Why soundbar won't sound good with stock amplifier - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-12-2012, 12:10 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Ronrad, you've came to the same conclusion I have as far as trying to keep the amp in place.

It's GARBAGE the way Jeep/Infinity set it up.

Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 12:39 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
chris.george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 774
Now I got it.

Basically (as I've discovered in a different area with their software) is that the software on the head unit itself is pretty badly done. Or I guess, if you view it from Chrysler's perspective, well done to keep people out. It's beyond me why they'd want to do this. But more reason to figure out an "open source" solution that people could contribute to.

__________________
First, gather your facts; then, distort them at your leisure.
— Mark Twain
chris.george is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 12:45 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
The more I read this forum the more it seems that I should just tare the system out rather than try to improve on something that is this poor to start with.
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 12:54 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Well, I looked up under the the dash and seen no amp. I had the 130 unit but it has been replaced. Saying that I still don't have any rear speaker volume and was hoping it was a simple amp replacement.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 01:03 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
On a bright note, you can all now tell your significant others that this system needs replaced not improved upon. (unless you just do the drop-ins, which is slighly better)

I did discover that two Alpine amps will fit in the cargo tray rather neatly. One for the sub, and one for the four channel.

Also, I learned that the factory sirius antenna works with aftermarket tuners if you take the outer shell off the plug.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 01:17 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
ronrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by rics1997
Well, I looked up under the the dash and seen no amp. I had the 130 unit but it has been replaced. Saying that I still don't have any rear speaker volume and was hoping it was a simple amp replacement.
The amp is only there if you had the infinity system from factory.
ronrad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 01:20 PM   #37
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,748
Images: 13
The amp used in the Infinity system is actually are really good amp. It is just absolutely neutered by software, and you can't swap it out because the amp is "mated" to the head unit and the vehicle itself to an extent.

Even if 368watts is peak, the 7 speakers in the Wrangler W/Infinity should sound awesome....if it were set up right and you could control it. It would be incredible if the owner could simply swap the speakers and could adjust the gains and crossover levels (which are all available in the amp...but locked out to the owner).

OK...back to lurking....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 01:24 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
ronrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruise missile
On a bright note, you can all now tell your significant others that this system needs replaced not improved upon. (unless you just do the drop-ins, which is slighly better)

I did discover that two Alpine amps will fit in the cargo tray rather neatly. One for the sub, and one for the four channel.

Also, I learned that the factory sirius antenna works with aftermarket tuners if you take the outer shell off the plug.
Actually I'm pretty impressed with the sound that I have so far using the stock radio with this setup. We will see how much better I can make it with all the other pieces I have yet to install and I need to test a direct input into my jbl processor from a high quality source to see how much difference the source will make
ronrad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 06:11 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
ronlara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 22
Hey guys been looking around online and found this.

How to Upgrade your sound system while retaining factory head unit (infinity) - JeepForum.com

Check it out might help
ronlara is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 06:19 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
The amp used in the Infinity system is actually are really good amp. It is just absolutely neutered by software, and you can't swap it out because the amp is "mated" to the head unit and the vehicle itself to an extent.

Even if 368watts is peak, the 7 speakers in the Wrangler W/Infinity should sound awesome....if it were set up right and you could control it. It would be incredible if the owner could simply swap the speakers and could adjust the gains and crossover levels (which are all available in the amp...but locked out to the owner).

OK...back to lurking....
Can you explain?
__________________
Past Jeeps: 71 CJ5 (225V6) | 01 Wrangler Sport | 04 Wrangler Sport
Current:12 Crush Rubi 4dr | 6spd | heated leather Katzskins w/orange accents | Garmin 430
Highway eater: 2006 V70R | Quick car: 2008 Lotus Exige S
JandS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 06:29 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 437
Has anyone looked into reflashing the headunits to get around the problem?
__________________
Past Jeeps: 71 CJ5 (225V6) | 01 Wrangler Sport | 04 Wrangler Sport
Current:12 Crush Rubi 4dr | 6spd | heated leather Katzskins w/orange accents | Garmin 430
Highway eater: 2006 V70R | Quick car: 2008 Lotus Exige S
JandS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 08:34 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
I tried contacting the dealer today I will let.you know what I learn
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 09:23 PM   #43
Jeeper
 
ronrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve31
I tried contacting the dealer today I will let.you know what I learn
I heard back from mine today and he said that its not possible. Looking at the threads about stock head unit I have a feeling if I went to stock I might actually have worse sound due to lost low end
ronrad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 07:13 AM   #44
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
So if I was to start fixing my system and put a new amp into the stock system that currently does not have an amp would that help anything?
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 07:59 AM   #45
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve31 View Post
So if I was to start fixing my system and put a new amp into the stock system that currently does not have an amp would that help anything?
Yes. The catch is you'll need to add something like the Re-eq from MTX to correct the bass reduction put in by the factory. It would also convert the speaker level inputs to RCA for ease of wiring in an amp.

The re-eq would go in-line between your factory head unit and the amp you install.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:01 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
j0nx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NoVa
Posts: 848
My idea is to do the same thing steve. I'd like to replace the speakers with polks and add a smaller 4 channel alpine amp to the stock radio. I have no real idea how to do the install yet but will probably try it at some point this year. You will probably need an LC6i or equivalent line output converter to do it though.
__________________
Natural Green 2012 JKU Sport with S Package | Freedom Top | Auto | Side Steps | Max Tow | Connectivity | Remote Start
j0nx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:01 AM   #47
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
so where is the best place to start if I have pretty much decided to rip the entire system out in pieces and upgrade everything? With the head unit itself?
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:06 AM   #48
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nx View Post
My idea is to do the same thing steve. I'd like to replace the speakers with polks and add a smaller 4 channel alpine amp to the stock radio. I have no real idea how to do the install yet but will probably try it at some point this year. You will probably need an LC6i or equivalent line output converter to do it though.
The re-eq restores the bass and converts the speaker level output to RCA.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:08 AM   #49
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nx View Post
My idea is to do the same thing steve. I'd like to replace the speakers with polks and add a smaller 4 channel alpine amp to the stock radio. I have no real idea how to do the install yet but will probably try it at some point this year. You will probably need an LC6i or equivalent line output converter to do it though.

that is my understanding too. But I was thinking that if the LC6i is 120 or so, that is about what I'd spend (ok maybe half) of what I would spend on a decent head unit. And if I'm trying to upgrade the sound, why keep the source where the sound is not so good? So I maybe ripping out the head unit if it seems like putting in the amp would make it more expensive to do. I'm really just trying to keep this as low budget as I can and still get good sound. Which pains me because every other car I have owned has always had top of the line stereos.
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:09 AM   #50
Jeeper
 
j0nx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NoVa
Posts: 848
Depends on how much you want to spend. My reason for keeping the HU is cost. All those wire harness adapters for the steering wheel, BT, satellite, etc add up quick not to mention the cost of the HU itself if it supports BT, XM, etc. Just the parts alone for my midrange Polk speakers, amp, LC6i, wiring kits, etc will probably be $750 or more. You can easily add another $1200 to that for a decent HU that has XM, BT, USB, etc with harness adapters and that's if you do the work yourself.
__________________
Natural Green 2012 JKU Sport with S Package | Freedom Top | Auto | Side Steps | Max Tow | Connectivity | Remote Start
j0nx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:12 AM   #51
Jeeper
 
j0nx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NoVa
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruise missile View Post
The re-eq restores the bass and converts the speaker level output to RCA.
I know it does cruise.
__________________
Natural Green 2012 JKU Sport with S Package | Freedom Top | Auto | Side Steps | Max Tow | Connectivity | Remote Start
j0nx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:14 AM   #52
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve31 View Post
so where is the best place to start if I have pretty much decided to rip the entire system out in pieces and upgrade everything? With the head unit itself?
Head unit is a perfect place to start. Planning ahead will also help. If you're planning to add an amp (I would) Make sure the head unit you choose has 4v RCA outs for running amps. This makes everything else subsequently easier down the line.

I personally wouldn't blow a huge wad ($2000) on a head unit. It's entirely possible though with some of the high-end Navi heads. Instead what I decided to do was to get a Pioneer AVH-4400bh ($479) double din non-navi DVD head. It has all the bells and whistles for a third of the cost.

Then spend some leftover jack on a separate navi that can do on and off-road navigation. One that runs on its own power and can be hiked with would fit the bill. (seriously, ever get lost hiking? Finding your camp makes this WORTH it!)
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:15 AM   #53
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,748
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JandS View Post
Can you explain?
With a normal HU/amp set up, all of the processing is controlled at the HU (Head Unit), and most multi channel amps have external gains and crossovers that can also be controlled by the user.

On the Infinty system, the CANbus is getting in the way.
Most of the processing is at the amp, and there are no external controls on the amp. The amp itself is a really good, but the controls are all locked away by Chrysler.

It is like buying a Wrangler with a Hemi, only to find out Chrysler locked it in 4 cyl mode.
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:17 AM   #54
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nx View Post
I know it does cruise.
Forgive me, I'm a bit caffeine deficient this morning.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:19 AM   #55
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
With a normal HU/amp set up, all of the processing is controlled at the HU (Head Unit), and most multi channel amps have external gains and crossovers that can also be controlled by the user.

On the Infinty system, the CANbus is getting in the way.
Most of the processing is at the amp, and there are no external controls on the amp. The amp itself is a really good, but the controls are all locked away by Chrysler.

It is like buying a Wrangler with a Hemi, only to find out Chrysler locked it in 4 cyl mode.
^^ So true.

I was disappointed that I couldn't accomplish what I was trying to do with that amp still in the system.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:47 AM   #56
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruise missile View Post
Head unit is a perfect place to start. Planning ahead will also help. If you're planning to add an amp (I would) Make sure the head unit you choose has 4v RCA outs for running amps. This makes everything else subsequently easier down the line.

I personally wouldn't blow a huge wad ($2000) on a head unit. It's entirely possible though with some of the high-end Navi heads. Instead what I decided to do was to get a Pioneer AVH-4400bh ($479) double din non-navi DVD head. It has all the bells and whistles for a third of the cost.

Then spend some leftover jack on a separate navi that can do on and off-road navigation. One that runs on its own power and can be hiked with would fit the bill. (seriously, ever get lost hiking? Finding your camp makes this WORTH it!)
I'm going basic basic with the head unit. I just want stereo, blue tooth, sirius and my steering wheel controls. I would even turn knobs instead of touching a screen .

The more I think about this project the more it gets complicated. I may just throw a sub on the system and call it a day. The radio doesnt sound that bad and a nice sub could round it out. (Ok we all know I'm lying to myself, I'm going to be putting the amp in and the sub too).
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 09:04 AM   #57
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Man, a head unit and amp is EASY!

The hardest part is running the power to the battery, and on a Jeep even that's easy.

I does get pricey pretty quick though, what with all the accessories/parts you inevitably need.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 09:08 AM   #58
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Alpine has a pretty cool amp that works with their head units. It's a tiny (for an amp) Box that plugs in to the head unit. That's what I used in my TJ and got compliments several times on the sound system.

Best part is with this set-up you don't have to run power. You just use the harness adapter.
Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 09:27 AM   #59
Jeeper
 
steve31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruise missile View Post
Alpine has a pretty cool amp that works with their head units. It's a tiny (for an amp) Box that plugs in to the head unit. That's what I used in my TJ and got compliments several times on the sound system.

Best part is with this set-up you don't have to run power. You just use the harness adapter.
I really like the alpine stuff. I got their type S speakers over the JBls because I like the alpine stuff. I'm getting the type R sub I think to. So all alpine sounds like a good time
steve31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 09:34 AM   #60
Jeeper
 
Cruise missile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 348
Alpine KTP-445 Power Pack Upgrade your Alpine receiver to 45 watts RMS x 4 at Crutchfield.com

This is that amp. They call it a power pack.

I just watched the video that Crutchfield has up on that link....

They put it in a Jeep! It's a sign......

Cruise missile is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for Pictures of JKU Sport with Rubicon Springs and Shocks mastenp JK General Discussion Forum 32 04-13-2012 07:05 PM
My 2012 JKU with most of my mods installed Westfork22 JK General Discussion Forum 30 04-11-2012 04:48 PM
Hunting with jeep Tcoletta19 JK General Discussion Forum 33 04-11-2012 05:01 AM
Can anyone recommend a good place to mount a machete? T-HUFF JK General Discussion Forum 63 04-08-2012 11:42 PM
good day with some WF folks n. of Tampa tabber02 JK General Discussion Forum 29 04-08-2012 08:05 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC