TPMS question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-03-2010, 10:30 AM   #1
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
TPMS question

My TPMS light went on last week.So I checked the air on the tires,and I was about 4lbs light in all tires. I brought them up to about 38-39 lbs.The light eventually turns off.Now,about 5 days later the light pops back on again.So I thought that I might have a slow leak somewhere,never the less, I check the tires again,and the pressures are all about 37 to 39lbs all the way around.Also,my tires are only 3 months old(I bought 3 and used the spare as the 4th,I don't know if that is ok to do that)the spare was new also.

what are your thoughts? Do I have a TPMS problem? or a tire problem?

I have 26000 miles on my Jeep.

Thanks for your advice guys

AJ

RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:45 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
SLIM_SNOOPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON View Post
My TPMS light went on last week.So I checked the air on the tires,and I was about 4lbs light in all tires. I brought them up to about 38-39 lbs.The light eventually turns off.Now,about 5 days later the light pops back on again.So I thought that I might have a slow leak somewhere,never the less, I check the tires again,and the pressures are all about 37 to 39lbs all the way around.Also,my tires are only 3 months old(I bought 3 and used the spare as the 4th,I don't know if that is ok to do that)the spare was new also.

what are your thoughts? Do I have a TPMS problem? or a tire problem?

I have 26000 miles on my Jeep.

Thanks for your advice guys

AJ
#1. You mentioned about using your spare, but did you check the air pressure in all 5 tires at the same time?

#2. With the cold temperatures arriving, it will make the TPMS flip out at times , especially when driving as the tire heats up and then re-cools after driving.

#3. When you checked your air pressures, was this when the vehicle not driven for more than 5 hrs " Best time , first thing in the morning before driving" as reffered to as cold tire air pressure.

__________________
SLIM_SNOOPY is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:05 AM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLIM_SNOOPY View Post
#1. You mentioned about using your spare, but did you check the air pressure in all 5 tires at the same time?

#2. With the cold temperatures arriving, it will make the TPMS flip out at times , especially when driving as the tire heats up and then re-cools after driving.

#3. When you checked your air pressures, was this when the vehicle not driven for more than 5 hrs " Best time , first thing in the morning before driving" as reffered to as cold tire air pressure.
First of all,thanks for responding

#1 no I did not check the air on the spare,I had no idea you have to check the spare. I will do that.
#2 I just had my patient say that the Tpms sometimes freak out when it gets cold.Its about 25 degrees here in chicago.
#3 I understand your 3 point,but today the light did not come on until I already had about 30min of driving under my belt.It was at that point that I checked the 4 tires and got the 38-39lbs of pressure.

Thanks again

AJ
RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:51 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
SLIM_SNOOPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON View Post
First of all,thanks for responding

#1 no I did not check the air on the spare,I had no idea you have to check the spare. I will do that.
#2 I just had my patient say that the Tpms sometimes freak out when it gets cold.Its about 25 degrees here in chicago.
#3 I understand your 3 point,but today the light did not come on until I already had about 30min of driving under my belt.It was at that point that I checked the 4 tires and got the 38-39lbs of pressure.

Thanks again

AJ
Then I will stick with the spare tire being the issue, All 5 tires have the sensor, and will activate the TPMS Light the same way as the 4 tires you are driving on. There will be times when it works ok in the cold, and some days it stays on for a while. If it becomes real bothersome, AEV has a device that disables this light without throwing codes and does other things as well.


Jimbox will give you more info, We have elected him as the AEV Expert...lol , Hey JIMBOX , you around....lol
__________________
SLIM_SNOOPY is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 12:48 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Can I call this a "Claim to fame" ???

Well, I have used the Pi## outta the AEVPM and it's a very satisfying "computer" programmer for $150 bucks

I've "disabled the TPMS sys-no lights/icons/chimes

All of the other functions can be "Reprogramed" back to original settings in 15 seconds __

It's a great little tool for a decent price-

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 01:09 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
zerokoo149's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenood Lake, NY
Posts: 209
Jimbox - Congrats on winning the election.

I have the AEV ProCal too, and it literally only takes 15 seconds to turn the light off, no exaggeration.
__________________
2010 Mountain Edition
AEV Premium Bumer / Warn 9.5ti Winch / IPF 900XS Driving Lights
AEV Premium 3.5" Lift
Pro Comp 7005 17x8 Wheels / 35x12.50x17 BFGoodrich M/T KM2
ACE Engineering Rock Rails
Superior 4.88 Gears / Eaton ELockers
Decals by PixelDecals.com
zerokoo149 is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 08:11 PM   #7
Kansas Coyote

WF Supporting Member
 
J.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Kansas
Posts: 575
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLIM_SNOOPY View Post
Then I will stick with the spare tire being the issue, All 5 tires have the sensor, and will activate the TPMS Light the same way as the 4 tires you are driving on.
This has been posted before from the manual.

A tire pressure monitoring sensor is located in the spare
wheel if the vehicle is equipped with a matching full size
spare wheel and tire assembly. The matching full size
spare tire can be used in place of any of the four road
tires. A low spare tire will not cause the “Tire Pressure
Monitoring Telltale Light” to illuminate or the chime to
sound.
The “Tire Pressure Monitoring Telltale Light” will
illuminate in the instrument cluster, and an audible
chime will be activated when one or more of
the four active road tire pressures are low.
__________________
J.B.
2010 JK Sport S Pkg.
Black, Hardtop
6 Speed Manual
J.B. is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:05 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
SLIM_SNOOPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Talking

[QUOTE=J.B.;906693]This has been posted before from the manual.

A tire pressure monitoring sensor is located in the spare
wheel if the vehicle is equipped with a matching full size
spare wheel and tire assembly. The matching full size
spare tire can be used in place of any of the four road
tires. A low spare tire will not cause the “Tire Pressure
Monitoring Telltale Light” to illuminate or the chime to
sound.
The “Tire Pressure Monitoring Telltale Light” will
illuminate in the instrument cluster, and an audible
chime will be activated when one or more of
the four active road tire pressures are low.[/QUO

While reading your post , it has me wondering now, what happens for those like myself that have used the spare tire into the standard rotation program as preventive maintenace??? IS there some kind of rotation sensing device monitor the 4 working tires and the spare as a non moving tire?? Just curious ? Working on my first cup of coffee , so forgive me if I am missing something here...lol
__________________
SLIM_SNOOPY is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 05:42 AM   #9
Kansas Coyote

WF Supporting Member
 
J.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Kansas
Posts: 575
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLIM_SNOOPY View Post
IS there some kind of rotation sensing device monitor the 4 working tires and the spare as a non moving tire?
Correct! When the vehicle goes 7-20 mph, a roll switch inside the sensor turns on and the sensor starts to take measurements every 30 seconds, and sends the results about once a minute to a receiver module.
__________________
J.B.
2010 JK Sport S Pkg.
Black, Hardtop
6 Speed Manual
J.B. is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:18 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
castorj29's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Redmond,Oregon
Posts: 579
When it is very cold outside,mine will some times do the same thing. After driving around to heat up the tires. The light will go out.
castorj29 is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:56 AM   #11
Kansas Coyote

WF Supporting Member
 
J.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE Kansas
Posts: 575
Images: 2
There is also a (park mode) on the sensor that ingages after sitting idle after 20 min. Will then send a signal every 13 hrs. or when the tire pressure drops over 1 psi. I think every 12 degree drop in ambient temp. is a 1 psi drop in tire pressure.
__________________
J.B.
2010 JK Sport S Pkg.
Black, Hardtop
6 Speed Manual
J.B. is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:07 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Prunetucky (Prunedale Ca)
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON
My TPMS light went on last week.So I checked the air on the tires,and I was about 4lbs light in all tires. I brought them up to about 38-39 lbs.The light eventually turns off.Now,about 5 days later the light pops back on again.So I thought that I might have a slow leak somewhere,never the less, I check the tires again,and the pressures are all about 37 to 39lbs all the way around.Also,my tires are only 3 months old(I bought 3 and used the spare as the 4th,I don't know if that is ok to do that)the spare was new also.

what are your thoughts? Do I have a TPMS problem? or a tire problem?

I have 26000 miles on my Jeep.

Thanks for your advice guys

AJ
I have 2008 X with same problem multiple times. I fought the spare issue too. When chained tires, found out NO TPMS in spare, so that was not it. Started monitoring every morning and found out have very small leak on one sensor. My X does nor have readout for each tire either (lie my GMC truck or Corvette), so guessing game for a while.

Has anyone used the aftermarket sensors? About half the Chrysler cost and appear identical. Tire dealer says computer will "learn" to recognize a new sensor in about 30 minutes. Maybe true????
lolat590 is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:40 AM   #13
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
Ok , I checked the air on the spare and it was about 31 lbs,so I thought hmmm maybe thats the problem. I filled it to 37lbs ,yet it had no impact on that damn light on my dash.My Jeep is still on warranty, should I bring it in ,(is it covered?) or should I just deactivate this thing? The guys at the dealership are not going to blame the guys whom put the new tires on ,are they???

AJ
RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:44 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
"Guys who put the new tires on",you never mentioned that-


Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON View Post
Ok , I checked the air on the spare and it was about 31 lbs,so I thought hmmm maybe thats the problem. I filled it to 37lbs ,yet it had no impact on that damn light on my dash.My Jeep is still on warranty, should I bring it in ,(is it covered?) or should I just deactivate this thing? The guys at the dealership are not going to blame the guys whom put the new tires on ,are they???

AJ
You may have a damaged xmitter or NONE AT ALL !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:10 AM   #15
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
"Guys who put the new tires on",you never mentioned that-




You may have a damaged xmitter or NONE AT ALL !!

JIMBO
Jim, I had the guys at Sears put the new tires in in Sept. Does that matter? Are the guys a the dealership going to say ,they damaged them ? Is that realistic?

AJ
RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:20 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Well, if your TPMS operated fine(quiet), for the months since they installed the tires--Pretty good chance that Sears didn't do anything wrong-


Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON View Post
Jim, I had the guys at Sears put the new tires in in Sept. Does that matter? Are the guys a the dealership going to say ,they damaged them ? Is that realistic?

AJ
If you're on good relations with your dealer, they'll probably just "flash" your ECU and check the tires pressures, then tell you to do some driving and it should clear--

I've had the TPMS sys in my last Corvettes and they come with a disable swith-

I'm afraid the Jeeps TPMS is really a PITA, thats why I just got ridofit, with my AEVPM-

I'm afraid its another gadget to take away your individual responcibility and just condition you to a "REDLITE WARNING", instead of physcially chercking for yourself !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:30 AM   #17
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Well, if your TPMS operated fine(quiet), for the months since they installed the tires--Pretty good chance that Sears didn't do anything wrong-




If you're on good relations with your dealer, they'll probably just "flash" your ECU and check the tires pressures, then tell you to do some driving and it should clear--

I've had the TPMS sys in my last Corvettes and they come with a disable swith-

I'm afraid the Jeeps TPMS is really a PITA, thats why I just got ridofit, with my AEVPM-

I'm afraid its another gadget to take away your individual responcibility and just condition you to a "REDLITE WARNING", instead of physcially chercking for yourself !!

JIMBO
Well, I think I have a pretty good relationship with the dealership,I'll make an appointment with them .
Thanks for your input Jim, I let you know ,what they say.

AJ
RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:56 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
SLIM_SNOOPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.B. View Post
Correct! When the vehicle goes 7-20 mph, a roll switch inside the sensor turns on and the sensor starts to take measurements every 30 seconds, and sends the results about once a minute to a receiver module.
Thanks, you learn something everyday.
__________________
SLIM_SNOOPY is offline   Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:19 PM   #19
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON View Post
Well, I think I have a pretty good relationship with the dealership,I'll make an appointment with them .
Thanks for your input Jim, I let you know ,what they say.

AJ
Well I finally got my Jeep Wrangler in for a TPMS evaluation.Of course the light was not on when I arrived at the dealership,never the less,they said they would look it over ,check air,etc.They also did a K13 recall,it took about an hr and a half.When they were done they gave me my Jeep back and said everything looks good.No problems reported with the TPMS.

On my way home the TPMS light turned on.(how frustrating)

I give up.I'm just going to leave it on and off and on and off...

Just another reason why I am so critical of Chrysler.WHATEVER!!!!!

AJ
RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:33 PM   #20
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRUBICON View Post
Just another reason why I am so critical of Chrysler.WHATEVER!!!!!

AJ
Right! Sears couldn't possibly have screwed something up since it worked fine before they touched it.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:50 PM   #21
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RaiderRUBICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: oak brook IL
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Right! Sears couldn't possibly have screwed something up since it worked fine before they touched it.
Tom, not likely,that was in Sept. Is it not fixable anymore.??Should I bring it to Sears??/i don't think so.

AJ

RaiderRUBICON is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock TPMS question zerokoo149 JK General Discussion Forum 3 11-16-2010 07:27 AM
6sp shift question rico334 TJ Tech Forum 15 12-13-2009 10:08 PM
quick axle question Sb5551 TJ Tech Forum 3 10-03-2008 09:38 PM
Trans Mount Question MOz TJ Tech Forum 8 06-10-2008 04:14 PM
Carb question and EGR question trulefty YJ Tech Forum 0 12-12-2006 05:55 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC