windsheild light wires - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-26-2012, 08:23 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
cocky grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 759
windsheild light wires

where you you guys with thed windsheild lights run your wires?? Can I get some pics? I'm thinkin bout getting lights soon

cocky grin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 08:29 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
zmotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 627
I don't have any pictures of my wiring alone but the wires are run under the front cowling and across the top of the firewall. I put some convoluted casing around the wiring to make them look as close to OEM as possible.

In my build thread you should be able to see some pictures of the wiring on my dual battery installation portion. That would be about as close to pictures of the actual wiring I will have. Maybe that will help.

Mike.

__________________
2011 JKU Rubicon
BDS Long-Arm System/ 17x9 ATX Crawl wheels/35" BFG KM2's/ Plus much, much more.

Click here to see my 2011 JKU Rubicon Build Thread
zmotorsports is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 09:03 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Don't stuffem in a crack-



JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 11:06 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Don't stuffem in a crack-


JIMBO

That's what she...oh never mind
__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 11:25 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
cocky grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX
Don't stuffem in a crack-

JIMBO
So whatcha do? Drill a hole and stick it in?
cocky grin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 12:01 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
-YUP, just depends on where you wantem-


Quote:
Originally Posted by cocky grin View Post
So whatcha do? Drill a hole and stick it in?
I've seen guys run the wires thru the windshield mount-

I choose my spot, because there's a 1/2" hole already in the body support, under the "cowl"-

--JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 12:13 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
cocky grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 759
alrighty also how hard is the wiring to inside the cab for the switches? What's involved with that?
cocky grin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 12:19 PM   #8
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
the Kolector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 2,574
I ordered the Warn W650D lights. They are wireless, meaning there are no wires to the switch, obviously there are still wires for installing the lights.
__________________
You Are The Result of 3.8 Billion Years of Evolutionary Success. Act Like It.
the Kolector is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 12:25 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Casotakar1229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Don't stuffem in a crack-



JIMBO

I did what jimbo did not. I fit them through the crack between the metal, snug but didn't squeeze them so tight where it would risk ripping them. didn't have a drill to make a hole that big.

I just zip tied the wiring to other conduit I saw inside the engine bay.
Casotakar1229 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 12:37 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
cocky grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 759
Is that little rubber looking plug wher you would run the wires into the cab??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120326_133719.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	216.8 KB
ID:	108366  
cocky grin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 01:54 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
I used this hole...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-06-26_16-26-17_812.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	146.5 KB
ID:	108382  
__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 01:56 PM   #12
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocky grin View Post
Is that little rubber looking plug wher you would run the wires into the cab??
^^Yup, goes into the cab there...

...and comes out there. vvv

Use a razor knife to cut a small hole in the plug, slide it over the wires, and fish the wires through with a coathanger.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OH9JK View Post
I used this hole...
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 02:15 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Kelsey73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf

^^Yup, goes into the cab there...

...and comes out there. vvv

Use a razor knife to cut a small hole in the plug, slide it over the wires, and fish the wires through with a coathanger.
Dang didn't use that one. Used the one next to the master cylinder like the sPOD directions said. Holes filled now though
__________________
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara- Bright White
Kelsey73 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 02:17 PM   #14
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelsey73 View Post
Dang didn't use that one. Used the one next to the master cylinder like the sPOD directions said. Holes filled now though
Eh...end result's the same.

What did you end up using to fill in the foam?
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 02:20 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Kelsey73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf

Eh...end result's the same.

What did you end up using to fill in the foam?
Not the cleanest way but we fill fire pens here with RTV... Just planned a package with it.

Figured if it's good enough for here it'll work for my jeep. I highly doubt it was an issue before, but I sleep better
__________________
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara- Bright White
Kelsey73 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 02:32 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Well, it's already done, but i'm not to sure the RTV was a good idea, although you'll probably never have to pull the sPOD harness out anyway !!

By the way-I'm sure everybody knows that there are (5) pre cut/capped holes thru the JK firewall anyway--right, actually (6), but ones tough to get to-

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 02:37 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Kelsey73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX
Well, it's already done, but i'm not to sure the RTV was a good idea, although you'll probably never have to pull the sPOD harness out anyway !!

By the way-I'm sure everybody knows that there are (5) pre cut/capped holes thru the JK firewall anyway--right, actually (6), but ones tough to get to-

JIMBO
Yea I know it wasn't the best in that sense, but I doubt It'll ever need pulled anyway. The connector on the end of the switch cable for the Gen 2 wasn't the best idea IMO.

If it ever needs pulled out I'll snip it and run it through the other hole.
__________________
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara- Bright White
Kelsey73 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2012, 11:38 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
11BUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Well, it's already done, but i'm not to sure the RTV was a good idea, although you'll probably never have to pull the sPOD harness out anyway !!

By the way-I'm sure everybody knows that there are (5) pre cut/capped holes thru the JK firewall anyway--right, actually (6), but ones tough to get to-

JIMBO
Jimbox? Where can we find out where these pre-cut/capped holes are located? I can obv conclude atleast where 2 of those are just from this discussion board posting...

Thx
11BUL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2012, 12:01 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
two 1"/foam filled--each side of the dash/vent level-


Quote:
Originally Posted by 11BUL View Post
Jimbox? Where can we find out where these pre-cut/capped holes are located? I can obv conclude atleast where 2 of those are just from this discussion board posting...

Thx
One 2" just above the Brake vacuum assist cyl

One 2" just below the steering column

One 2" behind the glovebox,The 1" upper, passenger side goes straight to the battery !

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2012, 12:06 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
11BUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
two 1"/foam filled--each side of the dash/vent level-

One 2" just above the Brake vacuum assist cyl

One 2" just below the steering column

One 2" behind the glovebox,The 1" upper, passenger side goes straight to the battery !

JIMBO
You know where I could find a switch to fit next to the emergency flashers? Do the Daystar switches fit (doesnt appear so). Also for wiring here, I am assuming the best entry point would be the brake vaccum assist cyl one?

Thanks again
11BUL is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2012, 12:13 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
before I installed the "sPOD" sys, I had 6 seperate circuits and used the 1" access on the passenger side, cause it exits about2ft from the battery-


Quote:
Originally Posted by 11BUL View Post
You know where I could find a switch to fit next to the emergency flashers? Do the Daystar switches fit (doesnt appear so). Also for wiring here, I am assuming the best entry point would be the brake vaccum assist cyl one?

Thanks again
I previously obtained all my sw's/relays/sw boards from "JEGS"-

Other guys who aren't using the "sPOD" will have to advise you !

Good luck

JIMBO

__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ESP, BAS light nmdriver JK General Discussion Forum 22 07-29-2012 05:31 PM
Parking light wire?? devildog330 TJ General Discussion Forum 7 03-26-2012 07:50 PM
Is the third brake light mandatory? catalinafairview JK General Discussion Forum 19 03-26-2012 04:43 PM
YJ light switch 93wayj YJ Tech Forum 3 03-26-2012 08:20 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC