Where to mount cb radio - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-12-2014, 12:11 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Ndig29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 185
Where to mount cb radio

Just got my cb and deciding where to mount it at.. Any suggestions?

Ndig29 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 12:36 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Scott2373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Williamson, NY
Posts: 1,134
Many folks on this forum mount it to the Footman loop on the windshield frame. There are specific mounts used for this.

__________________
2013 Sport in Commando Green
3.73 Gears, A/C, 6-Speed
/_|o[___]o
[I---L-OllllllO
-
()_)()_)=°°=)_)
MOLON LABE
Scott2373 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 12:46 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
trailless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 559
I attached it to the footman loop in the center. I have no problem using the freedom tops and the soft top.

I used 2 insulated 3/8" clamps. Two 3/4" L brackets and some nuts and bolts. I mounted the clamps on the middle footman loop. Then market a spot for a new hole on the mounting bracket that Cobra provided. Then it's pretty straightforward from there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20140412_134547.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	977706   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20140412_134603.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	124.2 KB
ID:	977714  

trailless is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 02:12 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailless View Post
I attached it to the footman loop in the center. I have no problem using the freedom tops and the soft top.

I used 2 insulated 3/8" clamps. Two 3/4" L brackets and some nuts and bolts. I mounted the clamps on the middle footman loop. Then market a spot for a new hole on the mounting bracket that Cobra provided. Then it's pretty straightforward from there.

I have the same exact Cobra (love it!) and attached it's bracket to the very bottom of the glove box door with two screws. It doesn't hit the passengers at all.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	224.6 KB
ID:	977889  
HeyQT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 03:09 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
trailless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyQT View Post

I have the same exact Cobra (love it!) and attached it's bracket to the very bottom of the glove box door with two screws. It doesn't hit the passengers at all.
Nice place to put it. Out of the way and the mic is still reachable.

I thoroughly wnjoh my CB. Truckers are some funny people.

Also one time I was on CH. 19 asking if there were any cops on I-75 N. Then a cop radios in and says that they have a big accident to go to so he wouldnt be bothering, "you guys". By you guys, I think he was talking about truckers.
trailless is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 06:49 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Jklucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 72
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-705658657.jpg
Views:	207
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	978825

Overhead. No issues yet. Mines screwed to the window frame with a bracket I made + cb mounting bracket
Jklucas is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 07:21 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
MSpiegel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
I have mine mounted right next to to my right knee, on the side of the center divider. It has a bottom firing speaker, so the output gets spread out. It's nice and convenient to change settings on it, and I find it a little more comfortable to rest my knee against it when I'm driving, so my leg stays more vertical, rather than putting a little extra torque on my knee when driving long distances. I'll see if I have a picture laying around somewhere.
MSpiegel00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2014, 07:23 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
MSpiegel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20140412_202313.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	156.0 KB
ID:	978889
MSpiegel00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2014, 10:15 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Upsfeederdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 103
I originally had mine mounted to the footmans loop, but got tired of it shaking (never seemed 100% stable) and it seemed the mic cord was always managing to get in my way, so I moved it to the passenger side of the console and couldn't be happier.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3827713273.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	131.2 KB
ID:	980810



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1260266630.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	980818
Upsfeederdude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2014, 04:46 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 24
I have the 510Xl and also want to put mine down on the passenger side of the center console. I'm not sure the best way to actually attach the mounts, though. Did you use the little screws that came with it? They don't seem like they would hold well. I'm wondering if it would be better to get little, short bolts and nuts instead. For the console, I could reach my fingures underneath to get the nut threaded, however, for the mic mount on the dash that would not be so easy. I've also been toying with using Velcro.

I'm hoping the answer is as easy as: "Use the little screws that came with it. Just drill a tiny pilot hole and then screw the screw in."
Pattle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2014, 06:09 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Jkuone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattle View Post
I have the 510Xl and also want to put mine down on the passenger side of the center console. I'm not sure the best way to actually attach the mounts, though. Did you use the little screws that came with it? They don't seem like they would hold well. I'm wondering if it would be better to get little, short bolts and nuts instead. For the console, I could reach my fingures underneath to get the nut threaded, however, for the mic mount on the dash that would not be so easy. I've also been toying with using Velcro.

I'm hoping the answer is as easy as: "Use the little screws that came with it. Just drill a tiny pilot hole and then screw the screw in."
Quadratec sells a bracket for that mounting, works great
__________________
2013 JKU | 2 1/2 AEV lift | 4:56 gears | AEV / Expedition one bumpers| chromoly axle shafts|
Currie Adj control arms| EVO Sliders| KMC Wheels/Duratrac 35's| ARB locker/ Trutrac| Warn Winch| Rockhard / AEV skids | synergy TR, DL |
Jkuone is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2014, 06:52 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Sixpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 329
Put mine inside the glovebox and I'm using a Uniden wireless mic. Fit great eventually but there was some cutting involved, a smaller CB would fit a lot easier.


__________________
2013 JKU Rubicon - Commando

Teraflex 2.5" spring lift, Teraflex monster front and rear trackbars, G2 wheel adapters, Goodyear Wrangler MTR Kevlar 35 x 12.5 x 17, Superchips Flashcal, Warn Zeon 10, Smittybilt XRC bumpers front and rear with tire carrier, Metal Cloak Overland Fenders, Uniden Bearcat 980, Homemade side rails. 50" and 20" light bars and brackets.
Sixpack is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2014, 07:05 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
mwmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Grifton, NC
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to mwmoon
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyQT View Post
I have the same exact Cobra (love it!) and attached it's bracket to the very bottom of the glove box door with two screws. It doesn't hit the passengers at all.
That's where I put my Uniden PRO520XL when I had my TJ, and that's where I put it a few weeks ago when I installed one on my JKU. Great spot for it.
mwmoon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2014, 09:09 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Ndig29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 185
I propped mine in my center console powered by a terminal inverter off the cigarette lighter, ran mic and pa wire out the factory indents in the sides and put the mic holster bracket on the side of the 4wd selector knob plastic housing next to my leg
Ndig29 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2014, 07:23 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Senojelyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 388
Put mine here with some hardware from Lowes. Like it up out of the way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2631926703.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	108.6 KB
ID:	1091801  
Senojelyk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2014, 07:36 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
TLowry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Santa Fe, TX
Posts: 100
I'll post this again, it's in another thread asking the same question.

__________________
Some Pics

Some Tunes
TLowry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2014, 12:10 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Tusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fresno
Posts: 15
Mine is in a similar position to Ups (passenger side center consol) but I made a little braket the attaches to the seat mounting bolt so nothing is screwed into the jeep. Im sure it vibrates when driving, but I never notice.
Tusk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2014, 12:13 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 21
Has anyone installed in their center console? I have a trash thing that slides into my rear cup holders so I was thinking about seem melting out the plastic at the rear of the console since I won't be able to see any of that with the trash thing there. Thoughts?
ZB370 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2014, 01:16 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
GreenMachine13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,059
I mounted mine on the passenger side of the center console.

It has quick disconnect wing nuts for easily removing the Radio (assuming you've also added quick disconnects for the wiring).

For the Uniden 510XL radio:
Quadratec Exclusive JK-CBM11 - Quick Disconnect CB Radio Mount for 07-14 JeepĀ® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK with Uniden Pro 510XL Radios - Quadratec

For full size radios:
Quadratec Exclusive JK-CBMU - Quick Disconnect CB Radio Mount for 07-14 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK with Full Size CB Radios - Quadratec
GreenMachine13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2014, 08:59 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
OLLLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 194
I mounted mine on top of my Tuffy under seat storage on the passenger side. I glued velcro strips to the radio and to the box and mounted the CB like that so I can take it out fairly easily if I want. I add an extension to the mic cord and mounted the mic mounting clip on one of the heat vents. That way, when I'm not using the radio (I only use it on the trails), I can flip the vent around and conceal the clip. It works really well.
For the record, I have the Uniden pro 520XL
OLLLO is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2014, 03:59 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
mastrcruse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 657
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenMachine13 View Post
Anyone know if this mount will work with a cobra classic 29LTD?
__________________
'14 Anvil JKU Sport S | RK 3.5" X factor | 18" Rugged Ridge wheels w/ rock rings| 325/65-18 Duratracs| Rancho 9000xl| Grade 8 bolt upgrade| PSC diff covers|Rancho steering stabilizer| Bestop twill supertop| PSC Brawler Lite with brawler bar front bumper| Warn Zeon 12
mastrcruse is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2014, 05:59 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Lithium Lotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 848
I have mine mounted like this. It's a Cobra 18WXS radio.



I replaced the factory radio with a Sony single DIN radio and the Cobra. I used a double DIN dash install kit. The 18WXS is the same size as a single DIN radio and fits perfectly. The only downside to this set-up is that you can't run both the CB and radio at the same time as the radio waves can fry the electrical boards in both radios. I'm planning on relocating the CB overhead somehow.
Lithium Lotus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2014, 09:07 PM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
SteedGun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah - A Jeep Friendly Place
Posts: 1,070
I bought this bar from Arizona Rocky Road. It is held in place using the bolts on the door surrounds. This enables me to easily remove it when I like.

ARIZONA ROCKY ROAD ANTENNA MOUNTS FOR JEEP WRANGLER, UNLIMITED AND LIBERTY


__________________
Molon Labe - Carry on!
SteedGun is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC