THE 730N RHR Q&A Thread - Page 14 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-20-2013, 04:08 PM   #391
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
pepatrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramp4ge View Post
So if I get a Wrangler Sport S with Sirius and the Connectivity Group package, what all will I need?

I've been looking at the 730ns on ebay and they talk about a Fast BUS and a Slow BUS. Which does the Wrangler have for the 2013 model year?
I have a 2013 730n from my Wrangler..I would consider selling it..make me an offer.

__________________
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara
AEV Pintlers, front and rear bumpers
GY Duratracs 33s
JW Speaker 8700s and 6145s and Recon LED Tail Lights
IPF 900XS with HID conversion
Trek Armor Seat Covers
10A Rubicon Lift
pepatrick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 07:58 PM   #392
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramp4ge View Post
So if I get a Wrangler Sport S with Sirius and the Connectivity Group package, what all will I need? I've been looking at the 730ns on ebay and they talk about a Fast BUS and a Slow BUS. Which does the Wrangler have for the 2013 model year?
If you get the Connectivity and Sirius on it, then you have 2 routes:

730N - You'll need a harness to bypass the module that comes with the factory Bluetooth since the 730 has built in Bluetooth. The harness is about $80, with that it's a direct plug in.

430N - this would use all the existing gear you have, so no end for the extra harness it's 100% plug and play.

__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 10:20 PM   #393
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Put a lock pick CHR 550 now nav doesn't work on my 730n! What to do?
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 03:15 AM   #394
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 29 Palms, CA
Posts: 289
Thanks for the info.

I think since this is my first Jeep, I'll go for the Sport S with the connectivity and Sirius and drop the 430N in myself. I was under the impression that the 430N was a smaller screen--kind of like the 4.3" display on the Chargers. Glad to hear it's not, and after some research I see that some people seem to prefer the 430N RHB. So that's what I'll shoot for.

I appreciate the information! I hope to be a more regular poster on this forum by the end of the year!
ramp4ge is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 11:41 AM   #395
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by docz63 View Post
Put a lock pick CHR 550 now nav doesn't work on my 730n! What to do?

I can't say, I have the Lockpick V5 instead of the 550 and it works fine with my 730N
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 02:06 PM   #396
Jeeper
 
E-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by docz63 View Post
Put a lock pick CHR 550 now nav doesn't work on my 730n! What to do?
You need to configure the Lockpick so that it knows it's connected to a Nav radio. Should be on page 7-8 on the Lockpick (TV) menu tab.

The instructions say that this is the default setting but the version 2.4 firmware seems to have a big in it and it's off.
E-man is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 12:17 PM   #397
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-man View Post

You need to configure the Lockpick so that it knows it's connected to a Nav radio. Should be on page 7-8 on the Lockpick (TV) menu tab.

The instructions say that this is the default setting but the version 2.4 firmware seems to have a big in it and it's off.
Thanks guys for the info. I will check those pages. Nav is like frozen same location shows up with direction over & over again and when I press for the nav voice she says follow map! So, no one else has any similar problems? I have already taken my jk to my installers 3 times because of disconnection of cameras, these guys are going to hate me! My 12volt dash plug doesn't work as well now could that also be due to lock pick or just a fuse? Anymore help or ideas would be appreciated! Thanks again!
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 06:17 PM   #398
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-man View Post

You need to configure the Lockpick so that it knows it's connected to a Nav radio. Should be on page 7-8 on the Lockpick (TV) menu tab.

The instructions say that this is the default setting but the version 2.4 firmware seems to have a big in it and it's off.
You were right page 8 thanks E-man! All is good. Thanks!
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 08:30 PM   #399
Jeeper
 
Mr.Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 389
I have a brand new 730 with antenna and mic out on ebay right now if anyone is interested.
Mr.Dave is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 09:07 PM   #400
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post

If you get the Connectivity and Sirius on it, then you have 2 routes:

730N - You'll need a harness to bypass the module that comes with the factory Bluetooth since the 730 has built in Bluetooth. The harness is about $80, with that it's a direct plug in.

430N - this would use all the existing gear you have, so no end for the extra harness it's 100% plug and play.
jwilson2598, do you have the p/n or a link for the harness to bypass the module? Thanks!
MJGM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 10:07 PM   #401
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Nevermind I believe I found the harness info. Mopar p/n 82211666.
MJGM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 03:26 PM   #402
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJGM View Post
Nevermind I believe I found the harness info. Mopar p/n 82211666.

Actually, if you're installing an RHR, use 82212906 instead. It's cheaper and includes the USB extension you need to hookup the USB port in your console to the new radio,
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 04:25 PM   #403
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post

Actually, if you're installing an RHR, use 82212906 instead. It's cheaper and includes the USB extension you need to hookup the USB port in your console to the new radio,
Thanks for the info. I did mine a few months back & it came w/ everything I needed. Im doing this for a coworker & get to keep the spare parts plus a bottle of Don Julio Blanco as well!
MJGM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-24-2013, 11:00 PM   #404
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramp4ge View Post
Thanks for the info.

I think since this is my first Jeep, I'll go for the Sport S with the connectivity and Sirius and drop the 430N in myself. I was under the impression that the 430N was a smaller screen--kind of like the 4.3" display on the Chargers. Glad to hear it's not, and after some research I see that some people seem to prefer the 430N RHB. So that's what I'll shoot for.

I appreciate the information! I hope to be a more regular poster on this forum by the end of the year!
Friends don't let friends buy the 730N.

That's the one regret I have with my Jeep. It just doesn't have the features they advertise that it does. No ability to receive/send text with any modern phone. You can't really enter new addresses in the nav while you are moving unless they are presets even using voice.
The only things that are cool is the sirius traffic/weather which you get on any smart phone, "dead-reckoning" if you get lost on trails a lot and the split screen for radio/nav.
TexMedic is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 11:56 PM   #405
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 29 Palms, CA
Posts: 289
Yeah I've been reading a lot on the 730N and decided I don't really care for that route.

I did see someone had posted the options list for the 2014, and it looks like the 430 (non-navigation) will be an option for the 2014 Sport and Sport S.

Has me wondering if I should just wait for the 2014 rollout.
ramp4ge is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2013, 12:00 AM   #406
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexMedic View Post
Friends don't let friends buy the 730N. That's the one regret I have with my Jeep. It just doesn't have the features they advertise that it does. No ability to receive/send text with any modern phone. You can't really enter new addresses in the nav while you are moving unless they are presets even using voice. The only things that are cool is the sirius traffic/weather which you get on any smart phone, "dead-reckoning" if you get lost on trails a lot and the split screen for radio/nav.
Personally I like my 730N, this is my second Jeep with one. The 430N is advertised as having texting features, I don't recall the 730 claiming to have that. Also, I can enter new addresses by voice with mine, even if it's not a preset. I don't really do it often because I have the Lockpick, so my keyboard is never locked out.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2013, 02:24 AM   #407
Jeeper
 
rrico321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Miami
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreyZ View Post
Im late to the party, but yeah... coming from the factory, the stock HU without premium sound outputs all signals from the HU to the speakers. The premium however is the same head unit but the ECU is flashed to know that there is an amp, and so the HU only outputs 1 channel. The Canbus tells the amp (per the head unit) what to do with the audio (balance, fade etc). Essentially getting the premium system turns your head unit into a "dumb terminal" while everything and anything is truly controlled from the amp.

I havent heard if the dealership can hook up the starscann and remove the premium code and re-enable the full output from the HU however.

As anyone figured out a way around this?
__________________
13 JKUR 10th Anniversary, Billet, Red Int.
rrico321 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2013, 01:31 AM   #408
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 201
I have the 730, and after a while, getting used to the different nav system and settings, I quite like it. I also don't have a drama with entering new dest's via the keypad while moving, I get my wife to do it a lot... So not sure if that's a USA thing where your not allowed to do stuff while the car is in motion..



The touch screen is great and very responsive, and I love the hard drive..

All in all, yeah very happy with the unit.
Vanne is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 09:41 AM   #409
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Eman or Jwilson 2598 I know you both use lock pick with your 730n, I was wondering if you lose your connections often? It seems every week my front/rear camera goes out with the words INITIALIZING on the screen. I have brought it in to my installer 3-4 times now,he keeps telling me the connections suck! Not sure what to do next, because it went out again today! Any suggestions? THANKS!
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 12:48 PM   #410
Jeeper
 
JK-linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: North Star State
Posts: 334
Been using the 730N since 2008 when it was called the RER. Though it isn't perfect, I haven't had any issues in getting it to do what it is advertised as being able to do. The current RHR versions are faster, though I'm sure they are not fast enough for some folks. It is what it is, and it probably isn't for everyone. Personally, I'm so use to the interface, I got rid of the 430N that came with my Jeep and put in a 730N instead.

I agree with those that think Sirius TravelLink is useless. I do however like Sirius Traffic... But, I hate Sirius as a company for all the incorrect billing charges, refunds that end up being "in store credit" and whatnot... I dropped them and just put my own music on the internal HDD. The services they offer are not worth the messed up billing or the email spam I get.

I don't text at all so I don't know or care if it works on the 730N. I don't talk on the phone at all while driving either, so I can't comment on call quality. I did pair up my iPhone 4 and it worked fine for sending and receiving calls when I tested it in the driveway. My address book also downloaded and saved just fine as well. Music stream worked just fine as well and didn't sound any better or worse than the radio or HDD music.

The GPS isn't perfect, and the user interface is pretty simple and Windows 3.1-ish in my opinion. that's perfect for me - I like simple and Spartan. the 430N was too cluttered, faded, and had too many soft menus burried inside one another. Anyhow, the RHR always seems to know where I am, even if I start my Jeep 3 stories underground in a downtown parking deck. It doesn't know exactly where, but seems to know where it lost me 8 hours earlier.

The current processing speed is sufficient that I get the correct prompts at the correct time. The older RER use to sometimes miss turns and prompt me after I had already sped though an intersection in dense city driving. The old RER screen refresh lagged a bit and if I didn't know where I was I could get turned around and disoriented if I trusted the screen. On the highway and in the suburbs I've never had an issue on the RER. Anyhow the RHR seems quick enough that the prompts come in time for my city routes and refresh rates are fast enough to trust the system to show me "real time"...

All in all it works fine for me. I updated all the software with **SOX**'s downloads and haven't had any issues yet.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimited Sahara Flame Red
JK-linux is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 09:09 PM   #411
Jeeper
 
E-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by docz63 View Post
Eman or Jwilson 2598 I know you both use lock pick with your 730n, I was wondering if you lose your connections often? It seems every week my front/rear camera goes out with the words INITIALIZING on the screen. I have brought it in to my installer 3-4 times now,he keeps telling me the connections suck! Not sure what to do next, because it went out again today! Any suggestions? THANKS!
Coastal Tech is experiencing issues with the v2.4 firmware. I've been working with their tech for the past two weeks on beta testing revised firmware and they believe they're close to releasing an update. But yes, I was having many issues with it crashing and not ever fully initializing.
E-man is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 09:12 PM   #412
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-man View Post
Coastal Tech is experiencing issues with the v2.4 firmware. I've been working with their tech for the past two weeks on beta testing revised firmware and they believe they're close to releasing an update. But yes, I was having many issues with it crashing and not ever fully initializing.
Mine has been fine, I'm running the 2.3 firmware.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 11:03 PM   #413
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-man View Post

Coastal Tech is experiencing issues with the v2.4 firmware. I've been working with their tech for the past two weeks on beta testing revised firmware and they believe they're close to releasing an update. But yes, I was having many issues with it crashing and not ever fully initializing.
So is it the firmware or connections that is causing the problems? My installer keeps telling me the unit unplugs then he tries reattach and all is good for awhile then no picture and initializing appears on the screen wtf! And what issues are they talking about, do you know? Thanks again for the info!

Edit: do you think it's not unplugging & it comes back on because he keeps rebooting it when he reattaches it??
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 11:23 PM   #414
Jeeper
 
E-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by docz63 View Post

So is it the firmware or connections that is causing the problems? My installer keeps telling me the unit unplugs then he tries reattach and all is good for awhile then no picture and initializing appears on the screen wtf! And what issues are they talking about, do you know? Thanks again for the info!

Edit: do you think it's not unplugging & it comes back on because he keeps rebooting it when he reattaches it??
From what I've been told, it's a firmware issue, although you also need to make 100% sure that you don't have any bent pins and that the connectors are fully engaged. Unplugging the unit essentially hard-resets it, but the units then fail during initialization.
E-man is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-07-2013, 09:42 AM   #415
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-man View Post

From what I've been told, it's a firmware issue, although you also need to make 100% sure that you don't have any bent pins and that the connectors are fully engaged. Unplugging the unit essentially hard-resets it, but the units then fail during initialization.
I sent you my email hope you received. Yes, installers kept blaming bad connections.
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2013, 04:11 PM   #416
Jeeper
 
docz63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 453
Called Carlos at lock pick he said the 28z software is the latest out about 2 weeks now. I can't find it anywhere?
docz63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 02:50 PM   #417
Jeeper
 
2012unlimruby17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 222
Question for all you 730n owners... I have a 2012 JKU rubicon, with 3700 miles. I use this vehicle once a month. I've noticed today, in the display there appears to be an horizontal oval of liquid in the screen, at first I thought it was a large finger smudge, but after turning the radio off, it's much more prominent. It does not affect the operation of the 730n. It's just there, inside the screen. And it comes and goes. Any idea what this is? I will upload photos later.
Thanks
2012unlimruby17 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 09:30 PM   #418
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
will upload photos later.
Not normal for sure. Let's see the photos.
__________________
tomthbomb is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-26-2013, 06:32 AM   #419
Jeeper
 
2012unlimruby17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 222
2012unlimruby17 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-26-2013, 02:57 PM   #420
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,457
I am not a LED screen technician but it looks like some kind of layer separation to me.

For what these units cost I would be at the dealership asap.

__________________
tomthbomb is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Multi-Quote Scout Off-Topic 27 02-16-2012 03:47 PM
Which Thread is that? nicolas-eric TJ General Discussion Forum 24 11-28-2007 07:04 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC