THE 730N RHR Q&A Thread - Page 12 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-24-2013, 09:06 PM   #331
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
Is anything extra needed when replacing a 130 RES with a 730N? My Wrangler already has the Connectivity Package. Is this going to need a dealer flash and a new mic to work properly?

hoopster3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 09:12 PM   #332
Jeeper
 
Deepjeep1371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopster3 View Post
Is anything extra needed when replacing a 130 RES with a 730N? My Wrangler already has the Connectivity Package. Is this going to need a dealer flash and a new mic to work properly?
Plug and play.

__________________
"There's more to me than you'll ever know"
Deepjeep1371 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 09:22 PM   #333
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepjeep1371 View Post
Plug and play.
How sure are you?
hoopster3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 10:25 PM   #334
Jeeper
 
Deepjeep1371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 590
Go check the thread I started titled. "I switched to 430 RBZ and am not looking back" all of the info in that thread applies to 430 and 730 units. 730 just have more features.
__________________
"There's more to me than you'll ever know"
Deepjeep1371 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 10:55 AM   #335
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopster3 View Post
How sure are you?
If you have the Connectivity package & the pin # for the 730n RHR that you are swapping the 130 w/ then yes it is plug & play. That is the exact swap I did & love it! I took my time doing the install & from start to finish it was less then 30 mins.
MJGM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 11:50 AM   #336
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
I just swore I saw a post from PantherMark somewhere that said it needed to be dealer flashed and a different mic had to be used and turned on at the dealer.

It's too late now....I missed what could have been one hell of a deal on Ebay.
hoopster3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 12:15 PM   #337
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopster3 View Post
I just swore I saw a post from PantherMark somewhere that said it needed to be dealer flashed and a different mic had to be used and turned on at the dealer.

It's too late now....I missed what could have been one hell of a deal on Ebay.
My install did not require any type of flash, just the pin # that came w/ the 730n. All steering wheel controls, usb ports, & mic are all functional. Sorry you missed out on the deal. I know there is one for sale here on WF. He is asking 1k though. Good luck!
MJGM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 08:53 PM   #338
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJGM View Post
My install did not require any type of flash, just the pin # that came w/ the 730n. All steering wheel controls, usb ports, & mic are all functional. Sorry you missed out on the deal. I know there is one for sale here on WF. He is asking 1k though. Good luck!

Thanks for letting me know. I missed out on a 1 day auction for a 2011 High Speed 730N that was mis-labeled as a 430RBZ. There was only one bidder and it went for $415. If only I would have known sooner I would have thrown my hat into that ring. Oh well.....I know for next time and will continue my search.
hoopster3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 10:28 PM   #339
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
I paid $1200, which included current software and "lockpic" so the DVD player works & you can input NAV stuff while the vehicle is in motion. They also included a remote usb port in the glove box that we hook up an IPOD to. We didn't have connectivity group, mic is at the top of the drivers side pillar. OEM Auto Parts They have other options too, remote video, etc. The company also sells on ebay. I even convinced Sirius to transfer my first year free subscription to the new radio.
__________________
CURRENT: '12 Wrangler Sahara; FORMER: '04 Wrangler Unlimited, '02 Wrangler, '94 Cherokee, '83 Scrambler
DCELL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2013, 11:14 PM   #340
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newark DE
Posts: 1,209
Let me get this straight.
If I have a 2013 with RES 130n with connectivity and bought a 730n RHR takeout I don't need any additional parts or antennae?

The antenna for my Sirius is the same antenna used for GPS in the 730n?
The USB connections are plug and play?
The microphone just plugs in, no need for a new mic or to play surgeon with the connectors?

I just swapped out my 130n for the RBZ and truly am frustrated that every time I want to use GPS streaming from my phone I have to listen to my phone and no other source media like Sirius or FM. I just paid less for a 730n with lock pick then I would have for a 430n which I know is completely plug and play so now I need to know what else I may need.
Doctorsti is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 06:40 AM   #341
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,566
No, this is not correct.
If you're going from the RES to a 730N radio, the install is not a simple plug and play install.
1) The mic will either need to be modified or you will need to use an externally mounted mic from the dealer or online.
2) The USB that is in the console won't work either, this is because it plugs directly into the Uconnect module that is located behind the HVAC controls. I believe that the parts dept offers a extension cable to run from the module and routed to the radio where the USB connector is on the back of the radio.
3) The vehicle should be flashed from the RES radio to the 730N sales code. This will tell the vehicle that there is no longer an external Uconnect module but now has the new radio with an internal Uconnect system. This will also keep the CAN BUS network from looking for the external module, not finding it powered up and online and throwing a DTC which may mess with a technician if the vehicle is in service some day.







Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctorsti View Post
Let me get this straight.
If I have a 2013 with RES 130n with connectivity and bought a 730n RHR takeout I don't need any additional parts or antennae?

The antenna for my Sirius is the same antenna used for GPS in the 730n?
The USB connections are plug and play?
The microphone just plugs in, no need for a new mic or to play surgeon with the connectors?

I just swapped out my 130n for the RBZ and truly am frustrated that every time I want to use GPS streaming from my phone I have to listen to my phone and no other source media like Sirius or FM. I just paid less for a 730n with lock pick then I would have for a 430n which I know is completely plug and play so now I need to know what else I may need.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 10:19 AM   #342
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
No, this is not correct.
If you're going from the RES to a 730N radio, the install is not a simple plug and play install.
1) The mic will either need to be modified or you will need to use an externally mounted mic from the dealer or online.
2) The USB that is in the console won't work either, this is because it plugs directly into the Uconnect module that is located behind the HVAC controls. I believe that the parts dept offers a extension cable to run from the module and routed to the radio where the USB connector is on the back of the radio.
3) The vehicle should be flashed from the RES radio to the 730N sales code. This will tell the vehicle that there is no longer an external Uconnect module but now has the new radio with an internal Uconnect system. This will also keep the CAN BUS network from looking for the external module, not finding it powered up and online and throwing a DTC which may mess with a technician if the vehicle is in service some day.
This is why I'm glad I didn't pull the trigger on the 730N. Conflicting reports going on regarding it. Just at the top of the page people were saying it was plug and play.
hoopster3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 12:18 PM   #343
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newark DE
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopster3 View Post
This is why I'm glad I didn't pull the trigger on the 730N. Conflicting reports going on regarding it. Just at the top of the page people were saying it was plug and play.
Yep I've literally read every piece of info I can find on any forum from every make and model a mygig 730n made it into. From the Jeep sites it seems it's gone from plug and play, zero mods needed to can't be done. Obviously it can be done and what I think is the true story here is what was posted above but I've also read that the USB cable is wire tied someplace to take up slack and there is actually enough length to get it to the 730n unit from where the typical uconnect module is. We'll see. I plan on doing the Mic Mod to wire the 130n/430n mic to the 730n so I don't have to run anything new. If it all works when I get it going then I will use it a few days and see if it's really what I want to have going forward and then get it "flashed" or whatever to make sure the Jeep isn't confused.
Doctorsti is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 06:37 AM   #344
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,566
I knew that I had seen this site and information before but forgot where it was. Perhaps you'd like to look at the information provided for this swap.
Also just fyi, the 430 & 430N radios are direct plug N play installs without the need of any reflashing. This is because they use all the connections and external Uconnect module that is currently in your vehicle. You might also want to look into the issues that people are having with the 730N radios.

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 - 2011 Grand Cherokee Navigation radios








Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctorsti View Post
Yep I've literally read every piece of info I can find on any forum from every make and model a mygig 730n made it into. From the Jeep sites it seems it's gone from plug and play, zero mods needed to can't be done. Obviously it can be done and what I think is the true story here is what was posted above but I've also read that the USB cable is wire tied someplace to take up slack and there is actually enough length to get it to the 730n unit from where the typical uconnect module is. We'll see. I plan on doing the Mic Mod to wire the 130n/430n mic to the 730n so I don't have to run anything new. If it all works when I get it going then I will use it a few days and see if it's really what I want to have going forward and then get it "flashed" or whatever to make sure the Jeep isn't confused.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 03:07 PM   #345
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 65
Has anyone had a problem with the navigation freezing your vehicle icon in place? Sporadically I'll start my Jeep up and notice that I'm still showing that I'm at home or sometimes it just stops on a road I was on earlier. The icon stays where it is but the nav map still rotates as I turn and change direction. If I check the satellite info it shows it still has a good fix and the elevation is changing as it normally would, it just doesn't move me on the map. I have the lockpick but I've actually unplugged it and it still showed me stuck. Sometimes it just lasts until I shut down the Jeep for a while, but sometimes it'll do it for a couple of days. I know if I take it to the dealership they are going to says it's the lockpick and I really dont' want to undo all the wiring for the camera's and the lockpick for no reason. Anyone have any ideas?
offcamber is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 03:20 PM   #346
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
My nav does not lock up. The B/T does about once every two weeks. This locks up my RAZR Maxx too. I have to shut the RAZR & Jeep down for at least 10 minutes for it all to come back on Major PITA!

I bought a lockpick and had it ready to install. The night before I did I read every post about lockpick on this and a couple of other forums. I sent it back due to post similar (and worst) than yours.

Good luck. Keep us posted.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 09:13 PM   #347
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by offcamber View Post
Has anyone had a problem with the navigation freezing your vehicle icon in place? Sporadically I'll start my Jeep up and notice that I'm still showing that I'm at home or sometimes it just stops on a road I was on earlier. The icon stays where it is but the nav map still rotates as I turn and change direction. If I check the satellite info it shows it still has a good fix and the elevation is changing as it normally would, it just doesn't move me on the map. I have the lockpick but I've actually unplugged it and it still showed me stuck. Sometimes it just lasts until I shut down the Jeep for a while, but sometimes it'll do it for a couple of days. I know if I take it to the dealership they are going to says it's the lockpick and I really dont' want to undo all the wiring for the camera's and the lockpick for no reason. Anyone have any ideas?
Mine did that a couple times after I first got it, but after updating the radio to the 2.136 update, I haven't seen it happen. I have the Lockpick as well, software seemed to fix it for me as I had the Lockpick with both software versions and the problem went away after updating.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-02-2013, 08:49 PM   #348
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post

Mine did that a couple times after I first got it, but after updating the radio to the 2.136 update, I haven't seen it happen. I have the Lockpick as well, software seemed to fix it for me as I had the Lockpick with both software versions and the problem went away after updating.
I just bought a CHR550 lock pick and need a front and back camera flush any suggestions? Nightvision/waterproof not a cheap one, thanks!
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-02-2013, 09:08 PM   #349
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by docz63 View Post
I just bought a CHR550 lock pick and need a front and back camera flush any suggestions? Nightvision/waterproof not a cheap one, thanks!
Good luck. Keep us posted.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-04-2013, 11:30 PM   #350
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 158
My nav (730N) voice is very unclear and any volume level. The sound of any of the other sources is normal and any volume. The voice sounds very hollow and muffled.
Q1. is this known issue? (I haven't found any info anywhere, so I am assuming it is not)
Q2. could it be the the tweeter is not engaged by the nav system?
Q3. is it possible to change the voice (download and install?) ?
Q4. is there a software update and if so where can I download it?
Thanks for all the help!
__________________
-----------
1992 YK 4.0 ... sold
2013 JKUS Black, black leather, auto, 3:73, 730N.
Patrick001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-04-2013, 11:54 PM   #351
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
Did you adjust the volume in settings?
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-05-2013, 05:55 AM   #352
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick001 View Post
My nav (730N) voice is very unclear and any volume level. The sound of any of the other sources is normal and any volume. The voice sounds very hollow and muffled.
Q1. is this known issue? (I haven't found any info anywhere, so I am assuming it is not)
Q2. could it be the the tweeter is not engaged by the nav system?
Q3. is it possible to change the voice (download and install?) ?
Q4. is there a software update and if so where can I download it?
Thanks for all the help!
The voice sounds fine on mine, so I can't help you much with that issue. I do know that there are no down liable voices you can change it to, you're stuck with the built in voice. I see you're running 2.126, there is a newer version, 2.136 available. I posted the link a few posts back in this thread.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-05-2013, 11:09 AM   #353
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb View Post
Did you adjust the volume in settings?
Yes I did, I also tried to adjust for sound quality through the equalizer but that did not help either.
__________________
-----------
1992 YK 4.0 ... sold
2013 JKUS Black, black leather, auto, 3:73, 730N.
Patrick001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-05-2013, 11:10 AM   #354
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post
The voice sounds fine on mine, so I can't help you much with that issue. I do know that there are no down liable voices you can change it to, you're stuck with the built in voice. I see you're running 2.126, there is a newer version, 2.136 available. I posted the link a few posts back in this thread.
Thanks, I'll see if the update helps.
__________________
-----------
1992 YK 4.0 ... sold
2013 JKUS Black, black leather, auto, 3:73, 730N.
Patrick001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 02:57 PM   #355
Jeeper
 
Gort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick001 View Post
My nav (730N) voice is very unclear and any volume level. The sound of any of the other sources is normal and any volume. The voice sounds very hollow and muffled.
I'm running 2.136 firmware (if memory serves) and I think that the nav voice is also hard to understand over the background noise, even at high volume. Having said that, I also don't hear as well as I used to.

What I find helpful is the shrill, penetrating voice that says "Turn HERE, dammit -- didn't you hear it?" that emanates from somewhere near the front passenger seat. This option has been present in all of my vehicles for the past 20+ years although it's never been listed on the window sticker or build sheet. Coincidentally, I've been married for 20+ years. How strange is that?
Gort is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 02:59 PM   #356
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
pepatrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gort View Post
I'm running 2.136 firmware (if memory serves) and I think that the nav voice is also hard to understand over the background noise, even at high volume. Having said that, I also don't hear as well as I used to.

What I find helpful is the shrill, penetrating voice that says "Turn HERE, dammit -- didn't you hear it?" that emanates from somewhere near the front passenger seat. This option has been present in all of my vehicles for the past 20+ years although it's never been listed on the window sticker or build sheet. Coincidentally, I've been married for 20+ years. How strange is that?
Thats funny..I seem to have the same option on all of my vehicles. Its been about the same amount of time...kind of funny how are able to tune most of it out...but the more I tune that voice out..the more annoying it gets..LOL!!
__________________
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara
AEV Pintlers, front and rear bumpers
GY Duratracs 33s
JW Speaker 8700s and 6145s
Trek Armor Seat Covers and Trek Armor V2 Sun Shade
10A Rubicon Lift
pepatrick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 03:14 PM   #357
Jeeper
 
Gort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepatrick View Post
Thats funny..I seem to have the same option on all of my vehicles. Its been about the same amount of time...kind of funny how are able to tune most of it out...but the more I tune that voice out..the more annoying it gets..LOL!!
This must be a standard feature across all makes. Does your also tell you when to stop and go to the restroom or when to turn up the heat like mine does?
Gort is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 04:41 PM   #358
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
The voice is VERY annoying.

On my five year old Garmin I can select from several voices.I pick the male voice because it is easier for me to hear, besides I already have enough females telling me what to do.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 05:49 PM   #359
Jeeper
 
Rmcroslin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Currently NM
Posts: 51
My 09 730n is more confusing than my Iphone. I hope my inbound 13 with 730n is a little less confusing. I do like the built in nav and hard drive. But I would have been happy with my regular garmins for both, they just don't stay put. Wife won that argument, and I didn't order before it closed.
Rmcroslin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 09:14 PM   #360
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The D
Posts: 339
Images: 16
i got the 430 in my new '13 and had the 730 in my '11. i ordered both i feel like i should have got the 730 again... while more complicated you can do more w/ it and i like the graphics on the nav better, you cannot dial from a keypad on the 430... and more and more i keep discovering

SylvanSahara is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Multi-Quote Scout Off-Topic 27 02-16-2012 03:47 PM
Which Thread is that? nicolas-eric TJ General Discussion Forum 24 11-28-2007 07:04 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC