Uconnect microphone installed! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-27-2011, 09:38 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Jeffd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 278
Uconnect microphone installed!

We bought our 08 jk sahara in March and as soon as we got it home we realized the uconnect did not work. Turns out for whatever reason there is no microphone. So I did some searching and found out that all you need to buy is a microphone to get the uconnect to work.

So I purchased the microphone, and had it installed in about 30 mins. I couldnt belive how easy it was.

In order for the radio to recognize your voice you will need to go into the diagnostic menu to activate the voice recognition. Do this by pressing the menu and both seek keys at the same time. Scroll down to page 5 and the last option is for the voice recognition.

After the voice recognition is enabled its just a matter of pulling the radio out and plugging the mic into the back of the radio. Once its plugged in, just put everything back togethet and your good to go. I decided to mount the mike just to the left of the radio on the dash.

Best part is there was no need to go to the dealer for any kind of system update or activation. Once everything was put back together, I was able to pair my phone to the uconnect and make calls. It was that easy! Btw I have the RER radio with nav. Let me know if you have any questions.

Jeffd34 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2011, 01:20 PM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
So you didn't need the dealer scan tool?

Can you tell me where you got the mic? Just got my jeep this past weekend and was frustrated that there wasn't a mic installed already. Going to put that and the ipod cable in sometime soon.

thanks

jrkillion is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2011, 05:11 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jeffd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 278
I ordered the mic from justforjeeps.com, do a search for mopar uconnect microphone and the part should come up. I can post the part number when I get home later tonight. There is no need for any rescan or update from the dealer. The uconnect module is built into the radio. All you need to do is plug in the mic and go to the diagnostic menu by hitting both seek buttons and the menu button, and enable voice recognition. It took less than an hour to do everything. You can even change the radio station with your voice once its hooked up.
Jeffd34 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2011, 05:44 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
RogerW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 121
Jeffd34, Which model radio do you have?
RogerW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2011, 06:04 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jeffd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 278
Its the RER with nav, single disc.
Jeffd34 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2011, 06:55 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks.
jrkillion is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 02:11 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Peaceful Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 30
Our ’09 has what is referred to as a RES radio, called a uconnect studio. Single cd, MP3/WMA, mini input and SIRIUS. Wondering why this would not also work? Any thoughts?
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats." - H.L. Mencken
Peaceful Pirate is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 06:41 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Jeffd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 278
This is the link for the mic:UConnect Microphone Kit - Item # 82211743AB
Jeffd34 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 06:46 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Jeffd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peaceful Pirate View Post
Our ’09 has what is referred to as a RES radio, called a uconnect studio. Single cd, MP3/WMA, mini input and SIRIUS. Wondering why this would not also work? Any thoughts?
I know that on my radio the uconnect module is inside the radio. Some of the radios, possibly yours the uconnect module is located behind the glove box. If you do not have one already there, then you would need the module. If that is the case you may need this:Mopar UConnect Phone Bluetooth Wireless Hands Free Kit - Item # 82212159, 82212499, 8221175AB, 82211878, 82211877, 82211879 & 82207853AF
Scroll down and you will see a part for the RES radio. A bit pricey, but it should work for you.
Jeffd34 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 06:47 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
seelye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: chesapeake va
Posts: 686
do you know where the factory mic is supposed to be located?
__________________
2011 sahara unlimited bright white
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...ara-88641.html
Just
Everyday
Excited
People
seelye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 06:52 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Jeffd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by seelye View Post
do you know where the factory mic is supposed to be located?
I believe the factory mic was in the rear view mirror.
Jeffd34 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 08:12 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
seelye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: chesapeake va
Posts: 686
thanks but wasnt there,,i found it in the top of the a-pillar though.
__________________
2011 sahara unlimited bright white
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...ara-88641.html
Just
Everyday
Excited
People
seelye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2012, 06:18 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlanta now...NC born/raised
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peaceful Pirate View Post
Our ’09 has what is referred to as a RES radio, called a uconnect studio. Single cd, MP3/WMA, mini input and SIRIUS. Wondering why this would not also work? Any thoughts?


The RES unit doesn't have the touchscreen or Navigation

sircody is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UConnect for Wrangler DGriz JK General Discussion Forum 25 03-14-2014 08:47 PM
uconnect self install harness question Jpinetti JK General Discussion Forum 17 08-09-2011 09:10 AM
I am sure this Uconnect question is not new... Twinjayhawks Communications and Electronics 1 03-16-2011 10:07 PM
UCONNECT Installation Problems jd1980 Communications and Electronics 3 09-09-2010 02:36 PM
1st JK mod: my CB antenna is installed. jk'n JK General Discussion Forum 51 11-01-2009 11:40 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC