tpms has dealer stumped - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-11-2012, 12:13 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Jsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 42
tpms has dealer stumped

I bought my new 11 jk in dec, on the way home from the purchase my "low tire pressure light" came on I brought it back in the next day, they aired up the tires and sent me on my way. A week later the light was still on and I had to come back. They ran a dx, and all 5 sensors showed they were not working. So they ordered a "module" and replaced it. Yet another week later the light is still on and im here again. They claim to have found a nail in one tire, patched it and filled it back up, after a 30 min drive the light is still on and they want to reset the comp again, and are talking about ordering another module. I've seen a lot of other threads with people having their light on after replacing wheels or tires, but has anyone else had this problem with stock wheels and tires? Is there any way to fix this or will I be spending all my weekends at this place while they keep doing the same repair over and over with no results....

Jsta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2012, 12:46 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 42
Update: they called chrysler tech, and will be pulling the tires off the rims to "get some numbers" and "re-program" the module and if that doesn't work the said they will replace a "switch in the ignition" not sure what the ignition has to do with the tire pressure...

Jsta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2012, 01:48 PM   #3
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 34,899
Google "AEV Procal"

Order, plug in and set psi to "0" never have to worry about it again
__________________
2007 Rubicon/Rock Krawler triple rate 2.5" coils/RK rear TB w/ a teraflex raised bracket/Rancho 9000 31/32XL shocks/Synergy flipped draglink,ball joints,tie rod /Hankook MT 315-75-16 on Level 8 ZX's/Rancho geo brackets/Ruff stuff uppers/Fox ATS stabilizer/Adams front DS/Artec front armor w/ Currie upper bushings/Rancho cat back exhaust.

Lifting your JK? Read this!!



Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta View Post
I bought my new 11 jk in dec, on the way home from the purchase my "low tire pressure light" came on I brought it back in the next day, they aired up the tires and sent me on my way. A week later the light was still on and I had to come back. They ran a dx, and all 5 sensors showed they were not working. So they ordered a "module" and replaced it. Yet another week later the light is still on and im here again. They claim to have found a nail in one tire, patched it and filled it back up, after a 30 min drive the light is still on and they want to reset the comp again, and are talking about ordering another module. I've seen a lot of other threads with people having their light on after replacing wheels or tires, but has anyone else had this problem with stock wheels and tires? Is there any way to fix this or will I be spending all my weekends at this place while they keep doing the same repair over and over with no results....
The TPMS sensors are notoriously finicky, and prone to failure at the most inopportune times...like always.

The Procal will allow you to set a lower threshold on them, all the way down to zero, which will disable them and clear your warning light and chime all at the same time. And it does a bunch of other stuff, too, such as calibrating your speedo if you buy larger tires, etc.

Read the threads below to find out more about the feeble TPMS system.

TPMS Sensors - Do I really need them
AEV ProCal and TPMS -2012 JK
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 10:22 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 42
Doesnt that defy the point of having them? I did pay for it after all, I would like to get some use out of it.
Jsta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 10:30 AM   #6
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta View Post
Doesnt that defy the point of having them? I did pay for it after all, I would like to get some use out of it.
It does, but what did you do before the advent of gadgets that tell you what your tire pressure is?

I used a tire pressure gauge. Still do.

Good luck w/it.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 10:46 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
BillyPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 315
You prolly wont get much sympathy here, most despise the TPMS. The ProCal is a cheap alternative.
Personally I cant wait for all these sensors batteries to go dead in every vehicle today, can you imagine the cost involved breaking down all the tires and replacing the battery or sensor in each? Time to go into the tire business I guess....
__________________
.


2012 Orange Crush Sahara 2dr.
BillyPete is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 10:58 AM   #8
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta View Post
Doesnt that defy the point of having them? I did pay for it after all, I would like to get some use out of it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyPete View Post
You prolly wont get much sympathy here, most despise the TPMS. The ProCal is a cheap alternative.
Personally I cant wait for all these sensors batteries to go dead in every vehicle today, can you imagine the cost involved breaking down all the tires and replacing the battery or sensor in each? Time to go into the tire business I guess....

Don't get me wrong. The TPMS can serve a purpose. I guess.

WF member seanpholman pointed out a good strategy in a post where I said I'd ditched mine.

He used the Procal to set his to something like 15 or 20 PSI. That way, the warning light/chime wouldn't go off unless your tires were really low, but you still kept the supervisory feature of the sensors.

Can't argue with that.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 12:44 PM   #9
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,623
Images: 1
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyPete View Post
You prolly wont get much sympathy here, most despise the TPMS. The ProCal is a cheap alternative.
Personally I cant wait for all these sensors batteries to go dead in every vehicle today, can you imagine the cost involved breaking down all the tires and replacing the battery or sensor in each? Time to go into the tire business I guess....
I'm with this. Since I regularly check the pressure in all my vehicles, if the tpms ever start to cause more problems than they're worth I'll use the Procal. Would it be nice to have it in the one and a quadtrillion event that it is needed, yes. But, to have to do the above to fix a problem it won't be worth it for me. 0 it will be. For now, the system seems to be working. Hopefully, I won't have to find out.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 01:16 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
deepbluewrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Harrisburg, NC
Posts: 765
So I'm driving to work a few months back, I hear this loud bang on the floor board. I think to myself, "Self, did you just run over something invisible in the freeway while driving 70mph? Nah. Well maybe, but, I'm only 4 miles from my exit and 6 miles from work. I'll check it when I get there." So about thirty seconds go by and my TPMS light comes on "Weird I run 40psi and my threshold is around 30psi. I pulled over at the next exit and found a 1/4" hole in my tire. I inflated to 50psi and drove the next 5 miles, it drove fine, but, I only had 15 psi left when I got to work.
*GOOD THING I HAD THE FIRST WARNING....
*IMHO-------Don't disable TPMS while on the road. Use the Pro-cal when you hit the trail. From what I understand it is small and can be stored easliy and used when needed.
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT, GIVE IT MORE GAS!!! THEN PULL OUT THE CREDIT CARD!!!
------------------------------------------------
2009 SAHARA JKU DEEP WATER BLUE, 3"BDS W/ ADJ. LCAs & DUAL STABILIZERS & QUICK DISCO's, 35" BFG K/M2s & 17X9 LEVEL 8 STRIKE 5, KMC DRIVING LIGHTS, BUSHWACKER FLAT FLARES, ROCK KRAWLER TIE ROD, TRACK BAR & DRAG LINK, LCA SKIDS, SOLID DIFF. COVERS, 9/16" HARDWARE, EVO SLEEVES, C-GUSSETS, LOD SHORTY w/ CRAWLER STINGER
deepbluewrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 06:20 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Alexia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepbluewrangler View Post
So I'm driving to work a few months back, I hear this loud bang on the floor board. I think to myself, "Self, did you just run over something invisible in the freeway while driving 70mph? Nah. Well maybe, but, I'm only 4 miles from my exit and 6 miles from work. I'll check it when I get there." So about thirty seconds go by and my TPMS light comes on "Weird I run 40psi and my threshold is around 30psi. I pulled over at the next exit and found a 1/4" hole in my tire. I inflated to 50psi and drove the next 5 miles, it drove fine, but, I only had 15 psi left when I got to work.
*GOOD THING I HAD THE FIRST WARNING....
*IMHO-------Don't disable TPMS while on the road. Use the Pro-cal when you hit the trail. From what I understand it is small and can be stored easliy and used when needed.
If you would have just pulled over immediately to investigate the issue instead of brushing off an explosion as nothing you would never had needed the TPMS to tell you there was a problem.
__________________
2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in Electric Lime Green
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara in Gecko - Ordered 2012-02-04, Produced 2012-03-05, Delivered 2012-03-10, Picked Up 2012-03-12
Alexia is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2012, 06:22 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
---BINGO--Lexi-


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexia View Post
If you would have just pulled over immediately to investigate the issue instead of brushing off an explosion as nothing you would never had needed the TPMS to tell you there was a problem.
JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:02 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
deepbluewrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Harrisburg, NC
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
---BINGO--Lexi-




JIMBO
I've been driving for a while as I'm sure you all have. It did not sound like an explosion, it sounded like a rock. Call me crazy, but, I don't pull over every time a rock or debri hits my undercarraige. Disabling your TPMS is like ignoring your oil, fuel, battery, temperature gauges. I mean do we really need all of these silly gauges. We can just check things over when we get gas every third day or even go to a FULL SERVICE station.

Working around your TPMS is just a bad idea.
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT, GIVE IT MORE GAS!!! THEN PULL OUT THE CREDIT CARD!!!
------------------------------------------------
2009 SAHARA JKU DEEP WATER BLUE, 3"BDS W/ ADJ. LCAs & DUAL STABILIZERS & QUICK DISCO's, 35" BFG K/M2s & 17X9 LEVEL 8 STRIKE 5, KMC DRIVING LIGHTS, BUSHWACKER FLAT FLARES, ROCK KRAWLER TIE ROD, TRACK BAR & DRAG LINK, LCA SKIDS, SOLID DIFF. COVERS, 9/16" HARDWARE, EVO SLEEVES, C-GUSSETS, LOD SHORTY w/ CRAWLER STINGER
deepbluewrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #14
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
ryanJKunlimited2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SE PA
Posts: 481
I had an issue with the TPMS sensors actually creating small leaks. This happened after I had put new shoes on the Jeep. I returned to the Jeep shop that worked on it, they replace all 5 tpms sensors, and fixed the leaks, that was the last time I have seen the light stay on for more than a few seconds.
__________________
Ryan

Not all that wander, are lost
ryanJKunlimited2012 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:09 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Wrangler06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Roanoke Virginia
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyPete View Post
You prolly wont get much sympathy here, most despise the TPMS. The ProCal is a cheap alternative.
Personally I cant wait for all these sensors batteries to go dead in every vehicle today, can you imagine the cost involved breaking down all the tires and replacing the battery or sensor in each? Time to go into the tire business I guess....
i work for a tire place and its insanely expensive to pay to have the tire broken down, replace the tpms washer, nut, stem, etc ("rebuild kit") then you got gotta pay to mount the tire back on and re balance it...people do it though and i have no clue why lol i despise them..nothin but a hasle and another electrical thing to have to deal with....O.P. did you have the tires roatated previously? some tpms sensors can only be rotated front to back..if you cross rotate them, which most of us jeepers do, then the sensors have to be "reset" so the computer knows which sensor is in which tire....ask me how i know, made that mistake at work lol the shop that rotates them is supposed to automatically reset them...its a little sensor tool you hold up to the tire at the stem...that might be what you said they did though...could be the dealer took them off to check them and put a tire iin a diff spot
__________________
Impact Orange 06 Wrangler SE 2.4l 6 speed
OME and Bilsteins, 31x10.50 Kelly Safari Tsr
Magnaflow Exhaust, Rustoleum Lined Tub, Hard Top, Full Doors
Wrangler06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:12 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Judging by your confidence in your TPMS system, I'm sure you're going to be proud of your statements , from now on--no matter what happens!


Quote:
Originally Posted by deepbluewrangler View Post
I've been driving for a while as I'm sure you all have. It did not sound like an explosion, it sounded like a rock. Call me crazy, but, I don't pull over every time a rock or debri hits my undercarraige. Disabling your TPMS is like ignoring your oil, fuel, battery, temperature gauges. I mean do we really need all of these silly gauges. We can just check things over when we get gas every third day or even go to a FULL SERVICE station.

Working around your TPMS is just a bad idea.
I'm sure you have an equal amout of confidence in JEEPS xfer case shifting marvelously engineered latch system-

Oh, did I mention the confidence you must have in the jeeps overhead water/seaing system-

Nah, probably not-

--JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:37 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
deepbluewrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Harrisburg, NC
Posts: 765
pm sent
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT, GIVE IT MORE GAS!!! THEN PULL OUT THE CREDIT CARD!!!
------------------------------------------------
2009 SAHARA JKU DEEP WATER BLUE, 3"BDS W/ ADJ. LCAs & DUAL STABILIZERS & QUICK DISCO's, 35" BFG K/M2s & 17X9 LEVEL 8 STRIKE 5, KMC DRIVING LIGHTS, BUSHWACKER FLAT FLARES, ROCK KRAWLER TIE ROD, TRACK BAR & DRAG LINK, LCA SKIDS, SOLID DIFF. COVERS, 9/16" HARDWARE, EVO SLEEVES, C-GUSSETS, LOD SHORTY w/ CRAWLER STINGER
deepbluewrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:46 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
PM recv'd

It's your jeep

=JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 09:53 PM   #19
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 34,899
How come the sensors don't work I'm my 07?
__________________
2007 Rubicon/Rock Krawler triple rate 2.5" coils/RK rear TB w/ a teraflex raised bracket/Rancho 9000 31/32XL shocks/Synergy flipped draglink,ball joints,tie rod /Hankook MT 315-75-16 on Level 8 ZX's/Rancho geo brackets/Ruff stuff uppers/Fox ATS stabilizer/Adams front DS/Artec front armor w/ Currie upper bushings/Rancho cat back exhaust.

Lifting your JK? Read this!!



Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 09:22 AM   #20
Sponsoring Vendor
 
pat@fieldsauto.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glenview
Posts: 3,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta View Post
Update: they called chrysler tech, and will be pulling the tires off the rims to "get some numbers" and "re-program" the module and if that doesn't work the said they will replace a "switch in the ignition" not sure what the ignition has to do with the tire pressure...
Weird, most dealerships have a computer they are able to put up to the tire and get the sensor numbers, no breaking down the wheel/tires to get the info.
__________________
Patrick O'Donnell(Pat@Fieldsauto.com)
Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge │ 2800 Patriot Blvd│ Glenview, IL 60026
847-446-5100 main│ 847-881-8313 direct
pat@fieldsauto.comFieldsChryslerJeepDodge.com
Have Questions About A New Jeep Purchase? CLICK HERE
pat@fieldsauto.com is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 09:31 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Jsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 42
I finally have my answer after 2 months of Saturdays.... there were no sensors installed. WOW
Jsta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 09:51 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
4fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 2,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta
I finally have my answer after 2 months of Saturdays.... there were no sensors installed. WOW
Whoa. Hahaha. Can't believe it took them that long to check for them.
__________________
-Jeff-
'11 JKU Sport - TF Leveling Kit - 16" Strike 5s on 33s
4fit is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 10:53 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,251
How are there no sensors on a new stock jeep?
__________________
'14 Anvil JKUR (sold the '12 at 52K miles)
'13 unlimited stripped sport (red one)
'13 JKU sport (blue one)
'10 Unlimited sport (other red one)
'08 Unlimited X (green one)
3JKs1H1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 04:55 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Jsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 42
I guess some how they were skipped at the assembly line? I cant believe it took them this long to figure out there were no sensors to start with. I almost dont want to go back to have them put any in. They don't seem to be the brightest bunch....
Jsta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 05:31 PM   #25
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
ryanJKunlimited2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SE PA
Posts: 481
Can't blame you for that assessment. Any other local dealers?
__________________
Ryan

Not all that wander, are lost
ryanJKunlimited2012 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 05:45 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
tjt94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: El Centro, CA
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta View Post
I guess some how they were skipped at the assembly line? I cant believe it took them this long to figure out there were no sensors to start with. I almost dont want to go back to have them put any in. They don't seem to be the brightest bunch....
Look at the bright side, the guys mounting tires weren't bogarting the joints. It's nice when they share except for you.
tjt94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 06:09 PM   #27
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsta View Post
I finally have my answer after 2 months of Saturdays.... there were no sensors installed. WOW
Next thing you might see is no speakers in the sound bar........

__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JK options: factory install vs dealer added wandererjs JK General Discussion Forum 2 04-12-2011 12:04 AM
Dealer damaged my Hood!!! labwagn JK General Discussion Forum 11 08-27-2007 08:11 PM
new fuel pump from dealer has different harness??? jsta6 YJ General Discussion Forum 1 05-19-2006 03:29 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC