aftermarket air intakes - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-26-2011, 06:28 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Rubicondon53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,588
aftermarket air intakes

I know I am going to get killed for this, but here goes. For the 1st 60k miles I ran a cold air intake, with K&N filter on my 4 liter. I installed it brand new, when my rubi was brand new. Did a lot of research, plunked down the cashola, and just did it. I suffered with high idle problems, ( the idle would not kick down), and while finness rock crawling, idle RPMs, were inconsistent. While traveling to Moab last May, the idle became very rough after several hours of hard interstate driving. I took the damn thing off 5k mile ago, and am selling it on ebay right now. It was the biggest waste of money I have spent on my jeep. A couple of unnoticed horses, and a couple of unnoticed ft lbs of torque, and NO increases in fuel mileage, are just not worth the high idle problem, nor the 145 bucks shelled out in the first place. I do give it 1/2 star rating for the "cool" factor. It did look good under the hood. Fire away motor heads!!

__________________
04' Rubi, with all the gizmos we need for long range excursions, / home modified excursion trailer;

96' Lexus 450, locked, loaded and ready to roll..
'12 VW New Beetle
Rubicondon53 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 07:23 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,700
Admitting it is the first step. I am sure there will be posts on how great they are. It is usually someone asking how good they are not how much of a waste of money it was.

__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 07:40 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
03Ruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 689
Have to agree with it being a waste of money. That being said I found that out only after installing a banks on mine. Sounds good and looks cool under the hood but thats about it. Another hard jeep lesson learned!
03Ruth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 07:43 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Thanks for the info. Saved me some bucks.
Well not really, cause I'm sure ill spend it on something equally frivolous.
jayb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 07:45 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
I bought my 04 Rubi with an AEM CAI on it. Where can I buy the stock intake at, without breaking the bank?
Pony Hauler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 07:49 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Riptide63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 281
I don't think you'll get killed for that one. While "cold air" or "free flowing" intakes do offer some benefit to more performance oriented engines, they're useless on a stock Jeep. It's been my experience that anything over 3000 rpms on a Jeep inline is just wasted gas, as most of the SOTP power & torque are in the 3k & under range. On smaller, lower rpm engines you're simply not moving enough air to see any benefit over the stock air box. My most recent TJ had an Airaid on it when I bought it. I traded it on Craigslist for a stock air box and saw ZERO loss in performance, even at WOT.

Secondly, having an open cone filter on something you're going to take off road, especially if you're going into mud & water, is just asking for trouble.
__________________
Doug Coleman

2000 Wrangler Sport - "Red" - Stock
1999 Z-28 - "The GLUMAKR" - Not Stock

"Mid-life crisis? Pfffffttt... more like a whole-life crisis."
Riptide63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 08:42 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,098
I spent close to $300 for Mopar CAI and throttle-body spacer. I didn't notice much difference as well. I bought mine based on the positive reviews by JP Magazine reviews of the AEM Brute Force CAI. The Mopar CAI appears to be identical to the AEM with the exception of the oiled filter. In hindsight, I would have saved the money for gas, but I just bought the Jeep when gas went up almost three years ago. I'm sure they will sell CAI and other forms of snake oil now that gas is going up again due to what's happening in the Middle East.
Arch Stanton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 09:37 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
The air intake tubing cannot cause a high idle. A high idle is caused by a vacuum leak on the other side of the throttle plate. I did some testing on my dyno (search 18 dyno pulls and jgorm) and got pretty much 0 hp with my CAI. I will say that the engine sounds 100x cooler and tougher, and my IATs are WAY lower when going slow, off roading, and stopped. Is it worth $200? For me it is, for 2 reasons. 1. It moves the stock intake out of my way so that I can do the DIY front fender lift. 2. It sucks fresh cold air from the cowl instead of super hot radiator backwash. Maybe there is a "ram air" effect on the freeway. If feels faster, but maybe I'm biased because it sounds so much more bad ass. I'll do the classic "leaf blower dyno" to find out for sure if its in my head or not.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 10:11 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm View Post
The air intake tubing cannot cause a high idle. A high idle is caused by a vacuum leak on the other side of the throttle plate. I did some testing on my dyno (search 18 dyno pulls and jgorm) and got pretty much 0 hp with my CAI. I will say that the engine sounds 100x cooler and tougher, and my IATs are WAY lower when going slow, off roading, and stopped. Is it worth $200? For me it is, for 2 reasons. 1. It moves the stock intake out of my way so that I can do the DIY front fender lift. 2. It sucks fresh cold air from the cowl instead of super hot radiator backwash. Maybe there is a "ram air" effect on the freeway. If feels faster, but maybe I'm biased because it sounds so much more bad ass. I'll do the classic "leaf blower dyno" to find out for sure if its in my head or not.
you can get the same effect a whole lot cheaper - fitting highline fenders or the ram effect, or a true CAI.

Windstar airbox inside the engine compartment.


Windstar airbox to the cowl:


Mustang GT airbox to the cowl:


Snorkel nose you can use in either direction (from windstar fenderwell):
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 10:20 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 View Post
you can get the same effect a whole lot cheaper - fitting highline fenders or the ram effect, or a true CAI.
I know. I was too lazy to source out the parts, and troubleshoot any fitment issues. I'm a busy guy and sometimes it easier to pay for a kit that will fit, even when I know I could rig one up for less money, but way more time. I spent a total of about 20 minutes installing this one. It would take me 1.5hr to go to the junk yard. I even had a mustang GT airbox, and its a tight fit! I can't believe they got it to work, I canned the idea after messing with the airbox in the jeep for a while. I might rid one up in the future so it can use a bigger filter than that tiny one I have, but that is much lower on my long list of things to do.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 11:33 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,098
Spetre makes a CAI that brings in air from the cowl.
Arch Stanton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 04:43 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Rubicondon53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,588
high idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm View Post
The air intake tubing cannot cause a high idle. A high idle is caused by a vacuum leak on the other side of the throttle plate. I did some testing on my dyno (search 18 dyno pulls and jgorm) and got pretty much 0 hp with my CAI. I will say that the engine sounds 100x cooler and tougher, and my IATs are WAY lower when going slow, off roading, and stopped. Is it worth $200? For me it is, for 2 reasons. 1. It moves the stock intake out of my way so that I can do the DIY front fender lift. 2. It sucks fresh cold air from the cowl instead of super hot radiator backwash. Maybe there is a "ram air" effect on the freeway. If feels faster, but maybe I'm biased because it sounds so much more bad ass. I'll do the classic "leaf blower dyno" to find out for sure if its in my head or not.
True the tube is not the cause, but it has not had the problem since i went back to stock. I believe it was idling all over the place cause the sensors were sending confusing signals to the main brain. After a 6 or 7 hundred miles on the interstate, it would hardly hold idle at all, it sounded like a very sick diesel...timing very retarded..(or advanced? hard to tell). I would shut it down for fueling up, and that would reset the computors back to stock, and wha la! perfect idle, until we went back to work again. No vacuum leaks here, I'm all over those, and am very familiar with how a motor behaves with vacuum leaks. If I do anything at all I will be adding a snorkel, for true cool air intake,, thanks all
__________________
04' Rubi, with all the gizmos we need for long range excursions, / home modified excursion trailer;

96' Lexus 450, locked, loaded and ready to roll..
'12 VW New Beetle
Rubicondon53 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 05:00 PM   #13
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,208
Images: 2
There's not an aftermarket air intake made that I would bother installing even if it were given to me free. The factory air intake was specifically designed to be non-restrictive and they succeeeded in doing so. There are any number of items I could install onto my TJ that would benefit it in some manner, an aftermarket air intake is not one of them.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 05:03 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch Stanton View Post
Spetre makes a CAI that brings in air from the cowl.
I bought this and turned it into a snorkel. If you are just buying it and planning on leaving it the way it is, Dont buy it. When you install it as the instructions say, you can hear the intake sucking air all the time while the Jeep is on...quite anoying. Wish I had seen the pic of the winstar intake to the cowl before I spent 200 on the spectre intake! Looks sharp.
99TJCrawler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2011, 05:55 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
I have the spectre intake.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2011, 06:27 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Hey, I know on my maxima it actually was a cold air intake because it bent down into the wheel well and picked up cold air but are these "cold" air? because it's still pretty much pulling the warm air from the engine compartment

OlllllO
horsewithnoname is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2011, 07:15 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Yup, unless it pulls from the cowl, or a snorkel, its just another hot air intake. Mine makes more noise for sure, but I like it I only notice it after a cold startup, or during heavy throttle. You can hear how it sounds in this video. Scroll to 1:23 and 3:15.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 08:30 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
KawiMonsterSahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DFW
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 View Post
Windstar airbox to the cowl:
Im doing something Very similar to this... BUT i am doing it so that i can put this kit on: http://www.kilbyenterprises.com/KE-2200-K.htm

Which requires an "aftermarket" air intake
__________________
OIF 08-01 Marine Veteran
"'All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing'' --Edmund Burke

My OTHER vehicle is a 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6R
KawiMonsterSahara is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 09:28 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by KawiMonsterSahara View Post
Im doing something Very similar to this... BUT i am doing it so that i can put this kit on: ::Kilby Enterprises::
$1250 for an air pump! damn. I spent $120 on 2 MV50s and did my all my 31s from 13 psi to 30+ psi in under 7 min total. (I like 22 psi, but I didn't catch them in time).
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 09:51 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
KawiMonsterSahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DFW
Posts: 416
its not JUST an air pump... its a belt driven ON BOARD air pump... everything is mounted and ill i have to do is stretch the hose out to air up my tires AND to use air tools on the trail... not to mention attaching my lockers to it....

try doing all that with your lil thing haha
__________________
OIF 08-01 Marine Veteran
"'All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing'' --Edmund Burke

My OTHER vehicle is a 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6R
KawiMonsterSahara is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 10:05 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by KawiMonsterSahara View Post
its not JUST an air pump... its a belt driven ON BOARD air pump... everything is mounted and ill i have to do is stretch the hose out to air up my tires AND to use air tools on the trail... not to mention attaching my lockers to it....
trying doing all that if you're engine's down tho.

when's the last time you needed an air tool on the trail? do you plan on breaking stuff so much that you'll be using air tools frequently? what array of air tools do you plan to carry with you all the time?

btw, you can hook air lockers to just about any pump...electric or mechanically driven...as long as it provides the pressure required
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 10:07 AM   #22
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,208
Images: 2
I will say that my York based OBA system complete with Kilby mounting bracket, 2.5 gallon air tank, fittings from Home Depot, etc. cost me around $400 total to get up and running. The $35 I paid for the used York F210 compressor helped a lot since a new York compressor isn't needed to run a simple OBA system.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 10:17 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by KawiMonsterSahara View Post
its not JUST an air pump... its a belt driven ON BOARD air pump... everything is mounted and ill i have to do is stretch the hose out to air up my tires AND to use air tools on the trail... not to mention attaching my lockers to it....

try doing all that with your lil thing haha
Dual mv50s will put out 5cfm at 0 psi. Once I add my 2.5gal air tank into the mix it could run air tools too But I have no need for air tools on the trail. Impact wrench-> nah, i'll spend the extra 1 minute to get the tire off. Drill-> nah those weak air drills suck. reciprocating saw -> no, the air ones suck and I have a hack saw in my kit. air wratchet -> no, they suck too, even my expensive IR one. cut off wheel-> maybe, but if you need one you have much bigger problems. Air nailers-> huh? An Onboard welder would be WAY more useful than running air tools.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 10:35 AM   #24
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,208
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm View Post
Dual mv50s will put out 5cfm at 0 psi.
I'm surprised you would even quote what TWO compressors do into 0 psi which is a totally useless and misleading CFM rating. A compressor's CFM rating is only useful when quoted into some type of pressure, like 20 psi. That type of rating is uesful as it actually shows how much air a compressor puts out in a real world use, not when simply pumping air out into open air.

Even small compressors can put out lots of air when they aren't having to pump air into an expanding tire that is pushing back with increasing amounts of resistance (air pressure). Once any pressure at all builds up in the tire, the MV50 CFM CFM rate drops off dramatically. It is certainly not even close to being able to run air tools other than for more than about three seconds until the air stored in an aux air tank is exhausted after that brief output.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 11:22 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Xsnois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 557
Wow I'm glad I read this thread an CAI was going to be the next purchase I do have a question those of you who have fabricated your own CAI in to the cowl have you noticed any performance gains ? Or had any issues with doing so ? If there are benefits ie hp/ftlb/mpg I'm gonna strart scavenging

Sent from my iPhone using WF Access
__________________
if you are on a home comp and have questions for me please send me a pm here because they go to my phone as i dont get a chance to get on here with my comp thanks
Xsnois is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 11:32 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
I'm surprised you would even quote what TWO compressors do into 0 psi which is a totally useless and misleading CFM rating. A compressor's CFM rating is only useful when quoted into some type of pressure, like 20 psi. That type of rating is uesful as it actually shows how much air a compressor puts out in a real world use, not when simply pumping air out into open air.
that is all they publish, but considering they have identical flow rates at 0 psi, and look identical, you can assume they are the same as the viair 400c.


.
The york does 4cfm at 90 psi with a high idle of 1200 rpms.
The dual mv50 setup does 2.82 cfm at 90psi. So at a regular idle, they would be nearly identical.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 11:36 AM   #27
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,208
Images: 2
Smittybilt's MV50 only looks like the Viair 400c from the outside. It's a good copy, externally. Tear them down as has been done on a few websites with photos of their insides, valves, etc. and you'll see that the MV50 is way different inside and not nearly as well made as the more expensive Viair compressor is. Don't confuse a Smittybilt MV50 with a Viair 400c.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 11:37 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Smittybilt's MV50 only looks like the Viair 400c from the outside. It's a good copy, externally. Tear them down as has been done on a few websites with photos of their insides, valves, etc. and you'll see that the MV50 is way different inside and not nearly as well made as the more expensive Viair compressor is. Don't confuse a Smittybilt MV50 with a Viair 400c.
post up the links or its BS./
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 11:45 AM   #29
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,208
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm View Post
post up the links or its BS./
Here's one...
Smittybilt MV50 vs. Viair 400p are they the same compressor? -
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2011, 11:51 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
BANGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 338
My 04 Wrangler came with a AEM Brute Force intake . I bought a used air box from Davesjeep.com for $15 bucks and it had a new filter in it . It looks like it should be under the hood . And yes I sold the junk AEM to a guy that had to have it for $70 bucks
BANGER

BANGER is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing aftermarket Radio in TJ write up TheTJRod Communications and Electronics 144 01-16-2014 09:09 AM
Anyone out there with aftermarket hoods? JeepinDave Pictures Forum 0 02-13-2011 09:38 PM
question for those with aftermarket steering wheels 91wranglerbase YJ General Discussion Forum 2 10-08-2010 01:07 AM
Aftermarket Sunrider Soft Top? lunaras JK General Discussion Forum 4 10-03-2010 01:41 PM
aftermarket gauge bezel??? itsallmine YJ General Discussion Forum 2 10-26-2009 10:01 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC