Vehicle info display - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-09-2013, 07:20 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
TMO84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 83
Vehicle info display

Saw this in a Jeep Patriot...looks pretty cool, anyone know the brand or how it is to install?


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1480511828.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	155.1 KB
ID:	578378

TMO84 is offline   Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 07:43 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: FL
Posts: 137
Looks neat although I don't know about mounting it there.

I found this: UltraGauge OBDII Scan tool & Information Center

I imagine it just plugs into the obd connector and then you configure. Question is, is it 100% compatible and will it really report all those numbers.

I do wish the wrangler had a richer dash display that would show more info.

happyfirst is offline   Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 07:53 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,123
The EVIC will show a lot of this now. It comes as an option I believe. We have it on our 10A.


Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 09:12 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
wassup8687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,073
That's a nice little unit.
wassup8687 is online now   Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 09:14 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Central FL and GA Mountains
Posts: 293
I have it on mine. When it scans your Jeep, you can set up up to 60+ indicators on the 7 pages/screens available. Most of those I have no idea what they are. It cost around $69. I also found a good place for it, will post a picture tomorrow.
__________________
Gonzo's 2013 Jeep Wrangler
Gonzos Wrangler is offline   Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 09:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
ahsumtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 541
Went to Site

Looks like it doesn't work on Wranglers that are 2009 or newer. Too bad, looks pretty cool.
ahsumtoy is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:16 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Tribefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwbronco View Post
The EVIC will show a lot of this now. It comes as an option I believe. We have it on our 10A.


Bob K.
I think the 2013's started the expanded amount of info in the EVIC. I know my 2012 doesn't have nearly as much info as this.
__________________
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sport
Banks Power Monster Exhaust & Cold Air w/Superchips Flashpaq
Paramount Restyling Modular Front Bumper w/Engo E9000 Winch
Mountain Edition Wheels w/285/70R17 Goodyear Duratracs
Kenwood DDX-419 DVD Receiver w/Kicker Speaker Upgrade
Some other minor upgrades & mods...
Tribefan is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:35 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Central FL and GA Mountains
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahsumtoy View Post
Looks like it doesn't work on Wranglers that are 2009 or newer. Too bad, looks pretty cool.
Yes it does. Mine is a 2013 and it's working very well. This is where I installed it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20131210_092845.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	220.8 KB
ID:	579770  
__________________
Gonzo's 2013 Jeep Wrangler
Gonzos Wrangler is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:42 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: FL
Posts: 137
Our 2014 EVIC has access to lots more info than the older ones but it's only one at a time.

IMO, all cars should have a display that at a minimum can show avg mpgs and distance to empty at the same time. Ideally, I'd even like the inst mpg too. I really like how our Durango evic has a mode for avg mpg, with a inst mpg bar (and arrow highlighting the avg) and also distance to empty, all at once.
happyfirst is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:44 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: FL
Posts: 137
I noticed some of these "OBD displays" come in a HUD model. I wonder how well those work.
happyfirst is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 10:30 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonzos Wrangler View Post
Yes it does. Mine is a 2013 and it's working very well. This is where I installed it.
It doesn't do Trans temp from what I understand, is that correct?

What mount is that? It looks good up there. How is it in sunlight w top off?

Barnburner is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC