05 Rubicon Lockers Dont Work - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-05-2013, 09:55 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
05 Rubicon Lockers Dont Work

I recently bought a 05 jeep rubicon. I put it into four low. Press the axle lock button down, and nothing happens. The orange light on the switch doesn't light up or any of the indicator lights on the dash, the switch does glow when i have my lights on, so i know there is power to the switch, but do you think my switch is bad? i checked underneath and everything is plugged in on the compressor, but i dont here it make any sounds when i try pushing the switch either.

hondarider6 is offline   Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:20 PM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
I made a video of what is going on. here is the link

hondarider6 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 11:14 AM   #3
Newb
 
Murphy-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 2
I thought I might as well hop onto this, My 03' Rubicon rear lock works but the front just blinks the light on and on with no end.
Murphy-C is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 11:50 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 477
I would pull your dash and check with a test light to see if you have power going to the switch. If there is no power tot he switch then you will not be able to send power to the relay and compressor also your dash 4x4 light is post switch. With no light there I would begin checking to see where you have power. Did you check fuses as that would be the logical place to start. I can get a wiring diagram fro the compressor and switch later today and post it for you.
rubiconvict05 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
i only checked my relays to the front and rear lockers, under the hood. What other fuses should i check? ill check today for power at the switch.
hondarider6 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:38 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 477
Did you have power at the relays? you could jump or bypass the relays and go from there. If you have power at the relays but no power to activate them it most likely will trace back to no power at the switch.
I just thought of this, did you see if the connector in the back of your switch is connected or even pushed in all the way? It very will could have been removed or pulled out when the other switch was installed or the radio was installed. I know that the switches don't need to come out but I am trying to help troubleshoot.
as for other fuses I would assume that there are fuses to the switches and or to the compressor itself. Don't quote me on it I have to check a wiring diagram at the shop.
rubiconvict05 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:59 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
i just looked at the relays, and they didn't look burnt or anything. But i didn't think both relays would just go out at once. I did check the connector as well behind the switch and it was connected, i even undid it and plugged it back in, just in case
hondarider6 is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:31 PM   #8
jkp
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 518
Fuse no. 24 under the hood.

You can download a user's manual for free from Jeep.

Crawl underneath and check the to be sure the wiring harness is correctly plugged into the t-case.
__________________
'92 Islander
'06 Rubicon
jkp is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:51 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 3,287
I bet the fuse is blown.If you do have pwr to the switch you could prob jump the switch to see if the switch is bad.If theres more than 2 wires (prob is) going to switch make sure you jump the correct ones.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:02 PM   #10
Newb
 
Silvertip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: alberta Canada
Posts: 61
Check to see if your getting power at the compressors, run the lines and look for holes/leaks/poor connections.

There is a wire that enters both diff's for the locker sensor and an air line for both as well. there is a air line connection in the diff ( these ) come loose and will not engage your locker, So the dash light will flash for ever! Also if there is a broken wire on the sensor the locker will engage but the light will flash!
Silvertip is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:02 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 19
It was hard to tell in your video but is your 4x4 low indicator light coming on? If the switch on the transfer case is bad, the circuit does not know you are in 4 low and it will not allow lockers to engage.
McGuyver is offline   Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:57 PM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
i don't have any lights coming up on the dash, even the 4x4 light isn't coming on
hondarider6 is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 01:13 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
commodore_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 516
Sounds like the TC switch is the problem then.
commodore_dude is offline   Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:42 PM   #14
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Anywhere have a picture or diagram where the TC switch is. i bought one, but not exactly sure where it goes in.
hondarider6 is offline   Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:59 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Jason1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 646
Wow can't believe this im having the same problem no lights no switch lights whe u find out whats wrong let me know
Jason1348 is offline   Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 05:09 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Jason1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 646
I did the bypass a few year's ago where it will allow lockers to work in any transfer position if thst mod is done whould that completely bypass the tc sensor all together and is there a way to just get rid of the stock switch and put lockers on separate switches im hoping to get this fix soon have a trip planned begin of the month
Jason1348 is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:22 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondarider6 View Post
Anywhere have a picture or diagram where the TC switch is. i bought one, but not exactly sure where it goes in.
It is on top of the transfer case, best access is from the drivers side front. Clean the area, unplug the electrical connector and unscrew with big socket, stubby wrench or pair of channel locks. Don't forget the oring when installing the new one. Here is a link to an earlier thread ...http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/rubi...or-213847.html
McGuyver is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:08 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Jason1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 646
Any updates I still have not got mine working
Jason1348 is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 01:24 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
If you are getting flashing lights the first thing I would check is that the fill plugs on the diff cover are not in too far/to tight. If you tighten the fill plugs to far, you will get a flashing light for the locker because the locker ring is not able to move to the lock position.
Ops5 is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 01:38 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Jason1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 646
No im getting nothing no lights not even a light on the switch they were working on lasy trail ride now just nothing acts like no power but fuse is good
Jason1348 is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:00 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason1348 View Post
No im getting nothing no lights not even a light on the switch they were working on lasy trail ride now just nothing acts like no power but fuse is good
Well, you say you did the bypass mod, so you would need to troubleshoot if the switch works, power going where it is supposed to, etc
Ops5 is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:18 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Jason1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 646
It was the switch it was bad wired separate switches now all is good

Jason1348 is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
lights , lockers , rubicon , switch

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC