4hi wont engage - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-07-2012, 08:58 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
4hi wont engage

My 4 high won't engage. 4lo works fine. I was told the shifter is binding and that I need a skyjacker shifter kit. Any ideas?

BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:23 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
Bump.

BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:25 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
relwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Did this start after a modifacation or just out of the blue?
__________________
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
relwell is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:30 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
I bought it used. Went to put it in 4hi an didnt work.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:33 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Hoytgirl07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 1,457
mine has been giving me problems too
__________________
Loud, Proud and Country by the Grace of God!
Hoytgirl07 is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:36 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
relwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
If there is a body lift in there it may cause some binding so it won't stay locked in. I went through Novak and got a shift linkage that plugged right in.

Novak's NP / NVG Shifter Assembly for Jeeps
__________________
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
relwell is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:36 AM   #7
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,496
Images: 5
If you go crawl under the jeep.. at the rear of the transfercase drivers side. You will see the linkage for the t-case.. there will be a long rod at or near the end of this rod will be an adjustment screw.. Note its location, then either adj the rod in or out and see if that helps. The other issue could be the bracket that attaches to the body that has a side rod go into it looks sort of like a H mounted sideways on the tub across from the t-case linkage.
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:36 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
Any ideas on what I could replace to fix it?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:07 AM   #9
Founder, ThumbJeeps

WF Supporting Member
 
sevenservices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mid-Michigan/Thumb
Posts: 3,952
check your adjustments first. they may have installed the lift without adjusting the linkages like mentioned by 4jeepn. if adjustments do not help, then find the broken part. then, replace broken part. No sence replacing anything yet...
__________________
-Chris
Founder, ThumbJeeps


1994 Wrangler YJ I6 4.0 H/O Auto 3 spd. 4" RC (33x12.5) (15x8) 3:54 Gears
sevenservices is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:15 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
50Johnbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deer Park, Tx
Posts: 564
Does it shift into 2hi and drive ok?
50Johnbob is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:37 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50Johnbob
Does it shift into 2hi and drive ok?
Yes!
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:34 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
50Johnbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deer Park, Tx
Posts: 564
This just doesn't add up What you are describing is this; 2hi works fine, 4hi = nothing, neutral is neutral, and 4lo works fine. How can you get from 2hi to 4lo without going through 4hi and neutral? A more plausible scenario would be; I can only shift my transfer case into 4hi or 4lo, I can't shift into 2hi because of my 3 inch body lift.
50Johnbob is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:49 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
50Johnbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deer Park, Tx
Posts: 564
Have you tried adjusting the Tcase shifter linkage?
50Johnbob is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 10:23 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50Johnbob
This just doesn't add up What you are describing is this; 2hi works fine, 4hi = nothing, neutral is neutral, and 4lo works fine. How can you get from 2hi to 4lo without going through 4hi and neutral? A more plausible scenario would be; I can only shift my transfer case into 4hi or 4lo, I can't shift into 2hi because of my 3 inch body lift.
Yes that's exactly what I'm saying. Everything works but 4hi.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 12:25 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cedarcreek, Mo.
Posts: 113
Just to be sure, how did you determine 4lo was "fine"?
Molaker is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 01:14 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
MNTNGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 838
And just to add. Incase u didnt know. U cant shift into 4hi from 4lo. If goin from 4lo to 4hi to u to pass 4hi and pull back UP to engauge 4hi.
__________________
all my friends call me COOP a LOOP! Feel free to do the same.
MNTNGOAT is offline   Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:31 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTNGOAT
And just to add. Incase u didnt know. U cant shift into 4hi from 4lo. If goin from 4lo to 4hi to u to pass 4hi and pull back UP to engauge 4hi.
?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:38 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
relwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Have you had time to get under there and check and see if it is the linkage adjustment?

If it goes into 4Hi but won't stay there that is different than it not going into 4Hi at all. Your stock linkage may not stretch that far since you've (whoever you bought it from) had lifted the tub 3" off the frame, it is going to need some help.
__________________
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
relwell is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 05:51 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGreenMachine
My 4 high won't engage. 4lo works fine. I was told the shifter is binding and that I need a skyjacker shifter kit. Any ideas?
Notice the title 4 hi won't engage. Also if 4lo works then I would have to go through 4hi to get to 4lo. Maybe I worded it wrong. The shifter goes into 4hi but it won't engage. I step on the gas and it's as if the jeep were on neutral.

BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC