Trying to get stock DVD unit to work while moving. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-18-2011, 09:15 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Vici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BA, Oklahoma
Posts: 249
Trying to get stock DVD unit to work while moving.

I have a 2007 Sahara with the stock nav/dvd unit. I would like to find out how to get it to work while vehicle is in motion. Has anyone had success with this? I've done an aftermarket dvd system by just grounding it to a bolt on the vehicle instead of the provided wire from the vehicle. Would this work with the stock unit? Thanks ahead of time.

Vici is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2011, 09:20 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
ZOMB1E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 483

__________________

ZOMB1E is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2011, 02:01 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RB-10rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princeton area in new jersey
Posts: 1,349
Lockpick is the only way i know .ive tried what you did not very safe to drive and watch but its for the passenger i even tried setting ebrake slightly and moving theres a motion sensor of some type built in .didnt want to spend money for that but it is annoying you cant type an adress in while driving but you can scroll through your music! Makes no sense good luck
RB-10rubicon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2011, 09:39 AM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
I wonder if the lockpick will work on my new 2011 Sahara?
brado32 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2011, 10:13 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 62
Images: 2
Could you use a 12v relay instead of a $200 setup? On my pioneer i used a 4 pin relay. Ground 86 & 87, remote wire to 85, and parking brake wire (from head unit) to pin 30.
cedarcreekjerky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-26-2011, 07:22 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Lockpick fools the car (computer) into thinking it is going 0 mph. Everything else, like the nav still works as intended. If the work around were as easy as grounding or relay it would be known by now, and Lockpic would not continue to develop for Jeeps.
Jollydodger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-27-2011, 12:05 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
wlee3372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: By Ft. Worth
Posts: 107
This is a well beaten path, for stock, Lockpic is the only way. However, if you happen to find a way (less than $200), let me know!!!!!
__________________
Bat Jeep
wlee3372 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-27-2011, 06:25 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 81
NavTV and CoastalEtech (Lockpick) are your two options. I am running the NavTV unit and I'm real happy with it.

Ben
__________________
Ben Hedrick
2014 3.6L Rubicon X - Expedition build, 2005 4.0L Wrangler LJ (soon to be a Brute), 2011 6.4L AEV 392 HEMI JK Unlimited Rubicon (sold), 2003 6.4L AEV Arrington HEMI Brute, 2010 6.1L AEV HEMI JK Unlimited Rubicon (sold), 2007 5.7L AEV HEMI JK Unlimited Sahara (sold), 2002 4.0L AEV Brute (sold)
BenHedrick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2011, 03:21 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlee3372 View Post
This is a well beaten path, for stock, Lockpic is the only way. However, if you happen to find a way (less than $200), let me know!!!!!
I got one for $175 free shipping on eBay.

Jollydodger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the rear stock tire mount work for a 35 inch tire that is 12.5 inches wide? 200 filmnews General Jeep Discussion 6 07-17-2011 05:13 AM
Stock Nav/DVD unit. Hard Reset? Vici JK General Discussion Forum 1 04-19-2011 03:53 PM
Budget sound improvement on STOCK Radio and Speakers jrohan07 JK General Discussion Forum 13 02-03-2011 03:16 PM
Can I put stock Infinity Speakers on my Stock Non-Infinity RES stereo? levosgien Communications and Electronics 10 08-04-2010 07:13 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC