Trying to replace hazard switch, can't find online - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-18-2012, 06:17 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
Trying to replace hazard switch, can't find online

Previous owner attempted to install a switch on my hazard buttons and lost one of the covers. It seems the hazard button itself is also broken as there is no spring to it and it doesn't activate the hazards. I took the buttons out and there is a slew of numbers on the back but I can't seem to get any of the mopar part sites to take any of the numbers. Can anyone help me out with getting the correct replacement switch pod?



flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
JIMBOX is on a distinguished road
Did you call the service dept. at your dealer and ask for the Gr. part#/price-or if they listed/stocked individual parts ??

JIMBO

__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:23 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
EAD Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 811
EAD Offroad is on a distinguished road
It's a complete assembly and as far I can tell you can't buy just the switches.
__________________
Join us on for special giveaways
EAD Offroad is offline   Quote
 
Old 05-18-2012, 06:25 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Did you call the service dept. at your dealer and ask for the Gr. part#/price-or if they listed/stocked individual parts ??

JIMBO
I did and he said his computer was down but his guess was $50, I was hoping to find it cheaper at one of the mopar parts stores and bypass the dealer.
flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:27 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAD Offroad View Post
It's a complete assembly and as far I can tell you can't buy just the switches.
Ya thats fine, I'll buy the assembly if I can just figure out which part it is.

Closest I can find is this list, but can't tell which one is the one I need... none of them sound right and it doesn't list part numbers for me to compare.

Jeep Parts Mopar: Jeep: Wrangler: 2010: Console: Console: Console Base

EDIT: Eh that link isn't right, but if you type in hazard in the search bar there are about 5 that come up.
flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:54 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
bengen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis County
Posts: 818
bengen1 is on a distinguished road
bengen1 is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:02 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
bengen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis County
Posts: 818
bengen1 is on a distinguished road
or maybe this wich as a schematic, not sure your exact year and model...enter it and it should list
Switches - Instrument Panel. Fits: 2010 JEEP WRANGLER SAHARA 4x4, 3.8L V6 SMPI, 4-Spd. Automatic VLP 42RLE Trans | FACTORY CHRYSLER PARTS
bengen1 is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:46 PM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengen1 View Post
or maybe this wich as a schematic, not sure your exact year and model...enter it and it should list
Switches - Instrument Panel. Fits: 2010 JEEP WRANGLER SAHARA 4x4, 3.8L V6 SMPI, 4-Spd. Automatic VLP 42RLE Trans | FACTORY CHRYSLER PARTS
See none of those look right. I don't have sway bar disconnect or lockers or headlamp levelers. I'd just get one and note connect the switch, but it looks like they all go through one plug so getting the correct assembly is important.
flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 09:35 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Box Elder, SD
Posts: 1,999
bbtj is on a distinguished road
Looks like, from what I can find, it depends on whether you have a 2door or a 4 door. See if this helps: http://www.gmb.be/CJD_parts/CD5/Catalogs/06-09/11jk.PDF

I think you will find what you need on page 146, which should be section 8-805.
bbtj is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 09:50 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 56
ironaria is on a distinguished road
how did you get the switches out? photos?

can a switch actually be added to one of the blank spots?

thanks
ironaria is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:52 AM
Thread Starter
  #11
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironaria View Post
how did you get the switches out? photos?

can a switch actually be added to one of the blank spots?

thanks
There is a circuit board behind all the blanks. So there is no room for an aftermarket switch. I think thats what the previous owner must have realized after he got the blank off.
flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 03:45 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 56
ironaria is on a distinguished road
now that's a useless design. who's the bonehead who thought putting blank switches that can't be used was a good idea? this is a jeep, it's gonna have more stuff put in that needs switches.
ironaria is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 03:56 PM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironaria View Post
now that's a useless design. who's the bonehead who thought putting blank switches that can't be used was a good idea? this is a jeep, it's gonna have more stuff put in that needs switches.
I ended up going to the dealership and spent $50 on a new switch... well see if they got the right one ordered. But in the meantime i'll open this up and see what the board looks like. Just cause there is a long board in there that COULD be used for switches doesn't mean it is. Might be able to chop the board down and use the empty space.

I'll let you know what I find.
flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 05:31 PM
Thread Starter
  #14
Jeeper
 
flyhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 246
flyhigh is on a distinguished road
So it looks to me like on my switch pod atleast the board doesn't have much going on on the left side.



When you flip the board over there are some contact points for a button that doesn't exist. I'm not electrical engineer but I think you could get away with snapping that edge of the board off and then you'd have room for a single switch there.

flyhigh is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 07:29 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 56
ironaria is on a distinguished road
thanks, but looks like a no-go to me. break any one of those circuit lines and it could cause an open for one of the switches that are there.

stupid design. if they're going to make it look like usable places to put switches then they should be.
ironaria is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 11:37 AM   #16
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
UncleBilly is on a distinguished road
Hazard Lights

I know I am late to the party here but I recently installed a switch and USB ports into that assembly where the hazard lights button is, and like some other people on here I also found that once reinstalled, the hazard button didn't work. No parts were lost, everything was put back together properly, but as the original post mentions, the button has no spring and doesn't activate the lights. I found a fix for this, aside from buying a whole new bank of buttons.

Find 2 identical clicky pens, I used TD bank pens because there is a spring in the front and in the back. The spring in the back is shorter and fatter, and fits nicely over the posts on the inside of the hazard button (see image) You will need to cut the springs down just a TINY bit, but basically those springs push on the rubber gasket, allowing it to contact the circuit board. It can be a tad finnicky, so make sure it works before you reinstall that whole dashboard panel. I did this to mine and the hazards work fine now. I couldn't even guess why it stopped working in the first place but at least it is working now. I hope this helps the few people out there who have this problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.JPG
Views:	270
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	2895721  
UncleBilly is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 09:38 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
WillyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 2,007
WillyD is on a distinguished road
__________________
Yukon 4.56, F&R TrueTrac, TFlex 2.5" coil, 35x12.5 KO2, TF adj. rear trackbar, TF exhaust spacer, Rancho 9000s, AEV GEObracket, Poison Spyder Diff covers, RR XHD Bumper, Factor 55 ProLink, GraBars, RR Hood catch, RI Dually LED , Smitty Atlas Rear bumper, Level 8 Punch, TNT Tramp stamp, TNT Pump bracket, Cobra 75, 5' FireStik , Q11000s winch, T-L Heated LEDs, Putco LED fogs, RR Spartan Grille, ACE(Lifetime LED) 50" bar, MCE flat fenders, RR A-Pillar Switch pod, JWS LED rears, 10A Hood, 4680lbs
WillyD is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 03:14 AM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 6
del4 is on a distinguished road
UncleBilly, can you provide some details on the switch and USB ports you added to this switch assembly?

del4 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC
« Back

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner