Windshield mount thingy for switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-17-2013, 08:59 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 275
Windshield mount thingy for switches

Hi All,
I'm not sure what you call the hook in the middle of the windshield, inside the jeep. It is where the SPOD sits.

Image courtesy Kosmos/Jeepforum
See attachments for example.

I'm trying to make a custom mount for my switches. SPOD has a nice mount, but don't sell it separate( which is obvious ). Does anyone have any ideas on a mount or will I have to fab a sheet metal enclosure?

Any ideas are appreciated. I'd love a plastic enclosure which will be easy to dremel, but I won't get the slope that the spod provides.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sPOD-06.jpg
Views:	404
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	262544   Click image for larger version

Name:	sPOD-03.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	262545  


bluehash is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:05 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
david.w.johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 158
lol

I don't know what Jeep calls it officially, but I can tell you what it is. It's a windshield tie-down point. If you were to fold your windshield forward, it would sit on the two rubber stoppers on your hood that you can see in your 2nd picture. You could then run a strap from the latchpoint on the interior top center of your windshield (the 'thingy') and the reciprocal latch point on the hood (barely visible in your picture between the mirror mount and the Jeep logo on your windshield. This was once done on the original Jeep with a cotton strap and buckle. I haven't seen anyone actually try folding the windshield down in a long time. But we were still using Jeeps when I joined the Army.

As an aside...the start button was on the floorboard where your left foot could press it when it reached the bottom while depressing the clutch pedal. That was the Army's way of making sure you had the clutch in before you tried to start it. :-)

__________________
=== oooo_
[ _l_,\____\,
l---L -----OlllllO-
()_)---()_)-ж-)_)

Everyobody dies. Not everybody truly lives.
david.w.johnson is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:14 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 275
I get it now. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by david.w.johnson View Post
lol

As an aside...the start button was on the floorboard where your left foot could press it when it reached the bottom while depressing the clutch pedal. That was the Army's way of making sure you had the clutch in before you tried to start it. :-)
Nice trivia on the start button. Nifty!

I'm an embedded engineer by trade and have hooked up to vehicle CAN buses using custom code on an ARM. I just need some mechanical help on the mount, so I can hook it to an LCD.

Thanks again.
bluehash is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:18 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
mjpjr45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sunset, LA
Posts: 426
Doesn't mount on top of windshield, but on side instead.

Rugged Ridge 17235.58 - Rugged Ridge A-Pillar Switch Pod for 11-13 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec

I have my light switches mounted on one.

__________________
2013 JK Sport 2DR 4.10s, TruTracs Frt. and Rear
Terafllex 2.5" Springs and Shocks, JKS Adj. Track Bars
305/70/17 Terra Grapplers/ Pro Comp 7005s 17x9
mjpjr45 is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:24 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 275
Thanks MJP. That is a nice place, but it would be tough to put a small LCD there.

Some more digging bought me to this.
Courtesy: Matteo from JKFreaks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled2.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	184.9 KB
ID:	262565  
bluehash is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:30 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Panther57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Great Lakes Bay Region, Michigan
Posts: 221
Did you install the switch pod yourself? How difficult was the installation?
Panther57 is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:52 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Ivoryring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehash View Post
Hi All,
I'm not sure what you call the hook in the middle of the windshield, inside the jeep. It is where the SPOD sits.
If you care about terminology, they are called "footman's loop" or "footman loop". I don't know the origin of the term.
Ivoryring is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:56 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther57 View Post
Did you install the switch pod yourself? How difficult was the installation?
Just an example. Not mine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivoryring View Post
If you care about terminology, they are called "footman's loop" or "footman loop". I don't know the origin of the term.
Thanks! Good to know the correct terminology.

bluehash is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC