ARB switches, where to put them - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-18-2005, 04:31 PM   #1
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,079
Images: 5
ARB switches, where to put them

As the title says, I am trying to figure out the best place for the 3 ARB switches in the TJ. I am considering the following locations: let me know what you think, or other places.

1. Center Dash panel where the ash tray is or those fake switches for stuff i don't have.
2. Center console just below the storage glove box and next to the hand brake slot thing.
3 Bottom right on panel that wraps around steering shaft and is next to the center dash panel.

__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2005, 05:12 PM   #2
Im bringin flexy back!
 
deverhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 678
i like option 1 personally... thats where friend has em

__________________
"Holy Cow.. You cats are harsh.. They banned our fricken President..!!! LOL" -Tokenh3
deverhart is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2005, 05:18 PM   #3
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,079
Images: 5
Yeah that is a good location, heck even Jeep put them in that area. My main thought was I want to be able to reach them at any time even if the seat belt is holding me back etc, or was off camber etc.
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2005, 11:10 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Have a look at the TJ Switch POD

cherren is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2005, 06:22 AM   #5
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,079
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherren
That might work too. I keep my CB in that spot at the moment, but that can always be moved. Guess I will go sit in the Jeep again and ponder locations.
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2005, 07:34 PM   #6
WF Graphics Bitch
 
JeepCrawler98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 544
Send a message via AIM to JeepCrawler98
I used to have one of those switch pods before the dash conversion - they're perfect for that application.
__________________
//1998 Jeep TJ {'4\"', 'TFLX LAT', 'AA HD SYE', 'HF 8000Lb', 'LockRight', 'Armor', 'Body mods', 'Misc Mods' = 'true' };
JeepCrawler98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2005, 07:04 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
ARB Switch?

Stupid question from the new guy: What's an ARB switch?

Thanks,
Richard
jeepjutsu is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2005, 07:52 AM   #8
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,079
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepjutsu
Stupid question from the new guy: What's an ARB switch?

Thanks,
Richard
Richard, no question is stupid: An ARB switch is for the air locker in the axles. Unlike say a lock-right locker or a detroit locker which has internal parts to "lock" the axles shafts together for better traction, the ARB locker needs an air supply for this, its also known as a selectable locker, thus it needs a switch for on and off.
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2005, 08:27 PM   #9
Newb
 
dlporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 5
Send a message via MSN to dlporter
I went with option 1. I can send you some pics of mine if you want.
__________________
2011 Wrangler Sport
dlporter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2005, 07:47 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
quadna71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Coast
Posts: 85
mine are mounted above the windshield into the plastic cladding. in '03 they started covering all of the exposed metal around the windshield (federally mandated head protection for crashes or something) and it allows for tons of wire loom up there. my compressor and front locker rocker switches both sit up there flush.
chris
__________________
Mine - '03 TJ RE4.5 coils, long arms, 4.88 gears, arb/detroit, 35" BFG KM2's, 9.5ti, skids, etc.
Hers - '01 TJ RE4.5 coils, 35" BFG's, Hs9500, HP30/8.8, 4.56 gears, skids, etc.
quadna71 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-27-2006, 11:04 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 22
Another location for ya..

Have you thought about this spot?
ARB switches fit this set-up also..








this below is one of the harness options(Terminal/Fuse Block)
sPOD-guy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2006, 12:11 PM   #12
I got nothin'

WF Lifetime Member
 
jeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubirock
this below is one of the harness options(Terminal/Fuse Block)
Where do you get these????
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scout View Post
I like "prick".

Go ahead...quote me on that.
"Hold my beer while I kiss your girlfriend... you have to be good for something"

--Aaron Pritchett

If you have to ask what it is or what it does, you don't need it, and you will need help to install it!
jeeperman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2006, 01:24 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 22
Switch Pod info

You could contact John @ info@4x4s-pod.com
and you could gather a little more info here too:
http://www.4x4s-pod.com/faq.html
http://www.4x4s-pod.com/index.html

Good luck on your project!
sPOD-guy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2006, 05:52 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 22
ARB and Conturas installed here too!

ARB and Contura switches fit perfectly in the stock cutouts in the sPOD bezel!

sPOD-guy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switches tonkchief YJ Tech Forum 6 12-26-2008 11:03 AM
Rocker switches for TJ TJ in North Pole TJ General Discussion Forum 1 08-10-2008 02:20 PM
Rocker Switches JimmytheJeep TJ General Discussion Forum 3 03-07-2008 09:22 PM
ARB compressor and switches nicolas-eric TJ Tech Forum 29 10-15-2007 09:17 AM
?'s about some rocker switches Hank TJ General Discussion Forum 3 03-15-2007 07:59 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC