THE 730N RHR Q&A Thread - Page 3 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-22-2012, 02:17 PM   #61
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,489
Quote:
But how can Jeep then say "It can hold approximately 3,000 four-minute
CD-quality songs." ?
I have 1,776 songs on my drive so far.

According to the 730 I have used 6.645GB and have 13.677GB available.

To make it easy for this exercise I have used about 1/3 of the available space and have 2/3 left.

So if 1776 songs take up 1/3 of the available space there should be room for 5,328 songs total.

Where did Jeep come up with 4,000 songs?

__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 02:36 PM   #62
Jeeper
 
chris.george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb View Post
I have 1,776 songs on my drive so far.

According to the 730 I have used 6.645GB and have 13.677GB available.

To make it easy for this exercise I have used about 1/3 of the available space and have 2/3 left.

So if 1776 songs take up 1/3 of the available space there should be room for 5,328 songs total.

Where did Jeep come up with 4,000 songs?
The "standard" has seemed to have been:

Assuming an average size MP3 file, that is encoded at around 160Kbps, and about 3.5 minutes long, the size will be around 4Mb.

20GB/4Mb ~ 5000

Most drop this number to CYA.

__________________
First, gather your facts; then, distort them at your leisure.
— Mark Twain
chris.george is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 02:38 PM   #63
Jeeper
 
Omar Brannstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb View Post
I have 1,776 songs on my drive so far.

According to the 730 I have used 6.645GB and have 13.677GB available.

To make it easy for this exercise I have used about 1/3 of the available space and have 2/3 left.

So if 1776 songs take up 1/3 of the available space there should be room for 5,328 songs total.

Where did Jeep come up with 4,000 songs?
Hi

It depends how long each song is, so maybe your average song is shorter than 4 minutes then You have more space for more songs.

Also if You compress your MP3 och WMA files from CD ripping in the computer more, each file will be less big and more songs fit on the HDD but the audio-quality will also be less because it is less information in a smaller file.
Omar Brannstrom is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 02:52 PM   #64
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,489
All music was ripped directly from the CD's. I feel kind of stupid now knowing I did not gain any quality doing that. I could have dragged and dropped from my computer to a thumb drive in about 1/10 the time or less.

As for the length of the songs mine is a diverse collection with some of everything from Beatles, Willie, YoYo, B.B., Roy (Orbison & Clark), Jerry Jeff, Queene, well you get it.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:44 PM   #65
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
AMangum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 289
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omar Brannstrom View Post
Hi

If any one have the 730N and the time, test the audio quality for us.

Maybe four guys in the wrangler that judge the audio quality on a original CD with for instance good band like ABBA as I am from Sweden

1: Play the orginal CD in 730 direct

2: Copy the CD to the HDD in the 730

3: Rip the CD in the computer to the best setting of mp3 and copy that to the HDD in the 730

4: Rip the CD in the computer to the best setting of WMA and copy that to the HDD in the 730

What option sounds best? Details, clarity, bass, tremble etc

Best regards from Sweden

Omar Brännström
That test would be very subjective and based solely on the listeners interpretation of the sound. I can tell you pretty easily what order the options you listed above will sound best.

1) The best fidelity is to listen directly to the source, listen to the original CD in the head unit.
2) The next best option would be to rip your music on a computer using CDex at a bitrate of 320 using the Lame MP3 encoder (see this site for more information CDex | Open Source Digital Audio CD Extractor with more than 40,000,000 downloads).
3) Ripping to a PC using WMA will lend the next best fidelity (unless you rip WMA lossless, then swap 2 and 3).
4) Ripping directly in the unit to WMA will probably end up with an MP3 bitrate equivalent of 128 or 160 which is pretty easy to hear a loss of fidelity. This should be your last option.

Now that being said, the audio system in the Wrangler is not anything near a $10,000 home unit. I would suspect few people would be able to hear a difference between 1 and 2. Put the vehicle in motion and I doubt you would hear a difference between the first three options. Option 4 I would just avoid period as the quality is crap to begin with.
AMangum is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:12 PM   #66
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oak Ridge,NC
Posts: 354
730N Software Update

I ran across this earlier today on JKO. Not sure yet what all it does, but I do know it adds satellite weather. 2012: Updating the 730N Media Center Firmware/Software - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
X50ARM is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:26 PM   #67
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,123
Note. This is RHR, not RER.

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:08 PM   #68
Jeeper
 
mxman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by X50ARM View Post
I ran across this earlier today on JKO. Not sure yet what all it does, but I do know it adds satellite weather. 2012: Updating the 730N Media Center Firmware/Software - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

My version is 2.116 No clue if thats the most current for the US market or not.
__________________
2012 Jeep Unlimited Rubicon. 2.5 Lift, Nitto 35's, Black/Black 6 Speed, 730N, Auto Air, Max Tow pkg.
mxman122 is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:21 PM   #69
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oak Ridge,NC
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxman122 View Post
My version is 2.116 No clue if thats the most current for the US market or not.
I don't know what the most current one is, but the one above is 2.120.
X50ARM is offline   Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:47 AM   #70
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 202
yep, ive got version software 2.116 also over here. (dubai UAE)

there is definitely a problem with entering gps data co-ordinates.. it does not accept the last digits of the seconds part of the geo data.. , well it does for the North part of it, but not for the e/w part of it.... am i the only one having this issue?
Vanne is offline   Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 10:00 PM   #71
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,976
Anyone know if you save a location to address book, if it is possible to change the name, from the geo coordinates to something like "Steve's House?"
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #72
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFRs2000NYC View Post
Anyone know if you save a location to address book, if it is possible to change the name, from the geo coordinates to something like "Steve's House?"
Good question, I will add to it.

Is it possible to manually access or see the address book on the screen (other than by voice command)?
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:36 PM   #73
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 277
Can anyone get a playlist from an iPod Nano 5th Gen. to play using Voice Recognition? I previously had a 430N in my other 2012 and it worked fine. I would say "Play Playlist Rock" and it would jump to that playlist. The 730N won't recognize my command.

My firmware is 2.12 and I've already done voice training. The Playlist VR function is the only thing that doesn't work. I checked another 2012 JK w/730N and 2.12 firmware and it acted the same.

-Joel
__________________

ChasmCrawler is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:06 AM   #74
Jeeper
 
courtney123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Te0 View Post
I have 730n on my 2012 jk and yes it takes a bit of hit n miss to use. I find myself using my iPhone to find places & addresses sometimes if the 730 cannot.
Sirius free for year is probably the real reason it's more expensive.
$195.
That's what we have knocked off the Sirus capable radio for the Jeep since it's not available in Hawaii.
On the plus side - it's 80 degrees.
__________________
MrCourtney
2012 2 Door Wrangler Soft Top
courtney123 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:11 AM   #75
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 202
yes its possible to change the name of a location u save.
Vanne is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:12 AM   #76
008
Jeeper
 
008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
You also get the on board computer for I think $60 not sure what the charge is (maybe the same) with the 430.
__________________
BFG Rubicon JK
008 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:21 PM   #77
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanne View Post
yes its possible to change the name of a location u save.
Ok, care you share with us how this is accomplished?
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:59 AM   #78
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 202
lol sorry, bout that, my wife has the jeep atm, and its a bloody minefield of pushing buttons on the touch screen. but can be done.. ill repost later tonight..
Vanne is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:40 AM   #79
Jeeper
 
ovrthetop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio, United States
Posts: 122
here is a link to the manual for the RHR Radio.

RHR Manual
__________________
Cincinnati JKOs join our Facebook group
CJKC
Cincy JK Club - rides only, no BS
ovrthetop is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:36 AM   #80
Jeeper
 
mxman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by X50ARM View Post
I ran across this earlier today on JKO. Not sure yet what all it does, but I do know it adds satellite weather. 2012: Updating the 730N Media Center Firmware/Software - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

I did this upgrade last night.... Went from 2.116 to 2.12. I do notice I now get actual movie info and weather info that I did not before. Thanks for the info.
__________________
2012 Jeep Unlimited Rubicon. 2.5 Lift, Nitto 35's, Black/Black 6 Speed, 730N, Auto Air, Max Tow pkg.
mxman122 is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 12:35 PM   #81
Jeeper
 
theluckyones612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by X50ARM View Post
I just set mine to auto-brightness and it uses the setting I have for my instrument cluster at night.

It is the setting you have set your interior lights too. The dial on the turn signal is what sets it. There is a click you will feel that is just before the interior lights come on. That is what your looking for.
__________________
Jx2Jeeper OIIIIO
theluckyones612 is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:02 AM   #82
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
730N Queston Siruis Travel Link

I just got the 730N, I got a 3 month trial of Sirius radio. No issues with the radio. However, I called back Sirius to get Travel Link working and they told me that I have to have 2 (two) radio ID's in the 730N to get the data for travel link. I told them that I could only find one.
I did an update to the new software 2.12 with no issue.
Anyone have the issue of not getting Travel Link activated?
Does there have to be two radio ID's in order to get travel link? (I talked with a sales person at Best Buy and they told me that most radio's only need one.)

Any help would be great, I was on the phone with Sirius for two hours and they told me that would call back in 7 to 10 days!! no wonder the company is doing so bad. And I'm a stockholder...what was I thinking of buying that stock?
dashlite is offline   Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:05 AM   #83
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 202
kay to change the name of the places you save, its a kinda stupid process, but it does work.

say you get to a place and you wanna save the destination, go add to favourites...

then get out of there and go new dest... then go favourites... then go edit list... then select your entry (will be in geo co-ordinates format), then select change name.. Whola!!!


so to recap..

Save dest/or current loc to favourites.

new dest-->favourites-->edit list-->select the one you wanna change --> change name.

hope that helps : )

Oh and just for shits and giggels, dvd playback does not work on mine either. parkbrake set or not. lol


if i update to the new software, will it delete my current dubai/UAE nav database?? or will it only update the actual radio software??
cant afford to wipe the current UAE database...
Vanne is offline   Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:24 PM   #84
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanne View Post
kay to change the name of the places you save, its a kinda stupid process, but it does work.

say you get to a place and you wanna save the destination, go add to favourites...

then get out of there and go new dest... then go favourites... then go edit list... then select your entry (will be in geo co-ordinates format), then select change name.. Whola!!!


so to recap..

Save dest/or current loc to favourites.

new dest-->favourites-->edit list-->select the one you wanna change --> change name.

hope that helps : )

Oh and just for shits and giggels, dvd playback does not work on mine either. parkbrake set or not. lol


if i update to the new software, will it delete my current dubai/UAE nav database?? or will it only update the actual radio software??
cant afford to wipe the current UAE database...
Thank you very much, will try it later.

Now another thing that pisses me off is that this damn unit erases my HOME button address from time to time. Really annoying.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:16 PM   #85
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFRs2000NYC View Post
Thank you very much, will try it later.

Now another thing that pisses me off is that this damn unit erases my HOME button address from time to time. Really annoying.
Same here.
Fortunately I have lived there (home) long enough to remember how to get back there..............most of the time.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:54 PM   #86
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb View Post
Same here.
Fortunately I have lived there (home) long enough to remember how to get back there..............most of the time.
For the most part, me too, but I am often in parts of NJ that I don't know and need help getting on the main roads, so it helps a lot.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 10:13 PM   #87
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 202
i just updated mine to the new software and there are no improvements for me.
DOH!!!
Vanne is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:14 PM   #88
Jeeper
 
2012unlimruby17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 222
Quick question guys... How do I get my voice to be recorded when the promoter says the name of my iPhone... When I picked my jeep up from the dealer... We set my phone up... And the sales man said the name I wanted, but I got tired of hearing his voice everytime I selected my iPhone.. So I deleted the phone, then re-connected it! How do I name my phone audibly?
2012unlimruby17 is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:54 PM   #89
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,123
When you set it up, it asks what the name of the phone is. It will do it once you have deleted it and started the pairing process over.

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:23 PM   #90
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,489
Stumbled on a semisolution for one of my 730N issues.

The bluetooth connection with my Droid 2 Global was iffy at best, never reliable and hard to reisablish when the connection failed. After perusing our and other forums with no "for sure" advice I decided to delete all bluetooth pairing except the Droid. I had pairings for the Droid, my iPad2, my laptop and my wife's iPhone4.

After that all it works "most" of the time. The only other time it stumbles is when I park it for several days when I fly out of town to work. Even then I don't have to stand one one foot, rub my stomach and pat my head all at the same time to get the connection back like before.

I realy don't like work arounds for equipment I pay that much for but it is what it is.

__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Multi-Quote Scout Off-Topic 27 02-16-2012 04:47 PM
Which Thread is that? nicolas-eric TJ General Discussion Forum 24 11-28-2007 08:04 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC