tire pressure light...SPARE? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-16-2012, 10:10 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
tire pressure light...SPARE?

ok so i got 33 by 12.5s today and mounted them myself since they have been balanced and what not. I drove all day no problem. Then got home and took my spare tire off since it was a 31 and didn't look right.. and i took the carrier off as well to just have the squared back end look....drove for about 15 minutes and all of a sudden my tire pressure light (!) comes on why is this?

arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,501
Your computer does not read the spare. Your light is on because the factory setting is 35-37 psi. Chances are your new precious are not in that range.

__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP View Post
Your computer does not read the spare. Your light is on because the factory setting is 35-37 psi. Chances are your new precious are not in that range.
sooo what should i do about that? drop the tire pressure on all tires to around 35? but then what about no spare? does it matter that it is even on ?
arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 10:18 PM   #4
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,501
Are your tires 33x12.5R15? The max cold psi is 35 on those. You cannot fix your TPMS warning light on the dash without getting an AEV Pro Cal now. You need to set the threshold to zero and then no more worries.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 10:22 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP View Post
Are your tires 33x12.5R15? The max cold psi is 35 on those. You cannot fix your TPMS warning light on the dash without getting an AEV Pro Cal now. You need to set the threshold to zero and then no more worries.
they are on the rubicon rims 33x12.5x17
they are roughly 39 psi cause i haven't really messed with the air in them yet! whats a AEV Pro Cal? or how do you set your threshold to 0
arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 10:26 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16


idk if it helps to see the tire? idk i guess I'm just confused how to reset the threshold or what the AEV Pro Cal is your talking about! would this happen to everyone that upgrades to bigger tires?
arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 11:38 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
gr8fulKID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 787
aev procal is a calibration unit that you hook up to your vehicles computer system to calibrate some things. Or, you can go with a superchips flashpaq and mess around with the computer even more to get more power/ better mpg if you have an auto. Search for aev procal or superchips flashpaq and you will find a lot of threads
gr8fulKID is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 11:58 PM   #8
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
First off, see what psi your tires are at. Fill them to 40 psi and drive around for a bit and see if the light turns off. Once it is off, air down to 35 psi.

You should eventually get a Procal so you can set your tire size and fix your speedometer/odometer. With the Procal, you can lower what the computer will trigger the low pressure warning for.
Vin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2012, 12:02 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin View Post
First off, see what psi your tires are at. Fill them to 40 psi and drive around for a bit and see if the light turns off. Once it is off, air down to 35 psi.

You should eventually get a Procal so you can set your tire size and fix your speedometer/odometer. With the Procal, you can lower what the computer will trigger the low pressure warning for.
do most ppl that get bigger jeep tires get a procal? like are they fairly common i guess?
arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2012, 12:04 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8fulKID View Post
aev procal is a calibration unit that you hook up to your vehicles computer system to calibrate some things. Or, you can go with a superchips flashpaq and mess around with the computer even more to get more power/ better mpg if you have an auto. Search for aev procal or superchips flashpaq and you will find a lot of threads
ive heard superchips and all that can void warrantees as well as push your engine to work to hard is that true?
arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2012, 07:08 AM   #11
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
First of all, are the TPMS sensors still inside the wheels? What is your light doing? If it flashes for 75 seconds and then remains on, it means that the sensors are missing or damaged. Regardless of using the programmer for setting the TPMS level to zero, you will need one to reprogram your speedometer for the larger tires.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2012, 09:35 AM   #12
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by arc angel View Post
do most ppl that get bigger jeep tires get a procal? like are they fairly common i guess?
Most of the knowlegable people that get bigger tires get some type of programer to correct for the size change. Some have friends in the dealership that can do it for them. The rest don't know or don't care.

The procal is the least expensive, because it is just a programer. Superchips and the like are called "tuners" because they can change more atrributes and yes can void your warrantee if the dealership finds out you used one.
Vin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2012, 09:37 AM   #13
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
First of all, are the TPMS sensors still inside the wheels? What is your light doing? If it flashes for 75 seconds and then remains on, it means that the sensors are missing or damaged. Regardless of using the programmer for setting the TPMS level to zero, you will need one to reprogram your speedometer for the larger tires.
This is a good point. Did the installers move the sensors from the old to new wheels? Check, because if not you are out 100-200 dollars worth of parts(depending on where you get them from)
Vin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2012, 09:42 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
4DoorCrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,518
Pretty sure he put the tires on his stock rims from his pic. So they shouldn't have removed the tpms.
__________________
2012 Crush Jk sport
4DoorCrush is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-18-2012, 11:37 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
they have the sensors in the rims, and i have a buddy at discount so they are just gonna reset it for me and i guess even if he didnt work there he said its like 18 bucks to have your sensors reprogrammed.
arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-18-2012, 12:07 PM   #16
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by arc angel View Post
they have the sensors in the rims, and i have a buddy at discount so they are just gonna reset it for me and i guess even if he didnt work there he said its like 18 bucks to have your sensors reprogrammed.
The wheel sensors don't get programmed, your vehicle's computer does. The sensors themselves can be easiy damaged. They are also sensitive to radio frequencies and window tint. You never answered exactly what your light is doing. Does it flash when you start the engine and then remain on, or is it already on? Does it say low tire in your odometer area?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 10:02 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
The wheel sensors don't get programmed, your vehicle's computer does. The sensors themselves can be easiy damaged. They are also sensitive to radio frequencies and window tint. You never answered exactly what your light is doing. Does it flash when you start the engine and then remain on, or is it already on? Does it say low tire in your odometer area?
when i turn the jeep on a chime dings and it flashes for about thirty seconds, i continue to drive around and it just stays illuminated on the dash. Does it matter i took my spare tire off? and can i drive with that light on?

arc angel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC