Wires - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-07-2012, 12:10 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Jeepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
Wires

Hi all. Just got my jeep and starting the first portion of mods. which is the nav,cameras, lockpick, and uconnect.

I got the uconnect working and nav and cd work great.

Question :

What is the white adapter for? The jeep didnt have a white connection that plugs into the back of the player, just the grey. SO i plugged the wiring harness from lockpick but didnt have anything to plug into it.

Is it a must to donwload the updates from lockpick or should it be working?

I couldnt find a place to put the GPS antenna so I just secured it on the stereo, dont know if that could be a prob!!

Let me know if anyone can help me with these "issues"


I am very happy right now!!!

Thanks in advance for any help

Jeepa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2012, 02:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Do you know what vehicle the radio is from? What is the radio model? If I remember correctly, that was for an external amp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepa View Post
Hi all. Just got my jeep and starting the first portion of mods. which is the nav,cameras, lockpick, and uconnect.

I got the uconnect working and nav and cd work great.

Question :

What is the white adapter for? The jeep didnt have a white connection that plugs into the back of the player, just the grey. SO i plugged the wiring harness from lockpick but didnt have anything to plug into it.

Is it a must to donwload the updates from lockpick or should it be working?

I couldnt find a place to put the GPS antenna so I just secured it on the stereo, dont know if that could be a prob!!

Let me know if anyone can help me with these "issues"


I am very happy right now!!!

Thanks in advance for any help

xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jeepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
Thanks for responding! It is the RER 430 with nav. I believe you are right about the amp.

I took it in to the dealership, they said it needed an update and updated with my VIN. So an hour later they said everything works fine! I also got Sirius for free, maybe its a short trial because they needed to test it.

I am still having the same issues with the nav. 50% of the time when i turn the jeep off and come back after an hour or so and drive off, the coordinance of my last location remains up on the map and it doesn't locate where I am for a good 30 minutes to an hour.

Anyone have this experience? How did you fix the issue if you did have this problem?



Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Do you know what vehicle the radio is from? What is the radio model? If I remember correctly, that was for an external amp.
Jeepa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2012, 12:00 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
If the speedometer is working correctly, then I would think possibly an antenna issue. You might try taking it off the radio and try a few different places.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepa View Post
Thanks for responding! It is the RER 430 with nav. I believe you are right about the amp.

I took it in to the dealership, they said it needed an update and updated with my VIN. So an hour later they said everything works fine! I also got Sirius for free, maybe its a short trial because they needed to test it.

I am still having the same issues with the nav. 50% of the time when i turn the jeep off and come back after an hour or so and drive off, the coordinance of my last location remains up on the map and it doesn't locate where I am for a good 30 minutes to an hour.

Anyone have this experience? How did you fix the issue if you did have this problem?
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2012, 12:06 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
LauriLindsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brampton Ontario Canada
Posts: 78
Images: 2
[QUOTE=Jeepa;2258728]Thanks for responding! It is the RER 430 with nav. I believe you are right about the amp.

I took it in to the dealership, they said it needed an update and updated with my VIN. So an hour later they said everything works fine! I also got Sirius for free, maybe its a short trial because they needed to test it.

I am still having the same issues with the nav. 50% of the time when i turn the jeep off and come back after an hour or so and drive off, the coordinance of my last location remains up on the map and it doesn't locate where I am for a good 30 minutes to an hour.

Anyone have this experience? How did you fix the issue if you did have this problem?[/QUOTE

In the manual for my 2012's JKU there is a section for resetting the compass. Don't know if this would work for you but worth a try.
LauriLindsay is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Thanks for that info LL. That may also be helpful.


[QUOTE=LauriLindsay;2261144]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepa View Post
Thanks for responding! It is the RER 430 with nav. I believe you are right about the amp.

I took it in to the dealership, they said it needed an update and updated with my VIN. So an hour later they said everything works fine! I also got Sirius for free, maybe its a short trial because they needed to test it.

I am still having the same issues with the nav. 50% of the time when i turn the jeep off and come back after an hour or so and drive off, the coordinance of my last location remains up on the map and it doesn't locate where I am for a good 30 minutes to an hour.

Anyone have this experience? How did you fix the issue if you did have this problem?[/QUOTE

In the manual for my 2012's JKU there is a section for resetting the compass. Don't know if this would work for you but worth a try.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2012, 12:48 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jeepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
Thank you both!! I am going to try setting the compass first then Ill work the antenna!

Hope it works!
Jeepa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2012, 06:04 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Jeepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
So a few days later and have some updates. I went though the manual to calibrate the compass and came up short. After what LL said above I looked at the compass area (in the instrument cluster) and it was on a constant N and never changed. The problem with the instructions is that it states you need to press the left button, my jeep only has one button and it is on the right.
I called the dealership and started troubleshooting with the tech. He says to me "do you have a navigation" and I responded "I installed an oem NAV" he said "we haven't had anyone ever do this before." I thought that was really strange! After holding for a while he comes back and said I think we figured it out. The nav system reads your location off of GPS and gives your direction this way. Usually jeeps with NAV do not have the directional value in the instrument cluster. This is probably why your nav cant pick up a location for 30 minutes to an hour. It is conflicting with the compass on the car.
I asked how I can disengage the compass. No clue and I would have to take it in and spend at least another hourly fee!!!!

Anyone know how to disengage the compass?

Thanks LL and XSDBS for helping as much as you have already!!!
Jeepa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2012, 08:43 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Hmm, just curious if you disconnect the radio completely does the compass in the dash work correctly?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepa View Post
So a few days later and have some updates. I went though the manual to calibrate the compass and came up short. After what LL said above I looked at the compass area (in the instrument cluster) and it was on a constant N and never changed. The problem with the instructions is that it states you need to press the left button, my jeep only has one button and it is on the right.
I called the dealership and started troubleshooting with the tech. He says to me "do you have a navigation" and I responded "I installed an oem NAV" he said "we haven't had anyone ever do this before." I thought that was really strange! After holding for a while he comes back and said I think we figured it out. The nav system reads your location off of GPS and gives your direction this way. Usually jeeps with NAV do not have the directional value in the instrument cluster. This is probably why your nav cant pick up a location for 30 minutes to an hour. It is conflicting with the compass on the car.
I asked how I can disengage the compass. No clue and I would have to take it in and spend at least another hourly fee!!!!

Anyone know how to disengage the compass?

Thanks LL and XSDBS for helping as much as you have already!!!
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2012, 11:24 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
speeddrive1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepa View Post
So a few days later and have some updates. I went though the manual to calibrate the compass and came up short. After what LL said above I looked at the compass area (in the instrument cluster) and it was on a constant N and never changed. The problem with the instructions is that it states you need to press the left button, my jeep only has one button and it is on the right.
I called the dealership and started troubleshooting with the tech. He says to me "do you have a navigation" and I responded "I installed an oem NAV" he said "we haven't had anyone ever do this before." I thought that was really strange! After holding for a while he comes back and said I think we figured it out. The nav system reads your location off of GPS and gives your direction this way. Usually jeeps with NAV do not have the directional value in the instrument cluster. This is probably why your nav cant pick up a location for 30 minutes to an hour. It is conflicting with the compass on the car.
I asked how I can disengage the compass. No clue and I would have to take it in and spend at least another hourly fee!!!!

Anyone know how to disengage the compass?

Thanks LL and XSDBS for helping as much as you have already!!!
I call bs on the dealer. I have factory nav system with the compas in the cluster and also added a lockpic with no problems what so ever.
speeddrive1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2012, 08:55 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Thanks for backing up my thoughts also. Just thought I'd have him try to see if the factory compass would work without the radio. I'm really more wondering about his location of the SAT antenna.



Quote:
Originally Posted by speeddrive1 View Post
I call bs on the dealer. I have factory nav system with the compas in the cluster and also added a lockpic with no problems what so ever.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2012, 08:25 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Jeepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
OK. I disconnected the stereo completely and reinstalled the old one, compass still stuck on N. This was never the case before I took it in to the dealer to "sync with my vin"

I am going to take it in!!! I think they did something.

I think the earliest I can get there is Monday or Tuesday. Ill let you know.
Jeepa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2012, 09:13 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
bengen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis County
Posts: 589
dunno if this will help, there is a post about driving in a circle to reset the compass
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/evi...es-139229.html
bengen1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2012, 09:24 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Jeepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 69
Thanks for that. I tried to calibrate but didn't work. Dealer told me because I installed the NAV.

Now that I read through that thread, I am thinking it is the lockpick. I am going to take the lockpick off and see what happens. Didn't think it could be that but it makes sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bengen1 View Post
dunno if this will help, there is a post about driving in a circle to reset the compass
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/evi...es-139229.html

Jeepa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing excess wires following Nutter Bypass sfhusser YJ Tech Forum 1 04-04-2012 10:41 PM
Tailgate wires?? Wrangler_Man11 Communications and Electronics 0 04-03-2012 06:21 PM
Wires on 8.8?? jerryj TJ General Discussion Forum 2 03-31-2012 09:25 AM
Running speaker wires to sound pod firemt04 Communications and Electronics 2 03-30-2012 12:44 PM
windsheild light wires cocky grin JK General Discussion Forum 20 03-27-2012 12:13 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC