the windshield wash reservoir. Now would be a good time to check and make sure it's full since there's no warning light.

Right between the reservoir and the next thing (I have no idea what it is) there is enough space for the horn. I used the bolt that's on that "next thing" to connect the horn. I went to dinner and a movie after hoping someone would cut me off or forget to go when the light turned green, but no such luck. I can't wait to beep my new horn in anger!
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 08:58 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
JKashat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Bloomfield, Michigan
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
The first one you listed. Hmmm, didn't see a slim line one. That might have been easier to install.
"Slim line" Amazon link...
Amazon.com: PIAA 85114 Slim Line 400Hz + 500Hz 112db Sports Horn Kit: Automotive
__________________
His - 2012 "Bright White" Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon

Hers - 2011 "Black Sapphire Metallic" BMW X5 xDrive50i M Sport Package
JKashat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2011, 09:26 PM   #27
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
It's 3 db less, probably not that noticable. It's a lot more expensive though, not worth it IMO.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 07:03 AM   #28
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,726
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
I put this horn in today. It took one trip to Radio Shack for the wire splice clamps and 2 trips to Autozone. The first trip was for a T25 allen type wrench to get to the bolt holding on the stock horn. The second trip was for an extending wand with a magnet on the end to recover that bolt after I dropped it and it managed to land down by the headlight.

The wiring was simple, the horn placement not so much. The replacement horn is a wee bit larger so it's a tight fit. You need three hands to get in in easily. One to hold some light in the area, another to hold the horn and another to get the bolt in the hole without dropping it down by the headlight.

I found a space for the 2nd horn just behind the windshield wash reservoir. Now would be a good time to check and make sure it's full since there's no warning light.

Right between the reservoir and the next thing (I have no idea what it is) there is enough space for the horn. I used the bolt that's on that "next thing" to connect the horn. I went to dinner and a movie after hoping someone would cut me off or forget to go when the light turned green, but no such luck. I can't wait to beep my new horn in anger!
Glad to hear that you have it hooked up. It is a bit tight and I did get a few scrapes but it does fit in the stock location. I did mention about the different clips that I used but didn't mention about the wrench. Sorry I couldn't save you the extra trip. I'm glad I got the regular size as opposed to the slim line. Sounds like the second horn placement is in the same area I have mine. Well, how do you like the sound as compared to stock? I think it's a good upgrade. Oh, thanks for reminding me to check the washer fluid.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 08:15 AM   #29
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
Glad to hear that you have it hooked up. It is a bit tight and I did get a few scrapes but it does fit in the stock location. I did mention about the different clips that I used but didn't mention about the wrench. Sorry I couldn't save you the extra trip. I'm glad I got the regular size as opposed to the slim line. Sounds like the second horn placement is in the same area I have mine. Well, how do you like the sound as compared to stock? I think it's a good upgrade. Oh, thanks for reminding me to check the washer fluid.
I LOVE the sound. I can't wait for someone to cut me off!
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2011, 04:01 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
Deaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Posts: 178
Just finished my horn install today and here are pictures of my install. The first picture is where I put the 500 hz horn.


This ons show the 400hz horn located in the stock location, it is a tight squeeze.

Deaf1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking aftermarket horn up to stock YJ horn switch. . .wiring diagrams??? atomicjoe23 YJ Tech Forum 5 11-07-2012 07:06 AM
Horn not working? J.A TJ General Discussion Forum 3 12-18-2010 05:10 PM
Horn not working rketr TJ Tech Forum 1 04-27-2010 05:17 PM
Adding my radio and new horn to factory fuseblock 93yjsplash YJ General Discussion Forum 1 08-04-2009 12:41 AM
Oil pressure sender, replaced, I think.... Black02M3 TJ Tech Forum 12 03-19-2008 07:58 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC