USB power - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-18-2012, 12:39 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
USB power

Anyone know the power output rating for the USB port in the center console? Is it USB standard 500mA or something else? I just got a new Droid Razr and it requires a bit more juice than 500mA to power up and I was hoping to use the USB port as a power source

__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2012, 01:25 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4D4R View Post
Anyone know the power output rating for the USB port in the center console? Is it USB standard 500mA or something else? I just got a new Droid Razr and it requires a bit more juice than 500mA to power up and I was hoping to use the USB port as a power source
Page 78 of my 430N (RHB) manual says:

"The USB terminal can provide power to the inserted device. The current draw from these devices must be limited to 500mA or less."

That covers the one on the stereo itself. There's no mention of the one in the center console that comes as part of the uConnect package, though I imagine it's the same.

All that said, I'd bet peeps plug their Droids into the USB port all the time.

__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2012, 01:39 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
1quick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,151
Not exactly sure but i can tell you it takes considerably longer to charge my iPhone than a wall plug but that is pretty much always the case when comparing the two.
1quick1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2012, 03:44 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
The Uconnect USB is rated at 500 mA, I haven't seen any complaints about being able to charge anything other than an iPad. They take 1 amp to charge.
The Chargers that come with an iPhone is rated at 5V/ 1 amp. This is why it takes longer to fully charge the iPhone in the vehicle than the wall charger.




Quote:
Originally Posted by 1quick1 View Post
Not exactly sure but i can tell you it takes considerably longer to charge my iPhone than a wall plug but that is pretty much always the case when comparing the two.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2012, 03:48 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
Hmmz. To add a wrinkle into my USB conundrum, when I went to connect the phone for the first time today I didnt get anything. I did have it on the "Charge Only" setting, so maybe that was an issue. Will try again later
__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2012, 04:29 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
Hmmz...still issues.
The RAZR has four different options when I plug it into my PC USB, Charge, sync, PC and media storage. I plugged it into the console USB using all four of those settings and didnt get any notification of connection on the phone. Not sure if this is a phone or Jeep issue. The console port is lit so it is getting power :/
Ill start a new thread to get some more traffic
__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2012, 04:32 PM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4D4R View Post
Hmmz...still issues.
The RAZR has four different options when I plug it into my PC USB, Charge, sync, PC and media storage. I plugged it into the console USB using all four of those settings and didnt get any notification of connection on the phone. Not sure if this is a phone or Jeep issue. The console port is lit so it is getting power :/
Ill start a new thread to get some more traffic
PM xsdbs (guy in post #4). He has vast knowledge of such things.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2012, 03:14 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
Hey Karl, how's it going? Good I hope. Well I didn't get a pm but I saw this earlier today.

I picked this phone up today from a friend to test and the phone does show a charging indicator. If the battery is low, then you will see the green bar motion across the battery from left to right. As for having audio play thru the USB, I have sent an email to Motorola about this issue. This feature does work with my Samsung Galaxy & a couple of LG phones. I will let you know more when I get a reply.
One strange thing that I did notice also is:
If I have the vehicle powered down and listening to the media player (phone is in my hand and I'm listening thru the phone) when I turn the key on, the radio powers up and then the phone connects thru BT. The media player goes right into streaming mode even if I am in radio mode.
This does not happen with other phones that I have tested with Uconnect either. So needless to say, Motorola has a couple issues.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf View Post
PM xsdbs (guy in post #4). He has vast knowledge of such things.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2012, 12:26 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
Thats interesting that you got your phone to power up on the USB. When I tried, I did not see any charging indicator at all. To add another wrinkle, I took just a regular ol thumb flash drive with a few MP3s on it to see if the radio was able to read it and I didnt have any luck with that either. Looks like something could be up with my USB port



Also, to add to this

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf View Post
Page 78 of my 430N (RHB) manual says:

"The USB terminal can provide power to the inserted device. The current draw from these devices must be limited to 500mA or less."

I have the 130 RES+RSC radio, not a navigation unit.
__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2012, 05:28 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
I can do a bit more testing on Monday on this.
Now you mentioned that the USB connector is lighting up, correct. Can you get me the build date for the vehicle? It'll be on the drivers door sticker, look for code "MHD".
As for your radio being the RES, this won't make a difference seeing how the Uconnect is an external module and the USB is connected to the module and not the radio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R4D4R View Post
Thats interesting that you got your phone to power up on the USB. When I tried, I did not see any charging indicator at all. To add another wrinkle, I took just a regular ol thumb flash drive with a few MP3s on it to see if the radio was able to read it and I didnt have any luck with that either. Looks like something could be up with my USB port



Also, to add to this




I have the 130 RES+RSC radio, not a navigation unit.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-23-2012, 03:39 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
I just did a SW update to the Droid, went to 6.11.748EN US. I'll need to try it on the Uconnect again later. Just wondering if you got the same update message today.
and if you've tried it.






Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
I can do a bit more testing on Monday on this.
Now you mentioned that the USB connector is lighting up, correct. Can you get me the build date for the vehicle? It'll be on the drivers door sticker, look for code "MHD".
As for your radio being the RES, this won't make a difference seeing how the Uconnect is an external module and the USB is connected to the module and not the radio.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-28-2012, 12:35 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
Thanks for looking into this. Both the phone and the Jeep are brand new. Jeep DOM is last month and the phone version is 6.11.748.xt912

I did a little more playing with it today and I am able to play music through the BT but no USB connection at all. Im not sure if I would get any power if I plugged a blank cable into the port, but I did and measured the +5 wire and Im not getting anything out of it at all. Not sure if it would always output +5 if nothing is physically connected, but I didnt get anything even though the bezel is illuminated. Also, with the phone plugged in just hitting the AUX/DISC button it went to BT and the second time I hit it, it just said No Disc. Not sure if it even looked at the phone/usb. The manual isnt very helpful in this description, but I hope Im doing everything OK. If not, maybe Ill bring it in one of these days to have it looked at. Its not a deal breaker, but I would really just like to be able to charge the damn phone through USB rather than getting a stupid 12v adapter plug. Do I have to go through some backend Uconnect voice prompt to activate it???
__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-28-2012, 07:53 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
The USB connector will show the 5 volts without anything plugged in. that's also what powers the LED lighting. I checked and rechecked the Razr that I borrowed and it showed charging when plugged into the USB connector. There is no Voice command to activate it. I have another issue with the Razr also that I'm reporting to Motorola. One of the ENGs that I know over there will be back in the office next week, so he should be getting back with me. I don't know if you've noticed that if you're playing the media player in streaming mode, switch out of the streaming mode to radio while looking at the media player screen timer. It will toggle between pause and play and continue to do that. The Uconnect send a "pause" signal to the phone but the phone is refusing to pause and tries to force play. Now, yes you can do a force stop by turning the BT off on the phone for about 30 seconds, then turn it back on, the problem will be the next time that you play the media player again. Now if you weren't aware that while you were in the vehicle and listening to the radio or CD, the media player will be killing the phones battery.
On the "being able" to play the media player thru the USB connector/ cable. I don't think that they are allowing the phones usb output to be used as a disc drive. It seems that it is for inputting but not outputting.
Anyway, I will be talking to Motorola next week.



Quote:
Originally Posted by R4D4R View Post
Thanks for looking into this. Both the phone and the Jeep are brand new. Jeep DOM is last month and the phone version is 6.11.748.xt912

I did a little more playing with it today and I am able to play music through the BT but no USB connection at all. Im not sure if I would get any power if I plugged a blank cable into the port, but I did and measured the +5 wire and Im not getting anything out of it at all. Not sure if it would always output +5 if nothing is physically connected, but I didnt get anything even though the bezel is illuminated. Also, with the phone plugged in just hitting the AUX/DISC button it went to BT and the second time I hit it, it just said No Disc. Not sure if it even looked at the phone/usb. The manual isnt very helpful in this description, but I hope Im doing everything OK. If not, maybe Ill bring it in one of these days to have it looked at. Its not a deal breaker, but I would really just like to be able to charge the damn phone through USB rather than getting a stupid 12v adapter plug. Do I have to go through some backend Uconnect voice prompt to activate it???
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 06:27 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
The USB connector will show the 5 volts without anything plugged in. that's also what powers the LED lighting.

Thats what I suspected. If Im not getting 5V then something is fubar. Ill just have them look at it when I bring it in for my complementary oil change next month. Thanks for looking into this. Ill report after it is looked at
__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 08:40 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Riccochet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Somewhere around Charlotte
Posts: 873
I have no problem with the USB on my Epic4g or my wife's Blackberry. BUT, it will not power my portable 2.5 hard drive. Which sucks since all my music is on that hard drive. I wanted to transfer some of it to the internal drive on the 430. No dice. Guess I'll be playing thumb drive jockey to transfer my music.

Oddly the USB port in my F150 powers that hard drive no problem.
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ ןןoɹ sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
Riccochet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 08:49 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Vroooom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sin-Tex
Posts: 1,679
Many USB "satellite" drives have a special cord with TWO USB plugs because they require more voltage than is available from a single USB port.
__________________
Threads wander aimlessly....always refer back to post #1
2012 Black Unlimited Sahara (mine)
2011 Black Corvette 3LT (wife's)
2005 Black Suzuki C50T (ours)
"Hope" is NOT a strategy
Vroooom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 09:58 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
I just use one of these from Belkin. It provides a full 1 Amp of output power.

__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 10:00 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
Do you know what the needed supply current is for that drive?
Also as Vrooom stated a lot of those HDs come with a dual USB connector pigtail. Does yours have it? I'm curious if you plugged one end into a lighter USB adapter and the other into the Uconnect USB if that would work?
On another note, you can't transfer the files to the internal 430 HD by using the Uconnect USB connector. That needs to be done using the USB connector on the face of the radio. It may also have a higher current supply rating.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Riccochet View Post
I have no problem with the USB on my Epic4g or my wife's Blackberry. BUT, it will not power my portable 2.5 hard drive. Which sucks since all my music is on that hard drive. I wanted to transfer some of it to the internal drive on the 430. No dice. Guess I'll be playing thumb drive jockey to transfer my music.

Oddly the USB port in my F150 powers that hard drive no problem.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 10:03 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
I use a laptop-


Quote:
Originally Posted by OH9JK View Post
I just use one of these from Belkin. It provides a full 1 Amp of output power.

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 11:03 AM   #20
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
I use a laptop-

JIMBO
Yeah, but you also carry a miniature hydroelectric dam complete with on-site power conversion in your Jeep, don't you?
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 11:11 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Vroooom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sin-Tex
Posts: 1,679
Miniature?

lol
__________________
Threads wander aimlessly....always refer back to post #1
2012 Black Unlimited Sahara (mine)
2011 Black Corvette 3LT (wife's)
2005 Black Suzuki C50T (ours)
"Hope" is NOT a strategy
Vroooom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 11:13 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Well, kinda, but


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf View Post
Yeah, but you also carry a miniature hydroelectric dam complete with on-site power conversion in your Jeep, don't you?
The Nuclear components are only suitcase size, but heavy !

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 11:21 AM   #23
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroooom View Post
Miniature?

lol
You know...the size of a steamer trunk.

Not Texas miniature.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 11:22 AM   #24
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Well, kinda, but

The Nuclear components are only suitcase size, but heavy !

JIMBO



Careful, the NSA is reading this.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 12:06 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Riccochet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Somewhere around Charlotte
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Do you know what the needed supply current is for that drive?
Also as Vrooom stated a lot of those HDs come with a dual USB connector pigtail. Does yours have it? I'm curious if you plugged one end into a lighter USB adapter and the other into the Uconnect USB if that would work?
On another note, you can't transfer the files to the internal 430 HD by using the Uconnect USB connector. That needs to be done using the USB connector on the face of the radio. It may also have a higher current supply rating.
No clue on the current. It's a Toshiba 1GB drive. Only came with one USB cable that does not split. So, it gets its power from 1 USB source. I tried both the armrest USB and the one on the head unit. Neither will fire it up. Just clicks.

I'm not overly concerned about it. I have a small drawer full of 8-16GB flash drives I can use to transfer music.
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ ןןoɹ sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
Riccochet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 06:31 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
I just reread your post. I'm not totally sure if the USB ground is the same as 12vdc chassis ground. You may need to measure the 5V(+) & 5V(-) directly out of the USB connector. It seems odd that if the USB lighting is working that there wouldn't be the 5V (+) & (-). I'm not saying that it wouldn't be possible, just odd.



Quote:
Originally Posted by R4D4R View Post
Thats what I suspected. If Im not getting 5V then something is fubar. Ill just have them look at it when I bring it in for my complementary oil change next month. Thanks for looking into this. Ill report after it is looked at
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 06:41 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,855
This was a typo, right.
Depending on how big your library is, it may be easier to pick the songs that you want on the flash drives and then transfer to the HD anyway. Especially seeing how the HD is 30GB.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Riccochet View Post
No clue on the current. It's a Toshiba 1GB drive. Only came with one USB cable that does not split. So, it gets its power from 1 USB source. I tried both the armrest USB and the one on the head unit. Neither will fire it up. Just clicks.

I'm not overly concerned about it. I have a small drawer full of 8-16GB flash drives I can use to transfer music.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 12:01 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 722
Time to dig this thread back up. I took my wife's blackberry out into the Jeep and the USB was able to charge that phone. At this point, I suspect the razr requires more power than the USB is able to supply. I know it needs more than 500ma to start charging it if it has a dead battery, so I think that may be the case
__________________
~ Luke
2012 JKU SportS
33x12.5x15 Goodyear Duratracs
MB72 Wheels
R4D4R is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 12:12 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
I have a TomTom that I use in my jeep/toyota and it has a charging cord/w USBport and 12vdc pwrplug, so I can plugit into the power recept and chargeit

There are a number of micro/mini charging cables/plugs and one is the TomTom universal car charger--Amazon, $15 bucks--

I know it's a PITA to have extra conn. crap laying around, but ya gotta do what ya gotta do !

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 05:30 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
Riccochet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Somewhere around Charlotte
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
This was a typo, right.
Depending on how big your library is, it may be easier to pick the songs that you want on the flash drives and then transfer to the HD anyway. Especially seeing how the HD is 30GB.
No typo. I have over 600GB worth of music. None of that crap AAC iTunes compressed with loss audio format. Every one of my songs is 320kbps. As lossless as I can get it. And, yes, there is a difference. I like to listen to whatever I'm in the mood for. Could be Barry White, could be Johnny Cash. Or maybe some Raekwon with a little Slipknot tossed in the mix.

You think my music collection is big? I have a 10TB RAID home server with nothing but movies on it.

__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ ןןoɹ sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
Riccochet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loosing power to radio, cig lighter, and turn ksplayland YJ Tech Forum 4 02-11-2012 05:11 PM
Power loss above 1/2 throttle, code 51 Roving.Richard YJ Tech Forum 2 02-12-2011 04:26 PM
1964 CJ5 Adding Power Breaks & Power maybe power steering mrbigglzworth CJ Tech Forum 0 01-17-2011 10:27 AM
Speakers Thump when power is turned off. danford1 Communications and Electronics 0 12-30-2010 01:05 PM
Power loss when wet ISUSteve YJ Tech Forum 6 12-27-2010 03:17 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC