TPMS sensor replacement - Is this right? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-22-2011, 09:27 AM   #1
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
TPMS sensor replacement - Is this right?

Been running without these for some time now because it's easier to air down and up without worrying about them. Was debating a pro cal too but I thought it was more expensive to replace these on a JK. Is this right? Are these the replacements for the sensors I took out?

Original Replacement Parts 17237.11 - Tire Pressure Monitor Service Kit for 07-11 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK & 08-09 Grand Cherokee WK - Quadratec

__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 09:51 AM   #2
Sponsoring Vendor
 
EAD Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
Been running without these for some time now because it's easier to air down and up without worrying about them. Was debating a pro cal too but I thought it was more expensive to replace these on a JK. Is this right? Are these the replacements for the sensors I took out?

Original Replacement Parts 17237.11 - Tire Pressure Monitor Service Kit for 07-11 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK & 08-09 Grand Cherokee WK - Quadratec
No those won't replace the entire monitor, that's just a kit to replace the valve stem. The actual monitor is a lot more expensive, our price is $25 less than Qtec but it's still $95 each and you need 5. OMIX-ADA Jeep JK/WK Tire Pressure Monitor


Personally I just got a procal myself and set the TPMS warning threshold to 0 PSI.

__________________

EAD Offroad

Join us on facebook for special giveaways.
EAD Offroad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 09:55 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
TheAxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAD Offroad
Personally I just got a procal myself and set the TPMS warning threshold to 0 PSI.
Doesn't this defeat the purpose?

Why keep the tpms monitors at all?
TheAxe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 10:03 AM   #4
Sponsoring Vendor
 
EAD Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAxe View Post
Doesn't this defeat the purpose?

Why keep the tpms monitors at all?
Maybe I wasn't clear. If the OP does not have his monitors at all anymore, and does not want/care about the monitoring system, I'm suggesting it's cheaper to get a programmer and turn the system off vs. getting 5 new monitors.

Personally I sold my Rubicon wheels years ago with the sensors. With 37s you don't need a light to tell you a tire is flat
__________________

EAD Offroad

Join us on facebook for special giveaways.
EAD Offroad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 10:46 AM   #5
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
That's what I was thinking too. I don't have the sensors in my current wheels. I sold them with the last set of tires before getting my bigger ones. Will just get a pro cal and turn them off if it's almost $100 beans a sensor.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 11:34 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
--BINGO--


Quote:
Originally Posted by EAD Offroad View Post
No those won't replace the entire monitor, that's just a kit to replace the valve stem. The actual monitor is a lot more expensive, our price is $25 less than Qtec but it's still $95 each and you need 5. OMIX-ADA Jeep JK/WK Tire Pressure Monitor

Personally I just got a procal myself and set the TPMS warning threshold to 0 PSI.
Smart move

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAD Offroad View Post
Maybe I wasn't clear. If the OP does not have his monitors at all anymore, and does not want/care about the monitoring system, I'm suggesting it's cheaper to get a programmer and turn the system off vs. getting 5 new monitors.

Personally I sold my Rubicon wheels years ago with the sensors. With 37s you don't need a light to tell you a tire is flat
The AEV Procal Module is a fairly cheap "fix" for the "Defunct" TPMS system and the AEVPM has a multitude of other beneficial uses--

I've had mine for over two years and useit ALL THE TIME !!

You can even control your engine rpm, with the "Dome Light" dimmer-

Google it-

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 11:41 AM   #7
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
Thanks Jimbo, I'm familiar with the pro cal. It offers more for an auto tranny though but I will get one for getting the light off my dashboard.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 11:49 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
If you're familiar with the AEVPM, then you should know that, of


Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
Thanks Jimbo, I'm familiar with the pro cal. It offers more for an auto tranny though but I will get one for getting the light off my dashboard.
The eight different functions it has---modifying the auto shift points, is only ONE of those functions-all the other ones are applicable to the JK/JKU manual/auto-stock/modified and I've seen that they're available for the 2012 JK/JKUs-

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 11:53 AM   #9
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
If you're familiar with the AEVPM, then you should know that, of




The eight different functions it has---modifying the auto shift points, is only ONE of those functions-all the other ones are applicable to the JK/JKU manual/auto-stock/modified and I've seen that they're available for the 2012 JK/JKUs-

JIMBO
So your saying it offers ONE more thing for Autos vs Manuals.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:00 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Heh Heh, you seem tobe having a serious cranium malfunction-


Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
So your saying it offers ONE more thing for Autos vs Manuals.
Unless you've had an accident, you should be able to count to twenty, without using a calculator !!

Keepyerpowderdry

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:02 PM   #11
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
So your still saying it offers more for the Autos.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:03 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
--BINGO-can't fool you !


Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
So your still saying it offers more for the Autos.
JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:36 PM   #13
Sponsoring Vendor
 
EAD Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
You can even control your engine rpm, with the "Dome Light" dimmer-
Google it-
I never knew that and I've had my procal for 3 years, I guess I should RTFM
__________________

EAD Offroad

Join us on facebook for special giveaways.
EAD Offroad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:37 PM   #14
MARGARET, 10-14-51\6-1-12

WF Supporting Member
 
GREEN-MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PEOPLES REPUBLIC OF MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 10,258
i did not need the tpms to tell me last friday morning to tell me i had a flat..... i knew right away it was flat,,,,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PRYBAR 001.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	227.3 KB
ID:	64189   Click image for larger version

Name:	PRYBAR 002.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	227.3 KB
ID:	64190  

__________________

life is too short to be taken seriously all the time,,,, go buy a MR.potato head and have some fun.
GREEN-MACHINE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:38 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Heh Heh, thats funny--


Quote:
Originally Posted by EAD Offroad View Post
I never knew that and I've had my procal for 3 years, I guess I should RTFM
Yes you can control the rpm, but there's a lotta restrictions and conditions, ya gotta meet-

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:41 PM   #16
Sponsoring Vendor
 
EAD Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 808
It's that a tire iron that killed the tire? Expensive no matter what!
__________________

EAD Offroad

Join us on facebook for special giveaways.
EAD Offroad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 12:59 PM   #17
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
GreenMachine,

The drive shafts you've had to replace, were they on JKs?
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 01:46 PM   #18
MARGARET, 10-14-51\6-1-12

WF Supporting Member
 
GREEN-MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PEOPLES REPUBLIC OF MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 10,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
GreenMachine,

The drive shafts you've had to replace, were they on JKs?
yes the front shaft went 3x im waitimg on my tom woods as i type this,, i need 250 bucks to order it.. i hope to pick that money up this week
__________________

life is too short to be taken seriously all the time,,,, go buy a MR.potato head and have some fun.
GREEN-MACHINE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 01:52 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by GREEN-MACHINE
i did not need the tpms to tell me last friday morning to tell me i had a flat..... i knew right away it was flat,,,,
WTF u have a crowbar in it ? Are u sure it's flat?
__________________
Dirty Deeds ... Done With Jeeps!
Hellraiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 01:53 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by GREEN-MACHINE
yes the front shaft went 3x im waitimg on my tom woods as i type this,, i need 250 bucks to order it.. i hope to pick that money up this week
Whoever showed me the Tom Woods drive shafts should be shot! Lol
__________________
Dirty Deeds ... Done With Jeeps!
Hellraiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 01:54 PM   #21
MARGARET, 10-14-51\6-1-12

WF Supporting Member
 
GREEN-MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PEOPLES REPUBLIC OF MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 10,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellraiser View Post
WTF u have a crowbar in it ? Are u sure it's flat?
its a small pry bar,,,,,,, and it was only flat on the bottom
__________________

life is too short to be taken seriously all the time,,,, go buy a MR.potato head and have some fun.
GREEN-MACHINE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 01:56 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 2,798
Read your other post. Glad your getting a new one. Ya it's a little flat on da bottom. Lol. Don't forget to post picks of the new driveshaft so I can drool over it!
__________________
Dirty Deeds ... Done With Jeeps!
Hellraiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 02:02 PM   #23
MARGARET, 10-14-51\6-1-12

WF Supporting Member
 
GREEN-MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PEOPLES REPUBLIC OF MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 10,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellraiser View Post
Read your other post. Glad your getting a new one. Ya it's a little flat on da bottom. Lol. Don't forget to post picks of the new driveshaft so I can drool over it!
ok will do
__________________

life is too short to be taken seriously all the time,,,, go buy a MR.potato head and have some fun.
GREEN-MACHINE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 02:04 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 2,798
I think we are done here! lmao
__________________
Dirty Deeds ... Done With Jeeps!
Hellraiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 02:19 PM   #25
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,512
Green,

What was the height of the lift on the jeep/s that had shaft failures? Also, were they 2 door or 4?

__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS light NOT coming on? pas914 JK General Discussion Forum 11 07-07-2011 12:30 AM
TPMS question RaiderRUBICON JK General Discussion Forum 20 12-22-2010 12:50 PM
Dealer cant sync tpms with Jeep Boosta JK General Discussion Forum 12 12-21-2010 09:48 PM
running without tpms runway25 Tires & Wheels 2 12-05-2010 07:16 PM
Tpms???? ascinhawaii Tires & Wheels 5 01-22-2010 11:31 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC