Wiring PIAA lights - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-22-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 274
Hansen is on a distinguished road
Wiring PIAA lights

I'm installing some PIAA 520 lights on my bumper this weekend. PIAA's wire harness comes pre-made with the relay wired into it and a switch incorporated into the harness. I don't want to use the switch (or any switch) as I'll be triggering the lights off the high beam wire via the relay. A copy of PIAA's wiring diagram is attached. I'd like to get rid of the switch you see in the diagram so I don't have that mess stuff into the engine compartment (I recognize I could leave it attached and in the on position in the engine compartment but prefer not to do that). So, my question: how do I get rid of the switch completely...meanign what wires do I tie together?

If I'm reading the diagram right, I think I just cut that plug off (#3 on diagram) and solder all three of those wires together?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	520.jpg
Views:	365
Size:	159.5 KB
ID:	213080  
__________________
'13 JKU Sahara in Tru Blue
Hansen is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:35 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
kyvtx1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 40324
Posts: 68
kyvtx1300 is on a distinguished road
No soldering everything together, you have a ground in that switch too. And the high beam is CANBUS, so your relay is not going to like it unless you install a cap on the line triggering the relay.

kyvtx1300 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:00 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 274
Hansen is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyvtx1300
No soldering everything together, you have a ground in that switch too. And the high beam is CANBUS, so your relay is not going to like it unless you install a cap on the line triggering the relay.
Thanks. Is the ground wire in the switch just for the LED on the switch, or does it play an active role in triggering the relay when power comes through from the high beam wire?
__________________
'13 JKU Sahara in Tru Blue
Hansen is offline   Quote
 
Old 02-22-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 274
Hansen is on a distinguished road
Got the answer from PIAA tech support. The black wire serves only as a ground wire for the LED on the switch. Otherwise, no other function and not need. Just use the white/red wire coming out of the relay to connect to the highbeam wire.
__________________
'13 JKU Sahara in Tru Blue
Hansen is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC
« Back

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner