the REAL way to upgrade the factory audio in '13 JK - Page 4 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-19-2013, 07:30 PM   #91
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
Wholeheartedly concur

__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 07:47 PM   #92
Jeeper
 
n3tfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeSteve View Post
Wholeheartedly concur

n3tfury is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2013, 06:53 PM   #93
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
So I swapped out the factory soundboard speakers with Pioneers top of the line and OMG! No amp, just one for one... (Yes I will amp them eventually, in the middle of a military move at the moment).

I talked the guys over at AudioControl, really nice and knew his gear. It looks like I will be using an LC8i, fronts (highs, mids) on channels 1&2 summed, rears on 3 passed thru, and subs on 4. I have to do this to keep front/rear fade. May be obvious to some, but just sharing...

Question, for those that have done this, did you just cut into the factory harness at the amp or... I have an issue with cutting into othe factory harness a week into ownership of a $40k+ jeep. Does Metra or Scosche make an amp bypass harness?
__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2013, 07:01 PM   #94
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by n3tfury View Post
Perhaps, but we're talking about a Jeep here, so the lengths aren't much of an issue. Secondly, you won't notice any sort of timing issue outside of extreme length differences. Thirdly, audiophile + Jeep = lol.

Stereo system in mine isn't bad. Also, just cutting everything the same length is really easy to do, so why not do it? Low hanging fruit...
__________________
That moment when you look at a really nice JK and think to yourself, "Well I SUPPOSE I could see myself trading in my TJ for one of those, but for those ugly ass door handles."
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2013, 07:18 PM   #95
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeSteve View Post
So I swapped out the factory soundboard speakers with Pioneers top of the line and OMG! No amp, just one for one... (Yes I will amp them eventually, in the middle of a military move at the moment).

I talked the guys over at AudioControl, really nice and knew his gear. It looks like I will be using an LC8i, fronts (highs, mids) on channels 1&2 summed, rears on 3 passed thru, and subs on 4. I have to do this to keep front/rear fade. May be obvious to some, but just sharing...

Question, for those that have done this, did you just cut into the factory harness at the amp or... I have an issue with cutting into othe factory harness a week into ownership of a $40k+ jeep. Does Metra or Scosche make an amp bypass harness?
You can just use these and leave all the factory stuff alone.

Amazon.com: 3M 3MT-R-100 22-18 Gauge T-Tap: Electronics

I don't know for sure on the second part, but if you *can* tap in before the amp, do it that way.
__________________
That moment when you look at a really nice JK and think to yourself, "Well I SUPPOSE I could see myself trading in my TJ for one of those, but for those ugly ass door handles."
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2013, 07:24 PM   #96
Jeeper
 
JKone3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 56
awesome I need to do this soon!
__________________
2013 Black JKS Hardtop
----RockKrawler--Bilstein--ORFab--ACE Engineering--Superwinch--Goodyear--Trek Armor--Safari Straps----
JKone3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2013, 07:34 PM   #97
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
I know I cannot tap in before the amp and keep full functionality, same issue PacAudio has. Let me see if I can describe what I am trying to do a little better...

STARTING
HU -> factory amp inputs (uses 2 harnesses)
factory amp -> speakers (uses same 2 harnesses as inputs above)
[precludes hacking off the amp output harness that would do nothing but feed speakers...]

DESIRED END RESULT
HU -> MOLEX-type t-harness similar to PacAudio -> factory amp (for both harnesses)

The inputs to the amp would be undisturbed, leaving full volume/EQ/bal/fade funtions. The amp outputs would be cut and diverted into an AudioControl device, amp, etc.

This seems to me like a simple item for a company to make, I just dont know where to look yet. I would make my own if I knew how to source the factory molex connectors. All I would need it a male and female of each of the harness that plug into the amp...

Probably about as clear as mud, but makes perfect sense in my mind
__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2013, 02:13 PM   #98
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3
My plan is to tap into the factory amplifier's output to feed an Audio Control LCQ-1. Seems to be the only way to retain factory HU with all functionality.

Where did you mount your fuse block for the amps? I'm planning on running 0/1ga. from the battery to a fuse block, then 4ga. out to my amps (JL 300/4 & JL 250/1). Looking under the hood, it's pretty tight and not a whole lot of room to mount anything....
rtcarlin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 05:18 PM   #99
Jeeper
 
J33P4X4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 277
This may not be the "real way" to upgrade, but it works very well. I bought a Kicker 10" base station. It's a powered (100W) low profile sub. It's very musical and sounds great with most kinds of music. I set my factory radio to -4 on the bass and use the remote to control the base. It can't handle some of the really deep base found in about 10% of rap songs. Even without the top this 250$ system rocks




http://m.bestbuy.com/m/e/product/det...=1218289379480
J33P4X4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 03:41 PM   #100
Jeeper
 
dcstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 185
Can someone explain why you would use the LC7 or LC8 as opposed to the LC2?
dcstein is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-28-2013, 11:14 PM   #101
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
There are 8 channels coming out of the amp, 2 each highs and kids for the fronts, full range for the rears and subs for the subs. The highs, mids, and culls need to be combined so an aftermarket sets of components can be used effectively up front and fulls in back.
__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-28-2013, 11:48 PM   #102
Jeeper
 
Mike-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada where there's more Rockies than malls
Posts: 205
So....

What gauge are the stock speaker wires?
__________________
2013 Rubicon Unlimited (aka "BugSplat")
Dune with Black Top and Fenders
Black/Brown Interior, Kicker Speaker Upgrade
6 Speed Manual, 4:10 Diff, 430N, ACE Rock Sliders
Mike- is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 08:57 AM   #103
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
Probably about 22, haven't looked real close yet but that is typical
__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 10:56 AM   #104
Jeeper
 
dcstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeSteve View Post
There are 8 channels coming out of the amp, 2 each highs and kids for the fronts, full range for the rears and subs for the subs. The highs, mids, and culls need to be combined so an aftermarket sets of components can be used effectively up front and fulls in back.
I was asking because I went to a professional installer for a quote and he said I would need the LC2. I figured if you take the full range outputs from the factory amp, say for the soundbar speakers, than that shouldn't be different than combining all 8 channels. In fact, maybe it's even cleaner.
dcstein is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 11:05 AM   #105
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
The larger problem is the sub channel. Many factory systems pull power to the sub at higher volumes to prevent rattles and blowing the cheap equipment. Then, if you are going to do all of that, why not do the whole install correctly rather than hobbled together?

Plus, if you run the lc2 to an amp, what is the low level source for the rear channel? R not gonna amp rear speakers? Or going to use high level inputs on the amp? You will get cleaner signal thru the LCx.
__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 11:30 AM   #106
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,575
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeSteve View Post
There are 8 channels coming out of the amp, 2 each highs and kids for the fronts, full range for the rears and subs for the subs. The highs, mids, and culls need to be combined so an aftermarket sets of components can be used effectively up front and fulls in back.
Believe or not...but there are actually only 6 channels coming out of the amp. 2 for the front, 2 for the rear, and 2 for the sub. The tweeters in the tombstones are not powered by their own amped channel.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 11:41 AM   #107
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
Actually they are powered, they are wired into the 'other' harness that has the power and amp input signal and not the main speaker level output harness. So you are correct that there are only 6 channels in that harness.
__________________
10A Spreadsheet
MeSteve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 05:43 PM   #108
Jeeper
 
tooshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: west texas
Posts: 170
im going this way i think ProBox Custom UTV tops and Vehicle-Specific Subwoofers and Enclosures
lot more power than that base station, probably not quite the stealth box but has a cool storage rack and a tuff looking box
tooshort is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 05:52 PM   #109
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Internet reviews seem to be pretty good, but it looks to me like plastic which is a strange material from which to build a vented box, and it's $600. If you're spending that sort of money then I'd suggest you buy JL.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 06:56 PM   #110
Jeeper
 
tooshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: west texas
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
Internet reviews seem to be pretty good, but it looks to me like plastic which is a strange material from which to build a vented box, and it's $600. If you're spending that sort of money then I'd suggest you buy JL.
It's not plastic, Mdf with a rhino line type spray coat
tooshort is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:00 PM   #111
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
That would make more sense. Without knowing more about the speaker, I think I'd still be inclined to go JL. And ahead of all of that, I'd build my own.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:34 PM   #112
Jeeper
 
tooshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: west texas
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
That would make more sense. Without knowing more about the speaker, I think I'd still be inclined to go JL. And ahead of all of that, I'd build my own.
Sweet, I built my last three but going smaller this go round, post pics of your build
tooshort is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:50 PM   #113
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooshort View Post
Sweet, I built my last three but going smaller this go round, post pics of your build
As yet I haven't done a custom box in the Jeep, just running a JBL 8" in the factory enclosure for now. It might be on the list, but I already put enough time and money into the audio and I wanted to move on to other areas. Also, I still haven't figured out where I'd want to put a sub enclosure - I use the trunk space quite a bit, and I'm concerned about security. My Tuffy deck has finally arrived, so once that's in I might revisit it as do have a nice 10" RF sub looking for a home.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:58 PM   #114
Jeeper
 
tooshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: west texas
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post

As yet I haven't done a custom box in the Jeep, just running a JBL 8" in the factory enclosure for now. It might be on the list, but I already put enough time and money into the audio and I wanted to move on to other areas. Also, I still haven't figured out where I'd want to put a sub enclosure - I use the trunk space quite a bit, and I'm concerned about security. My Tuffy deck has finally arrived, so once that's in I might revisit it as do have a nice 10" RF sub looking for a home.
Yeah I thought about a build but the only jeep build I did was for roommates two door and we used the whole
Trunk area and put two 12" jls. Was loud as hell but box was all different shapes and was quite heavy, in the four door there's lots of room but with all the mods I wanna do and camping and such I really need to conserve space till I figure what all I wanna do. Under or behind the rear seat seemed about the only areas for a multiple sub set up unless maybe I could make a
Box similar to the one I ordered for the other side. Then there's amp mounting and that's the hard part keeping it out of the elements anywhere u put it and much like you I use my trunk space all the time
tooshort is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2013, 12:43 AM   #115
Jeeper
 
Chipster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Desert Area
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by chittychittyBB View Post
I got everything installed and configured this weekend. It sounds incredible - 100% worth all the time and money. I never thought a wrangler could sound this good.

Pictures and more info coming.
Pictures and update please!
Chipster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2013, 01:56 PM   #116
Jeeper
 
dcstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 185
Just realized I never updated this thread after my install. I added an AudioControl LC6i and a JL Audio xd700/5 amp. I have a 2 door 10a Rubi, both are installed in the "trunk well". My jeep was broken into a couple of weeks ago and no equipment was touched, whew. I went for stealth. I replaced the front speakers and tweeters and the soundbar speakers with JL Audio C2650 component speakers. Most people do coax in the soundbar it seems, but there's room to add a tweeter if you want to go component. All grilles were left factory. Again, going for stealth, I added an 8" sub to the factory enclosure. Installer had to add about 1/4 ring onto enclosure for good fit. He polyfilled the enclosure too. All enclosured were dynamat'd. Factory sub grille didn't fit after JL sub went it but JL sells a grill that is nice for about $15. Goes right on. Overall, very satisfied. If you're in the NY area, I used Central Sight and Sound for my install. They were great, highly recommend. Tell em Darren sent ya.
dcstein is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2014, 11:20 PM   #117
Newb
 
edgewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
I just finished my stereo at first I hooked up an Audison bit ten to my factory headunit then connected it to a JLAudio XD400/4 and a alpine MRL m500/1 amps.i installed hertz high energy HSK165 components in the dash and HCX165 coax in the sound bar powered them with the XD400. I installed an JL audio 8w3 sub in the factory sub enclosure and it fit perfectly.i mounted the amps in the back in the tub under the carpet and the bit ten under the steering column .the system sounded good but for the highend setup I was running it should have sounded better.there was interference and the music sounded flat.finally I took the advice of the installers and replaced the factory headunit with a pioneer avhx3600 for $350 and wham the system came to life.clear,clean ,loud and precise.it sounds amazing.if I had just replaced the factory headunit at the get go I probably wouldn't have gone as crazy on the money I had spent .i tried everything to make the system sound good with the factory headunit and it just didnt work.simplely put the factory unit sucks
edgewalker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 09:23 AM   #118
Jeeper
 
zyx5432's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 113
^^^Needs more pictures!
zyx5432 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 10:09 AM   #119
The Infamous One

WF Supporting Member
 
donmeca2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hollywood, florida
Posts: 2,582
I'm really glad i didn't spring for that alpine or any type of jeeps "premium" sound system....
hell the stock system with the 130 in my 2014 sport is just calling for me to tear it out and install some pioneer components....

is it true there are oem speaker connecters that need no cutting or anything while installing new speakers in the wrangler?
__________________
2014 Copperhead Pearl Wrangler Unlimited Sport

" Revenge is never about the greater good. Itís a visceral need that has to be satisfied or the strong lose focus. "
donmeca2020 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 10:18 AM   #120
Jeeper
 
fdisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fort Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by donmeca2020 View Post
I'm really glad i didn't spring for that alpine or any type of jeeps "premium" sound system....
hell the stock system with the 130 in my 2014 sport is just calling for me to tear it out and install some pioneer components....

is it true there are oem speaker connecters that need no cutting or anything while installing new speakers in the wrangler?
I bought two sets of these: Amazon.com: JEEP WRANGLER JK KICKER SPEAKER UPGRADE: Automotive
They plug right in; front and soundbar. Most people on here like Polks but I think the Kickers are pretty good.

fdisker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC