Tpms sensors - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-07-2013, 02:55 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
AsimpsonJk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 188
Tpms sensors

Ill be gettin new wheels and tires and was wondering what people have Done about the tpms light? Is there a way to turn it off or is the only option getting them switched off of the factory wheels and put in the new ones?

AsimpsonJk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
BadOleRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lynchburg VA
Posts: 898
I had the factory sensors moved into my new wheels and then purchased a Pro-Cal to adjust the sensors to my new wheels.

__________________
2013 JKU True Blue, 4" Zone Lift, 35x12.5x17 Nitto Trail Grapplers, ION 171 Black and Machined Wheels
BadOleRoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 03:00 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
TPDJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 40
They are in the valve stems (silver colored, larger than normal stems). When I bought my Jeep, the aftermarket wheels and tires already had them on. When I switched to my "winter tires", I just had the service place use the existing sensors in the new wheels/tires. I'm not even sure if they charged me for it.
I am planning on getting a second set of four for the aftermarket tires so I don't have to get them mounted and balanced twice a year.
TPDJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 03:01 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Drmad7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: No longer in Afghanistan... Ohio
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by AsimpsonJk View Post
Ill be gettin new wheels and tires and was wondering what people have Done about the tpms light? Is there a way to turn it off or is the only option getting them switched off of the factory wheels and put in the new ones?
Every shop I have talked too(including the dealer) has said taking them out leads to breakage, so I bought some new ones off eBay. I have a 13 and they are not compatible with the '08 TPMS I have in my aftermarket wheels.
Drmad7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 03:11 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
AsimpsonJk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 188
So everyone is saying to switch them or buy new ones. Is it possible to have it just turned off in general?
AsimpsonJk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 03:14 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Drmad7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: No longer in Afghanistan... Ohio
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by AsimpsonJk View Post
So everyone is saying to switch them or buy new ones. Is it possible to have it just turned off in general?
I don't think so. I just have to hit the button every time I get in the jeep. Not having sensors put in until this weekend.
Drmad7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 03:14 PM   #7
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
kappaknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,290
Yeah, get a ProCal and set the warning threshold to zero.
__________________
2013 Commando Green JKUR
/_|o[____]o
[1---L-OllllllO
-
()_)()_)=°°=)_)
kappaknight is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 03:16 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
AsimpsonJk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by kappaknight View Post
Yeah, get a ProCal and set the warning threshold to zero.
Cool thanks I really don't need them. Just annoying that every time you air down it will be on until you air up. Rather just get rid of them all together. I check my tires regularly anyways.
AsimpsonJk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 04:05 PM   #9
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
brighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by kappaknight View Post
Yeah, get a ProCal and set the warning threshold to zero.
^^^This. The TPMS valves will fail over time and they are expensive to replace. Plus, if you air down frequently, the TPMS is more trouble than it's worth.

Just get a Procal, set the TPMS to zero, and ditch the valves, or don't have them installed in the first place. I was originally told Discount Tire wouldn't mount my new tires without the valves, but it wasn't an issue for me. I sold my stock tires with the TPMS valves and it made them more attractive to buy.
__________________
'10 JKU Mango Tango 6sp
brighton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 04:15 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
AsimpsonJk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 188
Thanks for all the help guys. I've been looking around and can't really find a proCal for 2012 or newer any one have a kind they could post for me?
AsimpsonJk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 04:16 PM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
brighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by AsimpsonJk View Post
Thanks for all the help guys. I've been looking around and can't really find a proCal for 2012 or newer any one have a kind they could post for me?
AEV Conversions 30406007AE - AEV ProCal Module for 07-13 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec

I've never seen it listed anywhere else for any other price. I ordered mine through Q-tec about 4 months ago, and it had a sticker on the box that said "2013 Ready"
__________________
'10 JKU Mango Tango 6sp
brighton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 59
I'm getting new wheels, do I even need to put new ones in or am I going to have to deal with the tire pressure light all the time without them?
__________________
2008 Rubicon 2 door
Eds08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 04:30 PM   #13
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
brighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eds08 View Post
I'm getting new wheels, do I even need to put new ones in or am I going to have to deal with the tire pressure light all the time without them?
You don't need to put new valves in (or transfer the valves from the old tires) if you turn the system off (set the threshold to zero) with a Procal.

If you leave the valves out and don't turn the system off, you will have the annoying light on all the time.
__________________
'10 JKU Mango Tango 6sp
brighton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 04:33 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
JerryJeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lakewood Ranch
Posts: 1,334
Procal is the way to go. Change shift points, adjust speed and blank out tpms light. Mine was 2013 ready and was bought for my 2012. Qtec has them for $150 and free shipping for forum members. May find one used for less, just make sure it has been reset.
JerryJeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 05:33 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Drmad7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: No longer in Afghanistan... Ohio
Posts: 617
This news to me! I didn't know ProCal could do all that. Man I love this forum!
Drmad7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 05:36 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 59
What if I just reused mine from my 17s to my new 15s?
__________________
2008 Rubicon 2 door
Eds08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 05:46 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
mtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 133
I just had the shop i went to transfer the ones from my stock wheels to the new wheels,i haven't any problem.
mtnbiker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 05:51 PM   #18
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
brighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eds08 View Post
What if I just reused mine from my 17s to my new 15s?
Yes you can transfer them to the new tires. Still have to deal with the annoying TPMS warning light whenever you air down, unless you have a Procal and reset the threshold to a lower level. When i still had my stock tires with the TPMS valves, I set the threshold at 18 psi when I got my Procal, since that is what I typically air down to.

Plus, they will eventually fail. On my wife's car it took about 3 years for the first one. The second one a year later. I swore i would get rid of them on my Jeep when I had the opportunity.
__________________
'10 JKU Mango Tango 6sp
brighton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 01:23 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Sandtrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Western MA
Posts: 183
I was told that if I got new 33x12.5x15's on 15" wheels and filled them to 30psi and had TPMS on the new wheels they would reset in 24-48 hours and work as intended w/o reprogramming...is this true?? i run stock 17" alloys and 255/75R17 right now..

Sandtrooper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC