Adding lights - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-16-2011, 06:58 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
Adding lights

I am hooking up two sets of hella 500 lights. Im just wandering, is my factory electrical system (alternater, and battery specifically) going to be ok with the added draw? Thanks.

__________________
"that sure is a nasty habit you got there"
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 07:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
oIIIIIIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 676
Not a problem...you should be fine. I have that installed on mine.

__________________
2000 TJ, I6, Auto
oIIIIIIo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 07:09 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by oIIIIIIo
Not a problem...you should be fine. I have that installed on mine.
Are you comfortable running both sets at the same time?
__________________
"that sure is a nasty habit you got there"
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 07:14 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
oIIIIIIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 676
Yes I would. Make sure your power feed is thick enough and have it on a fuse and as long as the car is on.
__________________
2000 TJ, I6, Auto
oIIIIIIo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 07:16 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8
So long as the engine is running you should be fine, but if you forget to turn them off (not that I've ever done that, twice, in the same week) they'll drain your battery pretty fast and in a hurry.
Cerberus743 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 07:22 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
oIIIIIIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVRUBI View Post
I am hooking up two sets of hella 500 lights. Im just wandering, is my factory electrical system (alternater, and battery specifically) going to be ok with the added draw? Thanks.

BTW...convert them to H.I.D lights. Only 35 or 55 watts depending on which kit you choose. I converted mine to the 55 watts and bright as heck.
__________________
2000 TJ, I6, Auto
oIIIIIIo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 07:40 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
The reason i am asking is that when i have both sets of lights on and the jeep is at idle it is bringing the idle speed down like its bogging. Btw its not the first time ive done this ive wired up many sets of light all the wiring is correct and protected. The jeep is mechanically great it has never had any issues like this. Maybe its normal to draw the engine down a little? It gets sort of a " rough " idle. I just dont want to screw any thing up. Thanks again for the info.
__________________
"that sure is a nasty habit you got there"
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 08:12 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
Has anyone else experienced this?
__________________
"that sure is a nasty habit you got there"
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 08:31 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,861
I hope you are using relays and not the factory wiring and switches.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2011, 08:46 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atthehop
I hope you are using relays and not the factory wiring and switches.
Absolutely, everything is wired exactly how it should be. Relays, fuses, good wire. Everything is in wire loom and routed properly. One set is wired on an independent switch and the other sets relay is triggered by the factory fog light switch. I found a good write up and video on line on how to do it properly.
__________________
"that sure is a nasty habit you got there"
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 06:34 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
Does anyone have any opinions on this today?
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 06:45 AM   #12
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
If two sets of lights is bogging down your engine, then you have an electrical problem with your jeep. Did your jeep come with factory fog lights? I've heard there were two different alternators for TJs with and without fog lights, one was over 100 amps and one was less than 100 or near it (dont quote me on that)

1) how old is your battery. If its more than 5 years old, think anout replacing it, if its less than 5 years old, take it to an auto parts store to get tested. It maybe going bad.

2) get a digital volt meter and check your voltage while the engine is running. It should be around 14v. anything less and you may have a problem with your alternator not putting out enough juice to power everything at idle.

Cheap fix: hand throttle of some kind. When you want to use your lights while stopped you can just bump the throttle up a little bit.

I had 6 130w lights, a pair of 55w floods, factory fogs, and high beams on at one time on my TJ and my voltmeter on the dash dropped to just over 12v instead of the 14v it usually sits at while at idle. This is what leads me to believe there might be a bigger problem.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 07:14 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,190
What year is your tj? Might be time for an alternator upgrade, especially if you are on the 90 amp alt
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 08:07 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Wish_Master_3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
Sorry to kinda steal your thread but I was tryin to wire up my lights and well i has me wiring it to the battery but not really wanting to do that any suggestion on how to pull power for the relay and switch somewhere else close to the battery since all the wires are there and zipped tied up already!
Wish_Master_3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 08:20 AM   #15
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
New zip ties? I do this every time I add a new accessory. Or you can add and accessory fuse block. Add one wire to the battery now and you will have a relocated panel for your future wiring needs. I have a 6 place block and it works great. large gauge wire goes to battery then each connection to the fuse block has its own fuse slot.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 08:27 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Wish_Master_3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peepers View Post
New zip ties? I do this every time I add a new accessory. Or you can add and accessory fuse block. Add one wire to the battery now and you will have a relocated panel for your future wiring needs. I have a 6 place block and it works great. large gauge wire goes to battery then each connection to the fuse block has its own fuse slot.

seriously not tryin to be a smart ass but im not an electrician or mechanic just a guy who loves my jeep and tryin to make things look right not just thrown in there so where would I buy one of these things and you got a link or something would help! thanks for the quick response
Wish_Master_3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 08:35 AM   #17
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
Fuse Blocks and Fuse Panels

I have this one:
Ganged Fuse Panel

got it at parts store I believe. about half way down the page.

You can use one terminal to power all your switches and one terminal for each relay. and no bother at all, My butts been know to be smart a time or two as well.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 09:32 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Wish_Master_3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
so ive looked online at all the autoparts stores around me and cant find it so idk is there a website you can think of that carry's it or one like it....
and so i run one main wire for power to this box and then all the other components run into this box but each one should have a relay? also would it be strong enough for powering a winch im wanting to put my winch on a toggle switch so I can turn the power to it in on and off?
Wish_Master_3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2011, 09:46 AM   #19
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
CLick the link, you can buy the panel from them:
Fuse Blocks and Fuse Panels

200 amp relay - $82 bottom of the page
Automotive Relays for 12 Volt DC Circuits

I have my winch straight to the battery. thats how they tell you to do it and under heavy load its the safest way to do it with out having to make sure you have the right gauge wire. it doesn't draw any juice just sitting there.

__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding some lights, dash switch question GA_TJ TJ Tech Forum 2 01-25-2010 11:49 AM
fog light question... Jaydogg25 YJ General Discussion Forum 17 08-05-2009 03:49 PM
Adding rear lights Jma20a TJ General Discussion Forum 7 03-24-2009 04:09 PM
adding Reverse lights robertv TJ General Discussion Forum 24 07-31-2008 07:48 AM
Adding Fog Lights skeejunkee JK Tech Forum 1 03-18-2008 01:42 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC