where did you mount your aux switches - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-13-2012, 01:28 PM   #31
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
-JC-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wenatchee WA
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmb6420 View Post
I used the daystar. I had to replace the shifter boot so it wouldn't hit the switches.
Why can't you just use the unused places in the stock switch panel seen in the upper part of this pic?

__________________
'12 JKR
Metalcloak Duroflex 3.5"
OME shocks
35X12.5X17 BFG KM2 on Blackrock Vipers
Hardrock Front and rear full width bumper w tire carrier
M8000s winch
-JC- is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 02:57 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
Budphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
I used the wired hdh switches. cheaper than spod. However does not have relays. Works well and looks cool.


Budphoto is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 03:23 PM   #33
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
basecamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budphoto View Post
I used the wired hdh switches. cheaper than spod. However does not have relays. Works well and looks cool.

Your right that looks very cool
__________________
2012 JKUR Black Forest Green
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/bas...ld-128626.html
basecamper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 03:43 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
max-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budphoto View Post
I used the wired hdh switches. cheaper than spod. However does not have relays. Works well and looks cool.

Those are cool, and I love the price. But how much current can they switch without a relay?
max-1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2012, 11:05 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
Mopar2Ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 873
Daystar switch panel & black PlasmaGlows:

__________________
2012 JK U R Crush (Specs in profile)
Pics: http://s1243.photobucket.com/profile/mopar2ya2/index
2006 GC(WK) SRT8 gone
1970 Charger R/T somewhere in pieces
Mopar2Ya is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-08-2012, 09:19 PM   #36
KG1
Jeeper
 
KG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 64
Images: 3
Where did you get the switches with the indicator labels?
KG1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-08-2012, 09:22 PM   #37
KG1
Jeeper
 
KG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 64
Images: 3
Did you just cut out or drill the hole. I would like to do the same thing in the stock A pillar.
KG1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2012, 11:05 AM   #38
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 195
Anyone think the plasmaglow switch could fit in the blank beside my heated seat switches in a 2012?
JKUCRUSHMIKE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2012, 12:51 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
4fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 2,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKUCRUSHMIKE View Post
Anyone think the plasmaglow switch could fit in the blank beside my heated seat switches in a 2012?
The heated switch buttons are located in the main panel with the hazard button and such, correct? If so, then I would think not. There is a circuit board that runs the full length of that panel.
__________________
-Jeff-
'11 JKU Sport - TF Leveling Kit - 16" Strike 5s on 33s
4fit is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2012, 01:17 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
Mopar2Ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by KG1 View Post
Did you just cut out or drill the hole. I would like to do the same thing in the stock A pillar.
I used a hole saw.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4fit View Post
The heated switch buttons are located in the main panel with the hazard button and such, correct? If so, then I would think not. There is a circuit board that runs the full length of that panel.
A side note: The PlasmaGlo switches are fairly deep, ~1.5".
__________________
2012 JK U R Crush (Specs in profile)
Pics: http://s1243.photobucket.com/profile/mopar2ya2/index
2006 GC(WK) SRT8 gone
1970 Charger R/T somewhere in pieces
Mopar2Ya is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2012, 02:22 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
-----sPOD---

Can'tbeatem

JIMBO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelsey73 View Post
^^^^^^^ awesome advice right there
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf View Post
What these guys said.

Attachment 108381

You can tell from my switch color that I'm volatile and prone to butting heads with authority.
Gives your Jeeps more of a flight deck appearance, I like it!
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 09:15 AM   #42
Jeeper
 
ORNGCR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by -JC-

Why can't you just use the unused places in the stock switch panel seen in the upper part of this pic?
This is a great question! Are there any buttons/switches that would blend in well in that panel with the stock switches? Or is the main reason most don't do this is because it's harder to work with the wiring down there?

I'm about to hook up my KC rallylights and don't have a need for an SPOD for the foreseeable future...just need to connect one switch.
ORNGCR8 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 09:48 AM   #43
Jeeper
 
2012-Rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,885
I personally got the rugged ridge A pillar mount and the daystar center mount. I chose to use the rugged ridge one. Daystar is in the closet....only reason, I like putting my wallet in the net pocket that gets replaced with the Daystar panel.
2012-Rubicon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 10:08 AM   #44
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 590
Im thinkin' as my Jeep upgrades progress, I'll need atleast 5 switch positions if I get everything: front locker, rear locker, offroad lights, air compressor, winch. Am I forgetting something useful?
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 10:18 AM   #45
Jeeper
 
cocky grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage Orange
Im thinkin' as my Jeep upgrades progress, I'll need atleast 5 switch positions if I get everything: front locker, rear locker, offroad lights, air compressor, winch. Am I forgetting something useful?
Transformer button?
cocky grin is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 10:21 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
ORNGCR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage Orange
Im thinkin' as my Jeep upgrades progress, I'll need atleast 5 switch positions if I get everything: front locker, rear locker, offroad lights, air compressor, winch. Am I forgetting something useful?
On board air would be nice...now that I think about it!
ORNGCR8 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 01:12 PM   #47
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 246
How easy was it to get the wiring up behind the switch panel? From memory, there is not much space there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar2Ya View Post
Daystar switch panel & black PlasmaGlows:

__________________
Detonator Yellow CRD Unlimited
Aussie Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 01:23 PM   #48
Jeeper
 
jknate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie Jeepster
How easy was it to get the wiring up behind the switch panel? From memory, there is not much space there.
Tons off room. I have the same setup
jknate is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 01:43 PM   #49
Jeeper
 
Mopar2Ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie Jeepster View Post
How easy was it to get the wiring up behind the switch panel? From memory, there is not much space there.
There's a little space where the 4WD shifter goes through. I used lots of zip ties. Getting the Daystar panel in there was a bit tricky, pop the center console up first, the Daystar panel needed a little force to get it to pop in place.
__________________
2012 JK U R Crush (Specs in profile)
Pics: http://s1243.photobucket.com/profile/mopar2ya2/index
2006 GC(WK) SRT8 gone
1970 Charger R/T somewhere in pieces
Mopar2Ya is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2012, 02:05 PM   #50
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,192
where did you find these? touch switches? look great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Budphoto View Post
I used the wired hdh switches. cheaper than spod. However does not have relays. Works well and looks cool.

silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-28-2012, 09:54 PM   #51
Jeeper
 
harry c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: american falls idaho
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4fit
The heated switch buttons are located in the main panel with the hazard button and such, correct? If so, then I would think not. There is a circuit board that runs the full length of that panel.
Thinkin bout putin a switch in that same spot but your saying that the panel behind my hazard and traction control button has a circiut board attached to it correct?
harry c is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-28-2012, 10:16 PM   #52
Ex Navy man
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,767
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-28-2012, 11:17 PM   #53
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 39
If you don't install a sPOD with otrattw.com Contura V switch covers.... you're not doing it right.
ebuglet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-28-2012, 11:54 PM   #54
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4fit View Post
I have always planned to stick with the stock pillar and use plasmaglow switches. They make them in black as well, which is what I would go with personally. They are sorta pricey, but they look great. Of course, if I was going with tons of accessories, I would go with something like the sBox.

This is not my Jeep, but just an example of the plasmaglow switches.

I run plasmaglows as well. Love them. Excellent build and feel. They also look great.
NFRs2000NYC is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-29-2012, 12:44 AM   #55
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,192
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-30-2012, 03:19 PM   #56
KG1
Jeeper
 
KG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 64
Images: 3
sPOD

Click image for larger version

Name:	Jeep 5-12 005.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	204.7 KB
ID:	136748
KG1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-30-2012, 03:41 PM   #57
VS1
Jeeper
 
VS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 70
I also went with SPOD w/ air gauge.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-178759360.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	129.8 KB
ID:	136752  
VS1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-01-2012, 08:26 AM   #58
Jeeper
 
cavsvet74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville
Posts: 1,276
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by -JC- View Post
Why can't you just use the unused places in the stock switch panel seen in the upper part of this pic?
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry c View Post
Thinkin bout putin a switch in that same spot but your saying that the panel behind my hazard and traction control button has a circiut board attached to it correct?
The factory switch panel as a circiut board behind it's entire length. There is no switch to replace a blank spot with. Any drilling to install a switch into the blank spot will result in damage. You will then need to replace the ntire switch panel.
__________________
Determination: the feeling you get right before you do something incredibly stupid.
cavsvet74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-01-2012, 12:15 PM   #59
Jeeper
 
harry c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: american falls idaho
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavsvet74

The factory switch panel as a circiut board behind it's entire length. There is no switch to replace a blank spot with. Any drilling to install a switch into the blank spot will result in damage. You will then need to replace the ntire switch panel.
Alrighty thanks man
harry c is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-12-2012, 07:59 PM   #60
Jeeper
 
snobnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 121
For the black plasmaglo blue ...do I order the latching switch for my kc lights

__________________
I could be ADDICTED to worse things
Ordered 2012 JKU 3/28
Confirm email 4/2
Production sched 4/10
Left the plant 4/27
Arrive at dealership 5/7
snobnk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First thing you can think of... Hexxum Off-Topic 59472 Today 11:39 AM
Show me your switches tbensor TJ General Discussion Forum 47 04-02-2012 07:04 AM
Post your dirty pics Bostonk2c Massachusetts Jeep Forum 7 03-28-2012 07:15 PM
What are the best seats you've ever owned? MuddUSA TJ General Discussion Forum 54 03-26-2012 03:01 PM
33s what gears do you run jeepdude2003 TJ General Discussion Forum 19 03-25-2012 10:26 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC