Subwoofer in late model 2013 no Premium Sound? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-16-2013, 01:32 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Subwoofer in late model 2013 no Premium Sound?

Hi all,
Long time lurker and finally bought a new 2013 Wrangler Unlimited Sport! Question I have is I did not want the premium sound option so I did not have the sub bump out in the back for more storage. Well I went to pick up my jeep and it has the sub box along with what it looks like a speaker in it! However no sound out of it, I'm gonna open it up here in a few. Is this sub trim coming standard now on late model 2013 and then I'm assuming into 2014? I checked my build sheet and it doesn't have it on there and double checked my window sticker - no premium sound and says 6 speaker standard system.

poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 03:00 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
JKUR10A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 76
I haven't received my 2013 yet, hopefully within 2 weeks. My understanding is that all the options are roughed in (wiring, harnesses etc...) but the components will be absent. Let me know if you have the sub speaker in the back, or the amp itself.

JKUR10A is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 03:07 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Just took off the cover, sub speaker is there and wired! Where is the amp located?
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 03:10 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 196
Sounds like you got a freebie!

The amp is in the dash. I'd have to assume since they installed the sub, the amp is there too. Does it work?
__________________
<font color=Navy><font color=Black>2013 TRUE BLUE Sahara


Bayouwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 03:13 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JKUR10A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 76
Should be under the steering wheel, just under the panel cover.
JKUR10A is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 03:15 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
No there is no audio coming out from it, so wondering is amp is missing or amp isn't wired. We're in the dash is it? Divers or passenger side?
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 04:10 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
This is under the steering panel. Where should I look?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2529907507.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	145.1 KB
ID:	262305  
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 05:13 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Just took a closer look. No amp. I take it the guy on the assembly line for the rear of the car put the wrong panel on, ie the sub panel. I'm going to take it to the dealer and say my sub doesn't work, I'll get a free amp out of it or they can take it out and replace the rear panel with the current non amp one. I'll let them decide which is easier
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 05:25 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
If you take it out yourself you can sell it for probably $3-400, Mopar retail that part at about $500 I believe. The non-sub trim retails at just over $100.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 08:25 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
GeckoJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 879
You will get the non sub trim panel from the dealer - guaranteed. It would be major work to rewire with the amp and tweeters for premium sound.
__________________
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S - Gecko Pearl Coat
GeckoJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 08:49 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Your better alternative might be to buy a cheap amp off Amazon and just enjoy your free sub.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 09:00 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeckoJK View Post
You will get the non sub trim panel from the dealer - guaranteed. It would be major work to rewire with the amp and tweeters for premium sound.
So the wiring harness for the amp isn't even present? And wouldn't it already be wired if the sub is wired and plugged into the something.
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 09:56 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
GeckoJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 879
My understanding is without premium sound there is no wiring for the amp. The whole thing would have to be rewired which would require pulling a bunch of interior bits. Not worth the labor or squeaks and rattles you will risk having your interior pulled apart.
__________________
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S - Gecko Pearl Coat
GeckoJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 10:45 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Ok thanks everyone for the info. I'm gonna take it to the dealer this week and see what they'll do. Technically the sub is mine since it was sold to me like that, but it also "technically doesn't work stalling under a warrant repair... If they say its my issue then I'll probably take it out and sell like suggested above and replace the trim (sub and trim is $455, no sub trim is $95). Curious, would I lose the power adaptor back there then? I wonder if it even works since there is no power to the sub...? Only last question, can I power the sub with an aftermarket amp still using the stock sound system?
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2013, 07:17 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeckoJK View Post
My understanding is without premium sound there is no wiring for the amp. The whole thing would have to be rewired which would require pulling a bunch of interior bits. Not worth the labor or squeaks and rattles you will risk having your interior pulled apart.
I've had my interior trim out several times and it goes back perfectly, no rattles, squeaks or fitment issues. They're just plastic plugs.

To find out if it's wired, lift the passenger side rear door sill trim and see what wires are running through there. You say that the speaker is wired up, so that suggests to me that there will be wires running all the way to the dash because I'm not aware of there being any point at which the cable is joined.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2013, 09:38 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
JKUR10A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post

I've had my interior trim out several times and it goes back perfectly, no rattles, squeaks or fitment issues. They're just plastic plugs.

To find out if it's wired, lift the passenger side rear door sill trim and see what wires are running through there. You say that the speaker is wired up, so that suggests to me that there will be wires running all the way to the dash because I'm not aware of there being any point at which the cable is joined.
I agree, they would rough in all wiring, and you just have to add the components.
JKUR10A is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 12:57 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
JKUR10A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 76
So what's the verdict? Did you end up getting an amp or removing the sub? What did the dealership say?
JKUR10A is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 01:06 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Arod_3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 84
Arod_3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 03:02 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Jeep is at the dealer today. They said it should work as I have premium audio on the car (checked VIN?), but I definitely didn't pay for premium audio on the sticker. They were all scratching their heads, then lead tech yelled over and said to check under the dash for the amp. No Amp (we already knew this from looking). Tech looked and was like we'll that's a problem. So currently, It's still at the dealer with the dash trim off as they wire it up for the amp.... I don't believe I have the alpine speakers for the remaining standard 6 - so that's probably going to be the next issue after they hook them amp up (I'm assuming stock speakers can't handle the amp). So it's looking like free premium audio package... we'll see.

Also driver side seat seems started to unravel! So I'm getting a new driver seat as well. This was a May 2013 build, and bought it with 6 miles on it fresh off the transport truck the other week. I hope these are my only two issues (touch wood).
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 03:15 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
I don't think the speaker has been made that could be damaged by that amplifier. In fact, I imagine that the pods, tweeters and soundbar probably use the same speakers in both the standard and premium audio configurations.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 03:20 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
I don't think the speaker has been made that could be damaged by that amplifier. In fact, I imagine that the pods, tweeters and soundbar probably use the same speakers in both the standard and premium audio configurations.
Really? So then the only "alpine" speaker is the Sub? The other 6 are all the same?
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 03:23 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by poidog View Post
Really? So then the only "alpine" speaker is the Sub? The other 6 are all the same?
I don't know who makes the speakers, but I'm pretty sure that they're the same in both builds and the only difference is the amp and sub.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 03:30 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
I don't know who makes the speakers, but I'm pretty sure that they're the same in both builds and the only difference is the amp and sub.
Nice. Well we shall see/hear once they're done with it.
poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 04:50 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
mitchelmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
It's too bad. You should keep as is and get your own amp to put in stock amp location. Then throw in a shallow 8 into the rear enclosure with a separate amp. And throw some speakers of your own in the dash and sound bar.

I wish I could have gotten the 10A without the premium sound. It's ok for what it is. Good luck!
mitchelmb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 05:23 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 246
Maybe the sub comes with the standard sound system as a running change and the Alpine version is different speakers and a powered sub.
blankster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 05:33 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 91
Oops
Boxerdad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 05:40 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 246
I think you are seeing the results of running a plant at full capacity plus.
blankster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 06:05 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchelmb View Post
It's too bad. You should keep as is and get your own amp to put in stock amp location. Then throw in a shallow 8 into the rear enclosure with a separate amp. And throw some speakers of your own in the dash and sound bar.

I wish I could have gotten the 10A without the premium sound. It's ok for what it is. Good luck!
As a freebie, I think it's great for OP. He gets to check out the Premium system at his leisure, decide if it's good enough for his needs, and then upgrade some or all of it if he so wishes without having to worry about throwing away an extra that he paid for.

Those of us who have a particular interest in car audio or who have had big systems in the past can't live with the stock system, even in its premium guise, but plenty of people seem happy with it so it makes more sense for them to spend their mod money on shiny or oily bits instead.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2013, 06:07 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by blankster View Post
Maybe the sub comes with the standard sound system as a running change and the Alpine version is different speakers and a powered sub.
No, Jeeps without the premium audio package come with a different trim panel that doesn't have the sub housing and creates a little more space in the trunk, and the speakers are wired directly to the head unit instead of an amp.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2013, 12:15 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
poidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 29
Here's an update:

Dealer still has the Jeep and they gave me a loaner. The harness for the amp was pre wired and under the steering column, however there is no input for it in the back of the head unit. Would I need a new head unit too for the amp to be plugged into? I have the Sirius radio unit (connectivity package). They have now gotten Chrysler involved as they've never seen anything like this and don't know what to do.

I won't be upgrading the sound system to aftermarket. Stock was fine with me, so a free premium system is an added bonus. I have had other stock premium systems in other makes and they've always been more than enough. If the jeep I bought had the premium sound on it I would of preferred it, but it wasn't a deal breaker since it has all the other options I was looking for with no extras I didn't want.

poidog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC