adjustable front trac bar ? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-13-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
adjustable front trac bar ?

Ok so my bushing is out on my trac bar and i need a new one.

I was just wondering is it really worth going with the currie hd really worth the extra money or is the standard currie or jks a better purchase? I also need to get a new pitman arm with no drop since there is one installed is there a stronger one that someone sells or is an oem one good enough

the jeep is a tj rubicon with a 4" lift other than that basically stock.

any opinions are welcome

droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2012, 09:40 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
bobthetj03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lake County, NorCal.
Posts: 1,723
There is a debate as to whether adjustable TB's hit the front diff cover when aftermarket diff covers are used. Other factors like moving the axle forward with adjustable CA's play into this debate. I've read that the Currie TB has the best clearance. Personally, I run the JKS TB and have no interference issues, but I'm on a 2.5" lift. Some say the only way to find out if you have interference issues is to remove the front springs/shocks, remove the front jounce bumpers, and compress the axle to see what hits and what fits, and then bump stop accordingly.

__________________
I like banter!

"The little Jeep that could!"
bobthetj03 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2012, 09:48 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,060
read this thread. the whole thing.
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/tj...it-fit-738948/
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2012, 10:02 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
pcwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Yorktown
Posts: 320
Do NOT allow anyone to drill out your stock upper trackbar mount until you are *absolutely* sure that you NEED an adjustable. Three inches of lift on my 2006 Rubicon and I let the shop drill mine out. EVERY adj TB hits with that little lift, and the stock TB works perfectly well.

4" is about the limit, but DON'T DO IT UNTIL YOU ARE SURE THAT IS THE ONLY WAY
__________________
-Phil

Man out standing in his field
o|||||||o
pcwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2012, 10:41 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobthetj03 View Post
There is a debate as to whether adjustable TB's hit the front diff cover when aftermarket diff covers are used. Other factors like moving the axle forward with adjustable CA's play into this debate. I've read that the Currie TB has the best clearance. Personally, I run the JKS TB and have no interference issues, but I'm on a 2.5" lift. Some say the only way to find out if you have interference issues is to remove the front springs/shocks, remove the front jounce bumpers, and compress the axle to see what hits and what fits, and then bump stop accordingly.
thanks all help is informative and needed, this is the first non leaf vehicle i have owned so i want to learn as much as i can

Quote:
Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 View Post
unlimitedlj04, I have made it through the 1st 10 pages so far. what i have gathered is the most important things is bumpstops, and/or having a trac bar with a better bend to clear the diffcover to prevent problems with failure. Maybe even just fixing the one i have since it works fine and i have no rub. havent finished reading yet but am i making progress?
droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2012, 10:48 PM   #6
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
doclouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: In the mountains.
Posts: 3,653
Images: 4
I also have about 4" of lift in the front end. I bought a Currie adjustable for a couple reasons. First when the lift went on the axle shifted towards the drivers side of the vehicle. This did not bother me, but then I started to have rubbing issues with the links and the sway bar. Concerning, but not a real big deal at the time. Then I noticed the control arms are not exactly straight forward. They tilt towards the drivers side. Still not too big of a concern. Then as soon as I put on the lift I also got death wobble. Now I am concerned. I changed out the stock track bar for Curries HD adjustable to begin to bring everything back into line with the stock setup. You may want to look at an adjustable one to keep the axle centered properly.
__________________
2000 Sahara, 3.5" Rubicon Express Lift, 1" spring spacer & 1" Body Lift, 33" or 35" BFG Mud tires, Front & Rear ARB, Rancho 9000 shocks, UCF Ultra High Belly Up

doclouie is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2012, 11:00 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by doclouie View Post
I also have about 4" of lift in the front end. I bought a Currie adjustable for a couple reasons. First when the lift went on the axle shifted towards the drivers side of the vehicle. This did not bother me, but then I started to have rubbing issues with the links and the sway bar. Concerning, but not a real big deal at the time. Then I noticed the control arms are not exactly straight forward. They tilt towards the drivers side. Still not too big of a concern. Then as soon as I put on the lift I also got death wobble. Now I am concerned. I changed out the stock track bar for Curries HD adjustable to begin to bring everything back into line with the stock setup. You may want to look at an adjustable one to keep the axle centered properly.

thanks. everything is centered correct with the drop bracket on the fabtech lift, i just started getting death wobble and when doing the the steering test. i first noticed the body would move side to side when the wheel was turned and with a closer look its the bottom tracbar bushing there is lots of play and movement when the wheel is turned.
droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-14-2012, 09:56 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Freakville FL
Posts: 457
I had a RE adjustable installed when I had my Zone 3" lift done. I had the shop weld a washer in place over the stock mounting holes so the bolt that comes with the kit could be used in the stock location.

I figured that by drilling a new mounting hole would only cause issues with the brackets integrity. By going with the adj bar and stock mounting hole I didn't compromise the strenght and have no issues with it hitting anything.
__________________
98 TJ
4.0L, 5spd, 4.25 Zone lift, Currie Anti-rock, Trutrac D30, D-locked D35 w/4.56 gears, MCE GEN I Flares, 33" Trxxus ATs, Engo 10K# winch, rear disc brake conversion.

My idea of help from the man above is a sniper on the roof.
Diverdown87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-15-2012, 10:55 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 View Post
HOLY CRAP! That was alot of reading, i may have to let it all soak in and think about it before decide what to do. I believe i am going to go with an adjustable tb and take the time to make sure nothing interferes. looks like the bumpstop shouldnt be a problem with me since that was the first thing i had to take care of after buying the jeep and testing it out off road (nearly bent my fender up). I


Thanks for the info overload Unlimited04
droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 06:41 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 914
I have an 05 Rubi with 3" BDS springs Bilstein 5100 shocks JKS track bars and 1.75" bump stop extension . I have not had a problem and couldn't be happier .
__________________
05 TJ Rubicon 3" BDS, Bilstein 5100, Currie Currectlync , Savvy arms/Metalcloak Duroflex joints, Rokmen BL, 33"Cooper STT's, Mc Track Bar
03 Dodge Ram Reg Cab Short bed ,Hemi , 3" lift ,35" BFG ,Bilstein 5100 ,Super Chips ,
Gary2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 07:36 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
There's not a better off-the-shelf track bar than the Currie 9120TJJ/TJS. It'd work well for you.
__________________
Daily Driver Rock Rig
IndyORV
Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 01:49 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Salt Lake City area
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imped View Post
There's not a better off-the-shelf track bar than the Currie 9120TJJ/TJS. It'd work well for you.
So Imped, I've got a stock 06 Rubi with no lift that I'm having DW issues with...I'm anticipating needing to replace a few parts. Im looking at the Currie but the TB is designed for 2 inch minimum lift (unless it can be modded?), but there may still be issues with diff clearance. Any recommendations for this situation...just go stock until the lift...other brands?
mjolly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 01:59 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjolly View Post
So Imped, I've got a stock 06 Rubi with no lift that I'm having DW issues with...I'm anticipating needing to replace a few parts. Im looking at the Currie but the TB is designed for 2 inch minimum lift (unless it can be modded?), but there may still be issues with diff clearance. Any recommendations for this situation...just go stock until the lift...other brands?
There is no aftermarket track bar that will fit at stock height. They all need some amount of bumpstop extension to avoid hitting the diff or the tie-rod.
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 02:03 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
As long as you have the stock (or equivalent clearance) diff cover and don't try to cheat the axle forward, it 'should' clear. I have no experience installing that track bar onto a stock-height rig but with 3" coils and just shy of 6" of up travel I don't have any contact....and I've got a non-stock diff cover (extensively shaved for clearance) and have the axle moved as far forward as I can get it. With that said, I'd stick with stock until you have a bit more room between the diff and track bar mount.

Where is your DW coming from? A stock track bar does a fine job if it's in good shape and properly torqued. You need to first determine the cause of your wobbles.
__________________
Daily Driver Rock Rig
IndyORV
Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 02:17 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Salt Lake City area
Posts: 28
Thanks Unlimited and Imped, it's been a slow process but I'm planning to find out where the loose connections are this weekend and go from there. Sounds like the best bet is to make sure everything is torqued to spec and replace with stock if needed.

Appreciate the input!
mjolly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 02:22 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
"Torqued to spec" is overrated. As long as nothing is loose, you're fine. Something is either loose and/or worn out. Find it, fix it and enjoy.
__________________
Daily Driver Rock Rig
IndyORV
Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2012, 06:38 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imped View Post
There's not a better off-the-shelf track bar than the Currie 9120TJJ/TJS. It'd work well for you.
Thanks just decided to pull the trigger on that. my roommate is going to get me a new bushing from work for now so i can go wheeling this weekend. I guess its gonna be a few days before i get the currie. then pull it apart and check everything just as in the thread that was listed. Good read recommend it for anyone who is doing and adjustable tb. I cant change my bumpstop right now anyway so my 33's dont contact the fender when flexed.
droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2012, 11:23 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
Well after doing some more research on the fabtech tb drop bracket i am concerned. the tb bracket uses a 9/16" bolt however the instructions say to drill the factory mount to 3/4" and they use an insert to bring it to 9/16. the currie 9210tjj uses a 5/8" bolt so the only thing i can think is to use a drill press to drill the insert.

Is this a good idea or should i just look for a 5/8 id insert to replace it with?
droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 10:41 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
bobthetj03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lake County, NorCal.
Posts: 1,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by droze View Post
Well after doing some more research on the fabtech tb drop bracket i am concerned. the tb bracket uses a 9/16" bolt however the instructions say to drill the factory mount to 3/4" and they use an insert to bring it to 9/16. the currie 9210tjj uses a 5/8" bolt so the only thing i can think is to use a drill press to drill the insert.

Is this a good idea or should i just look for a 5/8 id insert to replace it with?
So is your current TB a stock unit?
__________________
I like banter!

"The little Jeep that could!"
bobthetj03 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 04:28 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
droze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 168
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobthetj03 View Post
So is your current TB a stock unit?
Yes, but it has the fabtech drop bracket installed for the 4" lift. so i plan on putting a stock pitman arm back on with the currie trac bar, Since the stock mount was drilled out for the drop bracket there is no way to use the factory track bar in the factory mounting position.

Good news though, who ever installed the lift just drilled the hole to 5/8 instead of using the 3/4" hole with the insert, so the problem is averted.
droze is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 04:35 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
bobthetj03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lake County, NorCal.
Posts: 1,723
Cool! I had to drill the taper out on my factory mount to accept my JKS TB, so I was confused when you were talking about the TB drop bracket. I now realize you were talking about the Fabtech bracket for the Fabtech TB, which of course, you'll be removing to accept the Currie. And you don't even have to drill out the factory mount, bonus!

__________________
I like banter!

"The little Jeep that could!"
bobthetj03 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC