What gauge is winch wire usually? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-09-2012, 03:10 PM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,059
What gauge is winch wire usually?

I remember installing my friends q9000 winch on his JKU, and the wiring was barely long enough, and required questionable routing. I want to route it my way, and for that to happen, I will need to extend the wires. Just wondering what gauge wire is winch wire? If memory serves, it looked like 4 gauge.

NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:11 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
SilverSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 23,922
Send a message via Yahoo to SilverSport
IMO, at a minimum it should be 2 ga.

__________________
"Own a Jeep and own a piece of history."

"The Hunter is not concerned with the opinion of the Wolf."
SilverSport is offline   Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:13 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSport View Post
IMO, at a minimum it should be 2 ga.
Hmmm...it's two gauge? I didn't think it was that thick, but I guess you may be right.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:18 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
SilverSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 23,922
Send a message via Yahoo to SilverSport
2 ga, not 2/0 ga. 2/0 is much thicker.
__________________
"Own a Jeep and own a piece of history."

"The Hunter is not concerned with the opinion of the Wolf."
SilverSport is offline   Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:30 PM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,059
Can I use something like this? Slice off the QTEC wires and run these instead?

WARN 26405 Quick Connect Power Cable : Amazon.com : Automotive
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:40 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 293
I went to Advance Auto and picked up some "bulk" battery cable. It was 2/0. Price was VERY reasonable. It was copper cable with clear coating.

I wanted to remote mount my control box under the hood. I think it took about 30ft. Cleaned up the front end and works great. Note the black loomed cables next to the air box.... that is the cable.

Few pics...


__________________
2012 Winter Chill JKU
05 Daytona Blue 350Z
03 Sonic Blue SVT Lightning
steed77 is offline   Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:37 PM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,059
Thanks. I think those Warn cables will serve my purpose. I like their plug in jumper cables as well. Seems like it is worth the ease of use. Thanks!

NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC