4wheel drive jeeps linkage help? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-22-2012, 09:54 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
4wheel drive jeeps linkage help?

I got a 99 wrangler with a 4inch lift and 3inch body the jeep didnt come with the linkage to shift into 4wheel drive so i got one from ebay but looks like i got to get and extension bracket or somthing eny body know what im talkin about? I rigged it on but i only get 4 hight the link aint long enough

JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 10:31 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Kevbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,650
I believe you need a Novak linkage set up

__________________
Semper Fidelis

Molon Labe

And all those other Latin and Greek phrases that mean don't mess with me, I am a bad ass that knows Latin and greek phrases!
Kevbz is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 10:45 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jeep_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln County, OR
Posts: 296
X2 on the Novak cable shifter.
__________________
My JEEP helped win a war, your HONDA cuts my grass!
Jeep_guy3 is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 12:14 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Where would i go about to get one? 4 wheel parts?
JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 12:35 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jeep_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln County, OR
Posts: 296
I got mine from savvyoffroad.com $189 or something like that, it was worth every penny too. I have a 4" suspension and 2"BL and never could get it into 4lo. This fixed all my problems and shifts like butter.
__________________
My JEEP helped win a war, your HONDA cuts my grass!
Jeep_guy3 is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:00 AM   #6
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
I'll echo the recommendation...it's not cheap, but it works flawlessly.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:36 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Ya i looked them up.. they are kinda expensive! Is there any cheaper ones
JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:44 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Jeep_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln County, OR
Posts: 296
I dont think anyone else makes something comparable. I was reluctant to spend the money at first, but now that it's installed and I have a full working tcase that shifts like butter... I'd buy another in a heart beat if I get another jeep without it.
__________________
My JEEP helped win a war, your HONDA cuts my grass!
Jeep_guy3 is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,843
What your asking for is a drop bracket, and they are pretty cheap or you can make one. Your absolutely better off getting an aftermarket cable linkage, novak is actually the cheaper one of the good cables, and IMO the best one. Its on my list.
__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:05 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Jeep_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln County, OR
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenSahara00
What your asking for is a drop bracket, and they are pretty cheap or you can make one. Your absolutely better off getting an aftermarket cable linkage, novak is actually the cheaper one of the good cables, and IMO the best one. Its on my list.
I'm not sure they sell one to accommodate a 4" suspension and 3" body. You'd have to build your own. Maybe buy the largest one and add on to it.
__________________
My JEEP helped win a war, your HONDA cuts my grass!
Jeep_guy3 is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:26 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Well heres another question, i bought the jeep with the 4 inch lift and 3 inch body right.. it did not come with a swaybar. It has the quick disconnects already so will a stock swaybar work just fine?
JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:27 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Kevbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,650
if the quick disconnects are the correct length for a 4" lift...yes. the body lift does not effect the sway bar since it is mounted on the frame.
__________________
Semper Fidelis

Molon Labe

And all those other Latin and Greek phrases that mean don't mess with me, I am a bad ass that knows Latin and greek phrases!
Kevbz is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:30 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Thanks man for ur help
JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:04 PM   #14
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep_guy3

I'm not sure they sell one to accommodate a 4" suspension and 3" body. You'd have to build your own. Maybe buy the largest one and add on to it.
Suspension doesn't affect the linkage just the rod with the adjustment on which is easy to adjust. Sometimes it does need to be made longer but that's rare. They make drop brackets for 3 inch body lifts. And that's what he would need for a cheap fix. I still suggest the Novak though
__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:05 PM   #15
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,843
How do you have links and no bar? Lol
__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:06 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Jeep_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln County, OR
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenSahara00

Suspension doesn't affect the linkage just the rod with the adjustment on which is easy to adjust. Sometimes it does need to be made longer but that's rare. They make drop brackets for 3 inch body lifts. And that's what he would need for a cheap fix. I still suggest the Novak though
I guess I should have specified, I'm assuming if the PO was ill advised enough to put a 3" BL he probably put a 1.5" Tcase drop in it like the PO did on my 4" suspension lift. In which case a bracket for a 3" BL probably wouldn't work, that's the problem I ran into anyways, that additional drop in the tcase screwed things up.
__________________
My JEEP helped win a war, your HONDA cuts my grass!
Jeep_guy3 is offline   Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:16 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Some jackass stole my sway bar! Ya i know what kinda jeeper would do that.. lol and i bought the jeep with the lifts already on it
JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 06:17 AM   #18
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep_guy3

I guess I should have specified, I'm assuming if the PO was ill advised enough to put a 3" BL he probably put a 1.5" Tcase drop in it like the PO did on my 4" suspension lift. In which case a bracket for a 3" BL probably wouldn't work, that's the problem I ran into anyways, that additional drop in the tcase screwed things up.
Oh I agree with that 100% but I was going by the facts at hand. Like I said no garentee that the bracket will fix but he asked if there was a bracket of some type. I was just telling him what should have been there.

__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake Seized, need help! tyborbogdan YJ Tech Forum 7 03-23-2012 09:02 PM
New congo rack installed, need help with lights! Kevinw23 TJ General Discussion Forum 5 03-23-2012 10:04 AM
Need help Schaeffer General Jeep Discussion 0 03-22-2012 09:36 PM
dana 44 BOM# help kmoody0507 YJ Tech Forum 2 03-22-2012 09:05 PM
Help with Lift :S soundbreaker TJ General Discussion Forum 2 03-22-2012 07:49 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC