Ugh, so the 2014s have "enhanced" EVIC w/ Trans temp - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-12-2013, 09:08 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Ugh, so the 2014s have "enhanced" EVIC w/ Trans temp

I am patiently waiting for my order to come in hopefully this week. I tried to get it in before the cutoff so that I'd have it for summer and save a few bucks thinking there weren't going to be any big changes...
I was on the fence with EVIC due to price and not really wanting extra gadgets to go bad later, now I see they added Transmission temp monitor on it. I will be pulling my boat long distances and I've always had a Trans temperature gauge so would probrably add one, now I find out I could have had it integrated...
I bet the cost increase would be wiped out by cost of adding one after the fact...
So, while I'm on the subject, what are the best options for adding one after the fact?

Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
chris4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Ultra gauge. 70 bucks and it monitors all functions, reads codes, and more.

__________________
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, "You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done."
chris4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 09:31 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
And it does Trans temp? It doesn't list teans temp on their website (which is pretty cheesy). I thought only the scan gauge did...
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 09:39 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Rmcroslin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Currently NM
Posts: 51
I was guessing the premium evic would appear on the 14's. most likely just a programming change in the computer code anyway. I think for pulling, I would rather have a dedicated temp gauge always visible, along with a few other gauges.

Some high $ tuners have that, but I say a gauge pod of some sort with the info YOU want to be able to see at a glance. My new 10A will have the premium evic and I am still considering a gauge pod setup down the road.
__________________
13 JKUR
13 10A JKUR White/Red -LOST DUE TO DEALER FRAUD
09 JKUR, 2" lift, 33" BFG AT - trade in
85 CJ-7: basically stock owned since '94
Plus 5 4x4 trucks
US Army since 1989 - still in
Rmcroslin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 10:47 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
chris4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnburner View Post
And it does Trans temp? It doesn't list teans temp on their website (which is pretty cheesy). I thought only the scan gauge did...
IARC, it monitors trans temps if the ecu has the data. I have one, so I'll hook it up and verify.
__________________
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, "You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done."
chris4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 10:50 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Ok thanks that would be great
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 11:16 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: knee deep in the rust belt
Posts: 228
if you have an android device you can get a wireless obd2 Bluetooth adapter (ebay or amazon) and pair it with https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...l.torque&hl=en
this will give you trans temp as well as a host of other features
2footin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 11:20 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2footin View Post
if you have an android device you can get a wireless Bluetooth adapter (ebay or amazon) and pair it with https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...l.torque&hl=en
this will give you trans temp as well as a host of other features
Thanks but I have an iPhone...
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 11:23 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: knee deep in the rust belt
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnburner View Post
Thanks but I have an iPhone...
there is a torque app for iPhone but i hear that the android version is better
2footin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 12:56 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
There is a thread going on about these two apps and it doesn't appear to work on the new transmission only the pre '12 from what I was reading.

They seem pretty cool and def worth the cheap price, but I really want a decent trans temp monitor.
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 01:23 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,905
+1 if anyone has a trans temp monitor for the 12's and 13's then please post here. It is a make it-or-break it component of correctly doing a fluid change on the automatic transmission.
__________________
2013 Commando Green Freedom Edition JKU
2013 Billet Freedom Edition JK
legitposter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 01:23 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
bflank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 514
ScanGuageII will give you transmission temp if the vehicle is providing it on the OBD, although it is a bit of a pain to set it up initially. Once it's been set up it works smoothly with no more effort.
__________________
blflank
'09 Wrangler Unlimited X
Red with mud accents.
bflank is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 01:30 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
jeffbab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 117
FYI, I have torque paid version and it won't show trans temp on my android tablet. Ticks me off as that is kinda what I wanted it for.
jeffbab is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 01:51 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by bflank View Post
ScanGuageII will give you transmission temp if the vehicle is providing it on the OBD, although it is a bit of a pain to set it up initially. Once it's been set up it works smoothly with no more effort.
Are you saying that from experience on your '09? I can't seem to find where it will for '12 and up...
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 03:51 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
I called Scangauge and they said they thought they had the correct codes for the '13 Wrangler transmission temp readings, but haven't recieved any feedback as to whether they work or not.
She said if they didn't there were a couple more you could email for. Sounds like its worth a shot...
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 04:44 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Rmcroslin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Currently NM
Posts: 51
As of this afternoon - I am even more interested in a gauge pod. Dealer called and said I am NOT getting a 10A with the new display. Would have been delivered in three days. Yes, had a signed contract. IAMJEEP shows in our name and delivered already.
__________________
13 JKUR
13 10A JKUR White/Red -LOST DUE TO DEALER FRAUD
09 JKUR, 2" lift, 33" BFG AT - trade in
85 CJ-7: basically stock owned since '94
Plus 5 4x4 trucks
US Army since 1989 - still in
Rmcroslin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 04:46 PM   #18
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
SilverSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19,298
Send a message via Yahoo to SilverSport
How did we ever get along without gadgets like the EVIC and all we had were gauges on the instrument panel. LOL
__________________
"Own a Jeep and own a piece of history."

"The Hunter is not concerned with the opinion of the Wolf."
SilverSport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 05:08 PM   #19
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Knuckles65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,176
__________________
2013 Commando Green JK Rubicon
-------------------------------------------------
Remember - sometimes, the advice you get on the Internet is worth exactly what you paid for it!
Knuckles65 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 05:16 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSport View Post
How did we ever get along without gadgets like the EVIC and all we had were gauges on the instrument panel. LOL
Last I saw, there was no Trans temp gauge (or oil pressure, or much of anything really) on the dash, hence why I am looking for one.
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 05:52 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 62
This maybe a silly question but is a tranny temp gauge necessary on a manual transmission?
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 06:12 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
chris4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mi1knc0okies View Post
This maybe a silly question but is a tranny temp gauge necessary on a manual transmission?
No, but Ive seen manual trannys that have them. Its hard to over heat a manual tranny on a small vehicle.
__________________
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, "You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done."
chris4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 06:34 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Phoenix, Rattlesnake Country
Posts: 2,727
I had a set of Stewart warner gauge installed on my 1954 Oldsmobile, because all it had from the factory was Idiot Lights. Here we are in 2013, and what we get from the factory today isn't much better.
I guess, that it was just way to much needed effort, for Chrysler/Jeep to install a oil pressure gauge in our Wranglers, HELLO CHRYSLER, WAKE UP............................
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 06:48 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: In The Hot South West AZ
Posts: 972
In a hot climates like Arizona, gauges, providing that they are accurate, are a real plus!
Miser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 10:35 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Trek7.2FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 123
An oil pressure gauge would be nice. Even my old YJ had that.
Trek7.2FX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 08:11 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knuckles65 View Post
This - mounted in the sPod bezel - works great!
Thanks, but that with the gauges is going to run $500+.
Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 08:32 AM   #27
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
SilverSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19,298
Send a message via Yahoo to SilverSport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trek7.2FX View Post
An oil pressure gauge would be nice. Even my old YJ had that.
Many newer model vehicles are set up so if the engine loses oil pressure it will go into limp mode or shutoff all together. Not sure if the 3.6 is like this but it would explain the reason for not having a factory oil pressure gauge.
__________________
"Own a Jeep and own a piece of history."

"The Hunter is not concerned with the opinion of the Wolf."
SilverSport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 12:02 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Trek7.2FX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSport View Post

Many newer model vehicles are set up so if the engine loses oil pressure it will go into limp mode or shutoff all together. Not sure if the 3.6 is like this but it would explain the reason for not having a factory oil pressure gauge.
If that is the case, then I guess there are actually some benefits from having a somewhat advanced computer controlling almost everything.
Trek7.2FX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 12:38 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Phoenix, Rattlesnake Country
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSport View Post
Many newer model vehicles are set up so if the engine loses oil pressure it will go into limp mode or shutoff all together. .
Before any engine damage takes place?
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 01:49 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trek7.2FX View Post
If that is the case, then I guess there are actually some benefits from having a somewhat advanced computer controlling almost everything.
Does it do the same if the Trans overheats? Doubt it, and I probrably wouldn't trust the engine shutting down either.

I am going to be pulling in the upper end of the tow limits for long distances in the Florida heat. I have always had a Trans temp gauge on my automatics since I started this. If its a multi gauge that monitors other stuff, that's cool, but not my main priority. I really would like a small discrete gauge (or digital monitor) that doesn't look out of place. I hate to put something that looks like an after thought in a brand new Jeep...

Barnburner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC