Superchip Settings - What are your best settings? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-30-2011, 10:13 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
Superchip Settings - What are your best settings?

I just purchased my Superchip and feel I have my Jeep back. I would struggle to maintain 70 and would smile if I would get 15 miles to the gallon.

Updated my Jeep with the 87 octane setting - ahhhh - easy to keep 70 - overdrive worked like it should and was getting 18.5 mpg!!

OK - to the question for all of you that have a Superchip is: what is/are your best settings. Any special tips or tricks? Looking for the best day to day road settings.

Comments?

__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-30-2011, 10:45 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
GroundHawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: northeast ohio
Posts: 2,274
I went purely for power. 93 tune, and I modified my auto's shift pattern to stay in gear longer before a shift. OD I delayed the downshift. I can accelerate quickly in OD without the downshift.

Mpg I ignored tuning but I'm getting 16mpg street only with 4.11's pushing 35's.

Off-road/street mpg is about 13 or so.

GroundHawg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-30-2011, 11:10 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Rexacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panama City
Posts: 462
I use mine on economy setting and set my tire size on it and works great. I ran it on performance first but I'm not paying for the high cost of 93 octane for a just a lil more power. But I luv running in the economy setting I have 33s and 2.5" lift and I get 19mpg avg but I also have E3 sparks pug and High performance wires and Banks Power CAI.
Rexacon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 12:00 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
kswyg001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to kswyg001
Tow tune here with the tire size calibrated and max speed raised to 142. But realistically- I have just a drop in air filter, 31s (10.5" wide tho!), and 3.73s with the 6 speed. Power is good and the throttle actually responds.
kswyg001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 03:47 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,090
With the hills around here and crappy quality gasoline, I run the 91 tune and 93 octane fuel to keep it from knocking.
I have 33s but need to set the box to 31.75" to get the speedo and odo right. Have the 4.56 gears programmed in and the fans come on early.
17 around town running heavy.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 07:47 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
I have to run across the metroplex today. I may set the economy setting and see if there is any major change.

I think I will go pick up some of those E3 plugs today and see if that may help.

I have not messed with the gear settings - yet.

I noticed that my factory settings were for a 30 inch tire - my are 32.5, I do have an after market Airrad intake, 2.5 lift, rubicon, and automatic.

As stated before, my biggest issue was to maintain 70 in overdrive was almost impossible. If there was a heavy wind, may as well just turn the overdrive off. I'll see how the economy work today and post later.

Anyone messed with changing the axle ratio's?
__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 08:07 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,090
Economy tune makes me ping like crazy and I get worse mileage than stock...

Use a GPS to find the tire size that works to correct the speedo.

What do you mean by messed with changing the axle ratio's? I have 4.56 and changed the ratio in the program to 4.56...
Do mean change it to a wrong setting to try and fool the computer? Jimbo did that on his Procal to get his shiftpoints different. On the Flashpaq you can just change the shiftpoints yourself.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 08:29 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
This is something I am planning to do, but I had a question.

Looking online, I do not see a Superchip (or Hypertech) chip that shows for the 2011 JK. On quadratec's site, they show xx-10 as in up the 2010 models.

I even went directly to the Superchip website, and they only show 2010.

Does anyone know if the 2010 chips would work, or am I stuck waiting for them to sell a newer chip?

thank you
Domenico is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 08:53 AM   #9
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domenico
Does anyone know if the 2010 chips would work, or am I stuck waiting for them to sell a newer chip?
You've got to wait.

Anybody know if these fuel tunes make any difference on a manual transmission? Anyone out there with a manual try them?
__________________
Mike
2010 JKU "Mountain" Edition
TeraFlex 2.5" Coil Lift : Old Man Emu Nitrocharger Shocks : 33x12.5R15 Goodyear DuraTracs : 15x8 Black Rock 909s : Other Stuff . . .
MTH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 09:12 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Domenico is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 09:58 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
kswyg001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to kswyg001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTH View Post
You've got to wait.

Anybody know if these fuel tunes make any difference on a manual transmission? Anyone out there with a manual try them?
I have a 6 speed and did notice a difference in economy. Probably for a correct speedo but I didn't think going from 225/75r16's to a 29.5" tall tire would change much, I grabbed 1.5mpg on tow tune and that was still romping on it.
kswyg001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 02:40 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlee3372 View Post
I have to run across the metroplex today. I may set the economy setting and see if there is any major change.

I think I will go pick up some of those E3 plugs today and see if that may help.

I have not messed with the gear settings - yet.

I noticed that my factory settings were for a 30 inch tire - my are 32.5, I do have an after market Airrad intake, 2.5 lift, rubicon, and automatic.

As stated before, my biggest issue was to maintain 70 in overdrive was almost impossible. If there was a heavy wind, may as well just turn the overdrive off. I'll see how the economy work today and post later.

Anyone messed with changing the axle ratio's?
Need to watch out on the tire setting. They need to be a lot lower then your tire size due to compression of your tires on the road. My stock 32's were factory set to 30.75 for the speedo to be correct and my 33" had to be set to 31.75 for correct speedo setting.

If you can get a GPS with MPH reading on it, drive around with it running to make sure your speedo is correct.

A rule of thumb to start with is to run your computer settings 1.25" smaller then your actually tire size until you can check you real speed. The computer does actual size while your tire may be one size when not under weight yet when the vehicle weight is adding compression makes the tires smaller in radius from compression. Of course air pressure can effect compression to a point but 1" tp 1.25" less should be about standard
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 02:49 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Has anyone ran mileage XL for better MPG's, and has it helped in around town driving for gas mileage?

I was running 87 which gets me around .8 in MPG's but really didn't notice any power change.

Is anyone using 91 tune yet still using 87 fuel and do you have any issues with that setting or did you have to go to plus fuel?
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 03:14 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
ncossey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by rics1997
Has anyone ran mileage XL for better MPG's, and has it helped in around town driving for gas mileage?

I was running 87 which gets me around .8 in MPG's but really didn't notice any power change.

Is anyone using 91 tune yet still using 87 fuel and do you have any issues with that setting or did you have to go to plus fuel?
I dont use it, its garbage.
__________________
There are very few vehicles that can be defined as "made for offroad". Unfortunately, the Wrangler can definitely be defined as "made for offroad" by its inability to handle well on road
ncossey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 03:24 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Well I just installed the mileage XL, I am going to drive around a few minutes to see how it runs. Might try all the setting over the next few days just so I can get a feel for the different tunes.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 04:56 PM   #16
Ugly Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
PecosRiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, New Mexico
Posts: 1,546
This morning I took my JK to the dealer for one of my lifetime oil changes and using the OBC, I got 9.9 m.p.g. Strong winds, steep hills and a heavy right foot keeps my in the 12 m.p.g. range, so I was annoyed at the 9.9 reading. Soooo, I finally reprogrammed my Jeep and I used the quick setting for 87 octane. Holy Schnitd! A short (20 mile) drive over the same route got me 15.6 m.p.g. with the same wind, hills, and heavy foot AND it was noticeably more powerful feeling.

I bought the Superchips thingy in December, but nervousness about messing with my computer kept me from trying it. Easy! Safe! Does everything it says! If you're like me and are hesitant to screw with the computer, just bite the bullet and do it. I love it.
PecosRiver is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 08:46 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Ok, did a test. Wish I could do a larger sample but this is the best I can do for now. Ran all tunes (except tow and crawl) starting from the exact location taking the same route and resetting the computer est. MPG each trip. I know the computer isn't perfect but following the same steps it should be close.

My route includes a 17 mile loop. 1st mile was community with some steep hills with a speed limit between 20 to 35 mph. Miles 2 through 8 was 4 lane highway 65 mph. mile 8 through 12 was 45 mph 4 lane with 4 red lights and last 12 through 17 miles was back roads at 35mph.

Now all the tunes worse MPG was in the first mile of this course. The mileage XL was the worse tune by far, it hated stop and go and any hill brought the MPG's down fast. On the highway it slowly creep up in MPG's and may have done better if ran longer on highway. I think it is for long highway trips. City it was real bad though.

My data which includes lowest MPG during test, highest MPG and ending MPG at 17 miles.

Tune............Lowest MPG......Highest MPG........Ending MPG

Stock.............14.1.................17.2....... ...........16.6
Mileage XL......13.7.................16.9................. .16.6
87 tune..........14.5.................18.4........... .......17.6
91 tune..........14.0.................18.2........... .......17.4
93 tune..........14.2.................18.1........... .......17.5

Realizing I ran 87 octane gas for the whole test 87 tune won out easily. 87 made best MPG the quickest and ran over all better. 93 Octane did seem to shift better though and was the only thing I seen that beat the 87 tune running 87 octane.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2011, 09:52 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
Wow, all good info. I did set mine to the Mileage XL and drove about 60 miles today. I could definitely tell a difference in power compared to 87 - mainly in the lower speed areas 20 -40 MPH. Also, it was hesitant to shift out of overdrive in the upper gears.

I didn't run the same route, but yesterday I pulled up to my house with 18.5 mpg in 87 mode, and today it was 16.5 in mileage xl.

I did reset my gages and filled up with gas today. Though I would compare the results at the next fill-up (I'm in mileage xl mode now). I just don't know if I can wait that long before shifting back into a different mode!!!

Also I did install the E3 spark plugs this afternoon (6 bucks a pop!!!).

Will report later this week.

kswyg001 and MTH - I think the superchip is best for auto's as standards have full control of their gearing. I don't think it is a bad thing, just not as much bang for the dollar.


Hilldweller - There is a setting to change your axle ratios. I don't know why you would, but just wondering if it would help anything. Just asking if anyone has done anything with these options.

Personally, I'm thinking about upping my shift point between 500 to 1000 rpm just for the heck of it. Any done anything like that?
__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 10:04 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
OK - digging in here, my issue is getting my Jeep up to speed. Not looking for a race car here and the stock 87 setting is 100% better than the stock Jeep as stated above. I went into the shift pattern and upped each of the three settings up "4 clicks."

For example:
1 up settings:
0/9.937
5.882/11.46
12.54/12.99
23.92/19.11
38.03/38.22
48.23/43.57
100/43.57

If I read this right, in first gear, when I press the pedal (1st % number) it will shift at the second number. So for the first setting (0/9.937) - if I do NOT press the gas it will shift at 9.937 mph; then if I press the gas 5% of the way (5.882/11.46) it will shift at 11.46 mph; etc.

I noticed that the last two numbers are normally the max for the gear - in this case 43.57. I didn't mess with the last three number, as my top speed is fine. I just want to dig into the higher RPM's at the lower end - not much - just some (ie-4 clicks).

I LIKE IT!!!! I just modified the "shift schedule" - up shift only for 1, 2, and 3. I didn't mess with the down shift.
__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 11:19 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
wranglerninja88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: sw PA
Posts: 77
what is a superchip? links?
wranglerninja88 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 12:13 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Texas TC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 170
I know this may be a dumb question but here I go. I know nothing about these computer enhancing devices. How easy is it to go back to stock when you take the Jeep in for warranty? Is it a simple "go to stock" button or do you have to keep up with the initial settings and manually program the controller?

I am surely thinking about purchasing one of these devices but I do not want to do anything to void my warranty.

Thanks...
__________________
TxTC
1987 Wrangler (AMC)
2006 Wrangler (Chrysler)
2007 Wrangler (Daimler-Chrysler)
2011 Wrangler (Fiat-Chrysler)
Texas TC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 12:24 PM   #22
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by wranglerninja88 View Post
what is a superchip? links?
This is a superchip: (Superchips 3875 - Superchips® Flashpaq Programmer for 98-10 Jeep® Vehicles - Quadratec). You should also run a search in this forum for the word "superchip." There has been much written about them here. They are most beneficial for those with automatic transmissions but apparently can offer some fuel economy help for those with manuals as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas TC View Post
How easy is it to go back to stock when you take the Jeep in for warranty?
I don't have one, but I've heard it's easy. Basically as you suspect--you just push a reset butten of sorts and rewrite it back to the stock program. The chip itself doesn't actually stay attached to your vehicle so there's no "installation" or "uninstallation" necessary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas TC View Post
I am surely thinking about purchasing one of these devices but I do not want to do anything to void my warranty.
I've never heard of a warranty claim being denied because of their use, though since you can just rewrite your stock program whenever you take the Jeep in for service the issue basically never comes up. In any event, it would have to "damage" the jeep in some way to impact warranty coverage, and I don't believe they do.
MTH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 06:51 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas TC View Post
I know this may be a dumb question but here I go. I know nothing about these computer enhancing devices. How easy is it to go back to stock when you take the Jeep in for warranty? Is it a simple "go to stock" button or do you have to keep up with the initial settings and manually program the controller?

I am surely thinking about purchasing one of these devices but I do not want to do anything to void my warranty.

Thanks...
Very easy. The first time you us it and change the tune, it saves your stock setting. After the first use which takes about twice as long because of the saving of stock setting, it takes about 5 minutes to change to any tune including stock. Once stock is saved it is like changing to any tune in the unit. Only thing is when you go to stock (I guess because you can sale your unit if you go to stock) all the other preset change back to stock like tire size.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #24
Pork Eating Crusader

WF Supporting Member
 
millfire517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Grant County, Indiana
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wranglerninja88
what is a superchip? links?
Search for Superchips flashpaq
millfire517 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 11:29 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
Yes, it does have a stock setting button. As stated above, it does a backup of your stock settings before any modification is done to the Jeep settings. I have not had to take the Jeep back to the dealer, but I assume that is what needs to be done. I'm out of warranty anyway - I'm a 2008 and 45,000 miles.
__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2011, 10:33 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Rexacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panama City
Posts: 462
What is the best setting on the superchip while offroading?
Rexacon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2011, 09:40 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
Have not tried anything off road yet.
__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2011, 03:58 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rexacon View Post
What is the best setting on the superchip while offroading?
Depends on the terrain.
There's a "crawl tune" that's great on rocks but sucks on everything else; I use the "91 Octane tune" usually and reserve crawl for when I need it.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 12:17 AM   #29
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to bLaRed1
New question, are there any drawbacks to something like this? IE Factory Warranty, Risk of blowing up? engine? Lol.
bLaRed1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 06:09 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by bLaZed1 View Post
New question, are there any drawbacks to something like this? IE Factory Warranty, Risk of blowing up? engine? Lol.
From a "Jeep" point of view, yes. All of the above.
They're looking at things like that more often to avoid warranty claims. Use at your own risk. Don't run with scissors.

__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superchip Cmd0934 TJ General Discussion Forum 1 02-13-2011 12:05 PM
Superchip locker? Wyattiger TJ General Discussion Forum 8 01-13-2011 01:53 PM
Oil Furnace - Hot Water Heating - Aquastat Settings TJeepman Off-Topic 1 10-07-2010 06:27 PM
2010 JK Superchip applications Spiritman JK General Discussion Forum 1 02-10-2010 05:13 PM
Sprint Booster or Superchip vincan JK Tech Forum 0 12-30-2009 11:42 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC