Where to mount switches in JK? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-02-2014, 07:49 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fishkill, NY
Posts: 120
Where to mount switches in JK?

The more things I want to do with my new 2012 JK, the more roadblocks I run into. Seems like everything I hope to do is no where as simple as it should be in this JK.

I bought a nice Mopar light bar to mount on the bumper and I plan to add 3 lights to it, 2 flood and one long range light. Forget the fact that NYS laws may give me a hard time with this, I have a bigger issue, where to mount the 2 light switches?

I was going to mount them where the traction control and flasher switches are but someone told me that the dash is not blank behind them but has some kind of circuit board. And unlike other SUVs I have had, I don't see any other places on the dash to drill holes for the switches. And I don't really want to spend $400 on SPOD just to have 2 light switches.

So I am open to ideas; where did you mount YOUR switch? Thanks like always for your input. You guys are the best!

JC

joecatch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 08:39 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 3rd Planet, Sol system
Posts: 2,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecatch View Post
I was going to mount them where the traction control and flasher switches are but someone told me that the dash is not blank behind them but has some kind of circuit board. And unlike other SUVs I have had, I don't see any other places on the dash to drill holes for the switches. And I don't really want to spend $400 on SPOD just to have 2 light switches.
The Daystar replacement panel, the one below the factory traction/flasher switches, is less than $20.



__________________
Current Jeep:
2014 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon X
Previous Jeeps:
1987 Wrangler Laredo
1999 Cherokee Limited (Up Country,Trailer Tow)
[All custom ordered, purchased new]
WaltA is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 08:51 AM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 09:40 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fishkill, NY
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltA View Post
The Daystar replacement panel, the one below the factory traction/flasher switches, is less than $20.


Great idea but I have the 6 speed manual 8-(

JC
joecatch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 09:51 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
fdisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fort Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 674
I've got three KC hilites on the Rugged-Ridge bumper light bar(same as the Mopar) hooked up to one switch; installed above the driver's side dash speaker. Cheap/Easy.

sorry: sideways photo.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140402_064806.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	221.4 KB
ID:	941842  
fdisker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 09:54 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
Plasmaglow switches. If you go this route I would advise taking the half dash off. The switches are 3/4" round so be brave and drill away

Click image for larger version

Name:	switch1.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	109.9 KB
ID:	941850

Click image for larger version

Name:	0124141855b.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	941858
monkeychow is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 09:56 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
derf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,366
I put my switches on the A-pillar using this pod:

Rugged Ridge 17235.58 - Rugged Ridge A-Pillar Switch Pod for 11-14 JeepĀ® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec

It just snaps in place of the factory pillar cover and takes just a couple minutes to install.

You have to cut out the holes for the switches you use so you don't have to fill in all of them if you don't want to.

The nice part about this pod is that the wires drop down right to where you can easily run them through to under the hood. Because you (and I) have a manual transmission, we can't use the hole the clutch comes through. If you pop the side panel off the dash you will see a hole and some foam insulation. You just push a straightened coat hanger through that hole and use it to pull the wire through. There's even a nice place to put a ground wire for the switches right there.
__________________
2012 JK - 3.6/NSG370/NP241/D30/D44 - Grimm Jeeper
1986 J10 - 360/700R4/NP208/D44HD/D60FF - Truck Norris

My gear ratio calculator
derf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 10:00 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
TrueBlueJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeychow View Post
Plasmaglow switches. If you go this route I would advise taking the half dash off. The switches are 3/4" round so be brave and drill away

Attachment 941850

Attachment 941858
I like this idea
TrueBlueJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 10:39 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBlueJK View Post
I like this idea
thanks

if you want some pointers of how to do that (especially with 5 buttons) just ask. you will need a dremel tool...
monkeychow is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 10:47 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
That looks awesome. Which panel/switches is that?
nboucher98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 11:15 AM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Where did you get this one....must have it.
hypnojw is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 11:28 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fishkill, NY
Posts: 120
Thanks guys. The Rugged Ridge with switches for $52 on Amazon looks like the easiest way to go. I looked into the Daystar pod but they dont seem to have one for a 2012 like mine.

My last concern is routing the wires to under the hood. I guess once I take the A pillar off I'll see what you are talking about...

JC
joecatch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 11:43 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
wassup8687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,036
I also used the Rugged Ridge A pillar mount.

wassup8687 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 11:48 AM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by nboucher98 View Post
That looks awesome. Which panel/switches is that?
That is a rugged ridge pod with custom switches from OTRATTW

give jim a call he can get you everything for a very reasonable price. he can even do custom stuff like i have.
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 11:59 AM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post

That is a rugged ridge pod with custom switches from OTRATTW

give jim a call he can get you everything for a very reasonable price. he can even do custom stuff like i have.
Awesome. Def. A must have
hypnojw is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 12:24 PM   #16
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
ArcsJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 88
I mounted my switches in the driver's side A-Pillar plastic.....on-the-cheap if you have a radio shack near you they are under $5 each, it's Model: 275-731 (25Amp red led rocker switch)
ArcsJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2014, 08:20 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
joecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fishkill, NY
Posts: 120
Got the Rugged Ridge switch panel installed along with the lights today. Came out pretty good...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jeeplights2.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	217.3 KB
ID:	983306   Click image for larger version

Name:	jeeplights1.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	190.8 KB
ID:	983314  

joecatch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2014, 08:29 PM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecatch View Post
Got the Rugged Ridge switch panel installed along with the lights today. Came out pretty good...
Very nice....
hypnojw is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2014, 09:03 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Davidfromcypress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 52
I used the Spod and mounted the switches over the rear view mirror. Now I can add and delete whatever I want and not need to retire inside the cab.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	123.8 KB
ID:	983506  

Davidfromcypress is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC