12V Relay for KC lites, How does this work? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-04-2012, 01:23 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
USmarine212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 76
Exclamation 12V Relay for KC lites, How does this work?

So I am wanting to get my KC's completely re-wired. I have two on top of my hood and two on my bumper. I was looking and saw some KC HiLite 12V Relays that I am going to buy to wire in the lights then wired to a rocker switch. Is it possible to wire two 130watt lights into that one relay? How should I go about doing this?

USmarine212 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2012, 02:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Powertrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maricopa, AZ
Posts: 569
Yes, you can run two 130w lights on one 30A relay. You can pick up a 30A relay at any auto parts store, you don't have to get them from KC. There's a pretty easy to follow wiring diagram on this link: Automotive Wiring Tips

__________________
Aut inveniam viam aut faciam
Powertrip is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2012, 04:31 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Joshpeb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 313
this was posted by another user.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	light relay.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	199.4 KB
ID:	87438  
Joshpeb2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2012, 05:33 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
2003x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 964
Great post/wiring diagram.
__________________
HP D30, Ford 8.8, 4.88s, 4" RC Long Arm, 1" BL, 35" Toyo MT's.
My Build
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/2...-build-944608/
2003x is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2012, 05:55 PM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 2,902
Like the diagram.Never wire foglights or any lights w/o a relay.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2012, 08:46 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
BeerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 453
I'm doing this too. Good post!
__________________
01 TJ Sahara 4.0 Auto
35s, 4.56s, D35/44, Locked, Lifted,
Dented, Scratched, Broke Windshield,
Warn M8000, 12voltguy, KC's
2 much crap/mods to list
BeerMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2012, 09:20 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Joshpeb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 313
I wish I could remember who posted it to give them credit for it. Just passing it along.
Joshpeb2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2012, 01:32 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
USmarine212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 76
That was very helpful, thank you for the diagram.
USmarine212 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 07:46 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
donbadabon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 225
This is the relay that is used for my fog lights.

I am going to be adding some KC Slimlite's to my windshield, and was wondering if I could just tap into this existing relay.

One of the 87's is connected to my fogs, so would I be able to use the 2nd 87 for the Slimlites?



donbadabon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 09:15 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
DevilDogDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yucca Valley CA 20 miles from JV
Posts: 2,362
Not that I have KC's but I remember reading somewhere that their relays were special somehow and that regular relays wouldn't work.
__________________
Violence may not be the answer but it sure cuts down on the stupid questions
DevilDogDoc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 10:09 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
donbadabon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 225
Hmm. Then maybe I could use the 2nd 87 as the power lead to the KC relay. Anyone know if that would work?

I'm just trying to set it up so that when I push one switch, both the existing fog lights, and the new windshield lights, come on.
donbadabon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 10:15 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Sherpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lehi, UT
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by donbadabon View Post
I'm just trying to set it up so that when I push one switch, both the existing fog lights, and the new windshield lights, come on.
I don't know if the one relay could handle both sets of lights, but even if it cannot, it is no big deal. You can install two relays (one for each pair of lights) and have one toggle switch turn them both on at once.
__________________
Dempsey Bowling
My fleet: 91 Miata, 98 Wrangler Sport, 06 Mustang GT, 01 Suburban 8.1L, 14 Forte EX
Jeep mods: 4" longarm + 1" BL, 35" KM2s, 4.56s with dual ARBs... and lots of scratched armor
Sherpa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 11:01 PM   #13
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,788
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevilDogDoc View Post
Not that I have KC's but I remember reading somewhere that their relays were special somehow and that regular relays wouldn't work.
Only if the relay sockets in a KC manufactured pre-wired harnes were wired differently would a non-KC relay not work.

All of the relays appropriate for aftermarket lights that I have seen and used over the years have the same pin layout, same pin identifiers, and are wired up the same way.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-06-2012, 12:45 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
DevilDogDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yucca Valley CA 20 miles from JV
Posts: 2,362
Like I said, I don't have any KC's, but I remember someone saying that they had a relay go bad and had to order one from kc, as the regular Bosch ones wouldn't work for them. Proprietary relay design maybe?

__________________
Violence may not be the answer but it sure cuts down on the stupid questions
DevilDogDoc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where to grab power for offroad light relay jebby TJ General Discussion Forum 7 09-21-2011 10:01 PM
TSF Work Party 9/13 YellowDog Oregon Jeep Forum 0 09-08-2008 03:49 PM
Starter relay problem ?????? jeeper226969 YJ Tech Forum 1 04-19-2008 05:32 PM
Wiring Aux Lites 82shortbox General Jeep Discussion 3 10-09-2007 07:25 PM
my weekend work on the jeep (rambling) whitebuffalo General Jeep Discussion 6 07-18-2005 11:05 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC