Superchips Flashcal vs AEV Procal - Page 3 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-15-2013, 12:27 PM   #61
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito13 View Post
Flashcal update on programming failure: Called first thing today to see if they had any news... They verified the engineers received the error codes from hooking it up to my computer this week. Ran through the programming failures one more time and they said it appears they have a software problem. The guy said their test vehicle was also a '13 and they are hoping to have answers soon on why some people are experiencing issues. I also questioned the box stating hi lo options, advertising saying locking options, and the programmer having ratio adjustments... After reading the new post we have an obvious breakdown at Superchips. My rep today said it should have locker options! I'm going with the email that's posted, bummer since I was stoked about that.
Have you heard anything back on the programming failures?

__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 04:19 PM   #62
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Lockers with flashcal

Quote:
Originally Posted by twarner776 View Post
my guess or at least what im hoping is the ability to use the rubicon axle locks in 4hi
I just got mine in and it does not do anything with the lockers. I called superchips and was informed it was a miss print. You can only control the 4hi and 4 low gear ratios.
Back to the factory it goes

whebert is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 04:23 PM   #63
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrydd View Post
Have you heard anything back on the programming failures?
Case number assigned for my issue.
__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 06:11 PM   #64
Jeeper
 
Incognito13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrydd View Post

Case number assigned for my issue.
I had a rep call today to question if it was an automatic or manual. Mine is a manual, what about yours? They had no update other than the engineers are still working on a solution.
Incognito13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 06:36 PM   #65
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito13 View Post
I had a rep call today to question if it was an automatic or manual. Mine is a manual, what about yours? They had no update other than the engineers are still working on a solution.
I got the same question, auto or manual, then was given a case number. Mine is manual as well.
__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:16 PM   #66
Jeeper
 
speedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Posts: 76
FYI: mine is a 2013 automatic and Flashcal worked fine on mine. I used the tire diameter and tire pressure functions.
__________________

'13 Billet JKUR, '97 Black TJ Sahara
'13 350 EXC-F, '08 KLR650
'00 CBR 900rr, '91 Katana 750
'08 CTS4, '02 330Ci
'95 Trans Am, '89 Camaro RS
speedguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:27 PM   #67
Jeeper
 
Sinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrydd View Post
I got the same question, auto or manual, then was given a case number. Mine is manual as well.
Barry and Incog.....you guys might be on to something with the manual transmissions causing programming failure. Mine is an auto (2011) and worked ok once I got it to update via the website.

Hope you can get it resolved soon with support from SC. Must be frustrating for you guys, not to mention that SC has lost some credibility with their "misprint."
__________________
2011 JKUR 100% Jeep Chick!!
ACE Rock Sliders
OME 2.5" HD Lift
Poison Spyder Brawler Lite Front Bumper
35" Nitto Trail Grapplers on KMC XD122 Wheels
Expedition One trail series rear bumper/tire carrier
Sinclair is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 08:31 AM   #68
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinclair View Post
Barry and Incog.....you guys might be on to something with the manual transmissions causing programming failure. Mine is an auto (2011) and worked ok once I got it to update via the website.

Hope you can get it resolved soon with support from SC. Must be frustrating for you guys, not to mention that SC has lost some credibility with their "misprint."
I have had good luck with SC products in the past and hope the same will be true with this.
__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 10:52 AM   #69
Jeeper
 
Incognito13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 19
SC just left a voicemail that an update has been posted for the flashcal that should correct the programming failure. It will be tonight before I can download the update, hope this works for all of us with the initial glitches!
Incognito13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 02:33 PM   #70
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito13 View Post
SC just left a voicemail that an update has been posted for the flashcal that should correct the programming failure. It will be tonight before I can download the update, hope this works for all of us with the initial glitches!
The update did not work for me. Already sent feedback to Superchip.
__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 04:19 PM   #71
Jeeper
 
lesgoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 93
really like my AEV ProCal
__________________
Teraflex 2.5 coil lift, JKS Disconnects, Trektop NX
Rubicon Rock Rails, ACE Rock Sliders, MyGig Lockpick
Rugged Ridge Satin Black Wheels, Goodyear Duratrac 315/70/17
lesgoff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 05:07 PM   #72
Jeeper
 
speedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesgoff View Post
really like my AEV ProCal
lesgoff: do you have a 3.6 and auto? If so, does your engine lugg when you cruise at a constant speed (under 40 mph) then the tranny shifts up to the next gear?
__________________

'13 Billet JKUR, '97 Black TJ Sahara
'13 350 EXC-F, '08 KLR650
'00 CBR 900rr, '91 Katana 750
'08 CTS4, '02 330Ci
'95 Trans Am, '89 Camaro RS
speedguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 06:00 PM   #73
Jeeper
 
lesgoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 93
No problem with lugging after measuring my tires and using the AEV ProCal to reset the speed and shift-points. I have a 2012 3.6 auto with 3.73 gears.

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedguy View Post
lesgoff: do you have a 3.6 and auto? If so, does your engine lugg when you cruise at a constant speed (under 40 mph) then the tranny shifts up to the next gear?
__________________
Teraflex 2.5 coil lift, JKS Disconnects, Trektop NX
Rubicon Rock Rails, ACE Rock Sliders, MyGig Lockpick
Rugged Ridge Satin Black Wheels, Goodyear Duratrac 315/70/17
lesgoff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 07:38 PM   #74
Jeeper
 
speedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesgoff View Post
No problem with lugging after measuring my tires and using the AEV ProCal to reset the speed and shift-points. I have a 2012 3.6 auto with 3.73 gears.
That confuses me. I have a 2013 with 4.10 gears and mine lugs big-time. It shifts fine when accelerating, but after I cruise at a particular speed (any speed under 50 mph) for a few seconds, the tranny shifts up to the next gear and the engine luggs. This is consistent behavior. it did it with Procal, and after I removed Procal, it now does the exact same thing with Flashcal. Why does it do this on mine, with 4.10 gears, but not on yours or anyone else's??? Is the Jeep programming different on the 2013s vs. the 2012s?? Can someone please help???
__________________

'13 Billet JKUR, '97 Black TJ Sahara
'13 350 EXC-F, '08 KLR650
'00 CBR 900rr, '91 Katana 750
'08 CTS4, '02 330Ci
'95 Trans Am, '89 Camaro RS
speedguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 08:30 PM   #75
Jeeper
 
Sinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedguy View Post
That confuses me. I have a 2013 with 4.10 gears and mine lugs big-time. It shifts fine when accelerating, but after I cruise at a particular speed (any speed under 50 mph) for a few seconds, the tranny shifts up to the next gear and the engine luggs. This is consistent behavior. it did it with Procal, and after I removed Procal, it now does the exact same thing with Flashcal. Why does it do this on mine, with 4.10 gears, but not on yours or anyone else's??? Is the Jeep programming different on the 2013s vs. the 2012s?? Can someone please help???
Just wondering...if you turn your O/D off, does it still do the same thing? I don't know if the 2013's use the same tranny as the 2011's, but I was told that the 2011 tranny shift points are based on speed, not rpm. When I calibrated my speedometer, it "felt" like it was shifting close to factory settings. Turning the O/D off got rid of that annoying delay with ridiculous downshifting and high rpm's when I had to mash the gas pedal to pass someone on the highway.

If you're sure that your speedo is accurate (I checked mine against GPS), try driving without O/D for a while and see if you notice a difference.
__________________
2011 JKUR 100% Jeep Chick!!
ACE Rock Sliders
OME 2.5" HD Lift
Poison Spyder Brawler Lite Front Bumper
35" Nitto Trail Grapplers on KMC XD122 Wheels
Expedition One trail series rear bumper/tire carrier
Sinclair is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 08:33 PM   #76
Jeeper
 
Incognito13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrydd View Post
The update did not work for me. Already sent feedback to Superchip.
Mine did not work either. I will send the same feedback to Superchip.
Incognito13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 08:34 PM   #77
Jeeper
 
speedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinclair View Post
Just wondering...if you turn your O/D off, does it still do the same thing? I don't know if the 2013's use the same tranny as the 2011's, but I was told that the 2011 tranny shift points are based on speed, not rpm. When I calibrated my speedometer, it "felt" like it was shifting close to factory settings. Turning the O/D off got rid of that annoying delay with ridiculous downshifting and high rpm's when I had to mash the gas pedal to pass someone on the highway.

If you're sure that your speedo is accurate (I checked mine against GPS), try driving without O/D for a while and see if you notice a difference.
AFAIK the 2013 does not have a button to turn off O/D. Rather, it has that left/right motion on the shifter that allows you to manually shift up or down one gear. Unfortunately, that does not resolve this issue.
__________________

'13 Billet JKUR, '97 Black TJ Sahara
'13 350 EXC-F, '08 KLR650
'00 CBR 900rr, '91 Katana 750
'08 CTS4, '02 330Ci
'95 Trans Am, '89 Camaro RS
speedguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 03:24 AM   #78
Jeeper
 
lesgoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 93
Did you get the ProCal with the 2013 ready label on the front of the package?

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedguy View Post
That confuses me. I have a 2013 with 4.10 gears and mine lugs big-time. It shifts fine when accelerating, but after I cruise at a particular speed (any speed under 50 mph) for a few seconds, the tranny shifts up to the next gear and the engine luggs. This is consistent behavior. it did it with Procal, and after I removed Procal, it now does the exact same thing with Flashcal. Why does it do this on mine, with 4.10 gears, but not on yours or anyone else's??? Is the Jeep programming different on the 2013s vs. the 2012s?? Can someone please help???
__________________
Teraflex 2.5 coil lift, JKS Disconnects, Trektop NX
Rubicon Rock Rails, ACE Rock Sliders, MyGig Lockpick
Rugged Ridge Satin Black Wheels, Goodyear Duratrac 315/70/17
lesgoff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 12:50 PM   #79
Jeeper
 
speedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Posts: 76
Yes; my Procal box has the 2013 sticker on the front.
__________________

'13 Billet JKUR, '97 Black TJ Sahara
'13 350 EXC-F, '08 KLR650
'00 CBR 900rr, '91 Katana 750
'08 CTS4, '02 330Ci
'95 Trans Am, '89 Camaro RS
speedguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 02:20 PM   #80
PRS
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arvada, Co
Posts: 56
I bought the Flashcal 2 weeks ago. I also have a 6 speed and have had the same failure issue. I told them I was very displeased with their verbiage on the locker issue and that it was misleading. That's the primary reasson I picked the Flashcal over the Procal. On the verge of sending it back.
PRS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 04:51 PM   #81
Jeeper
 
lesgoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 93
I drove my jeep around town some today just to recheck the lugging. There does seem to be a problem between 40 and 50. At this point the jeep has shifted into overdrive, and has to shift if I hit an incline. I guess I was expecting this because the computer is trying to stay in the ECO mode to save fuel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedguy View Post
Yes; my Procal box has the 2013 sticker on the front.
__________________
Teraflex 2.5 coil lift, JKS Disconnects, Trektop NX
Rubicon Rock Rails, ACE Rock Sliders, MyGig Lockpick
Rugged Ridge Satin Black Wheels, Goodyear Duratrac 315/70/17
lesgoff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 08:42 PM   #82
Jeeper
 
Duckquackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,362
I went with the Diablo sport tuner after the AEV didn't do it for me. Now I sit and wait till she gets here. Good luck all
__________________
Truth, Honesty, and Courage means tell the truth do what's right and achieve what needs to be done. Rock to rock puddle to puddle.
Tread Lightly Member
Duckquackers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 05:38 PM   #83
Jeeper
 
rebelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Willowick, OH
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrydd View Post
Having the same issue today when trying to make adjustments for tire size, Programming Failure.
I am also having a programming failure with the tire size. Do you have manual or auto transmission? I'm guessing it is manual like mine. I have heard the tire size and gear ratio options (at least as of now) don't work for manual transmission. I just hope Superchips figures this out soon.
rebelman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 07:25 AM   #84
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelman View Post
I am also having a programming failure with the tire size. Do you have manual or auto transmission? I'm guessing it is manual like mine. I have heard the tire size and gear ratio options (at least as of now) don't work for manual transmission. I just hope Superchips figures this out soon.
Mine is manual as well.
__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 11:36 AM   #85
Jeeper
 
fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pine CO
Posts: 171
AEV pro cal was very user friendly. Just used it for the oversize tire recalculation, TPMS air pressure setting and center steering functions. All went well and my speedometer was under 1 mph off from a radar indicated speed and speed shown on my GPS.
fireguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 12:27 PM   #86
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelman View Post
I am also having a programming failure with the tire size. Do you have manual or auto transmission? I'm guessing it is manual like mine. I have heard the tire size and gear ratio options (at least as of now) don't work for manual transmission. I just hope Superchips figures this out soon.
Spoke with superchips again today. They say they are working on it and will notify me we they have the issue resolved.
__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2013, 02:50 PM   #87
Jeeper
 
speedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago 'burbs
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesgoff View Post
I drove my jeep around town some today just to recheck the lugging. There does seem to be a problem between 40 and 50. At this point the jeep has shifted into overdrive, and has to shift if I hit an incline. I guess I was expecting this because the computer is trying to stay in the ECO mode to save fuel.
The issue you describe is different than what I am experiencing. Here is what I experience with my auto transmission:
Upon acceleration, the transmission shifts at the correct points.* When cruising at a constant speed (for example when setting the cruise control at 30 mph), after 2 to 5 seconds the transmission shifts up to the next higher gear (for example from 3rd gear to 4th gear) and the engine lugs (because 4th gear is the wrong gear for 30 mph).

In addition, I am experiencing a second issue resulting from the Flashcal. The remote start starts the engine, then after 2 to 5 seconds the engine stops, and the instrument panel displays "remote start disabled". Superchips is investigating both issues. Has anyone experienced either of these issues with Procal or Flashcal??
__________________

'13 Billet JKUR, '97 Black TJ Sahara
'13 350 EXC-F, '08 KLR650
'00 CBR 900rr, '91 Katana 750
'08 CTS4, '02 330Ci
'95 Trans Am, '89 Camaro RS
speedguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-24-2013, 06:22 AM   #88
Jeeper
 
Ubear7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 219
I have the auto and have not experienced any of the issues. Updated no problem and changed tire size and tpms. All good....so far.(fingers crossed)

Maybe Jeep changed programming at some point that interferes with it? My build date was 10/12.
Ubear7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 01:42 PM   #89
Jeeper
 
Incognito13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 19
Another Flashcal update came out today and it worked with my 6 speed.
Incognito13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 02:04 PM   #90
Jeeper
 
barrydd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Good to hear. Will give it a try if I get home in time tonight.

__________________
Barry
USMC
barrydd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
flashcal , procal , speedometer , superchips

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC