Auto 2 manual swap? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-20-2011, 02:38 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Auto 2 manual swap?

Hi,I'm new to this forum and have had my wrangler for about 2 years now.I would like to swap my auto for a 5 speed.I know i need a computor,and tranny mount,but do i need the drive shafts and transfercase as well?Its an 2003 wrangler with 97k on it it shifts fine I just want a standard.Thanks for the help.

Dougie is offline   Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 02:45 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,166
Images: 2
What type of wheeling do you do? For really tough wheeling, an automatic is the preferred choice. Heck I went the other way years ago, I converted from my TJ's OE 5-speed manual transmission to an automatic to make it better at rock crawling. Granted some feel a manual transmission is more fun on the street.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 05:34 PM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
I don't really get off road at all and I just like a manual better.I was hopeing to find someone that would swap I think that would be easiest.?
Dougie is offline   Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 05:58 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
coolbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redding, Ca
Posts: 873
Swap if you want, I get it, but hang onto the auto and build it. Some day it will come in handy
__________________
2004 Black X 4.0, auto, 3.73's, soft top 31-10.5-15 Toyo A/T's on 8" Ultra 175's, 2" Teraflex BB.
coolbreeze is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 08:15 AM   #5
Newb
 
NunchuckFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 7
I would be interested in trading my manual 5 spd for an automatic. I have a 2003 Jeep Wrangler X 4.0L with 70,000 miles. I live in Boise....
NunchuckFusion is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:47 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
bmanrkg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 20 minutes from everywhere in cape may county,NJ
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to bmanrkg3 Send a message via Yahoo to bmanrkg3
It's all nunchucks fault! I have an automatic I want to swap and live in new jersey...
__________________
I am the anti chrome.
bmanrkg3 is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:08 AM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
99jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: nothern michigan
Posts: 449
Images: 3
not sturring the pot but mud caked in trans cooler= overheated trans,burnt seals,walking. seen it done before.i like my 5 speed.
__________________
99jeeper is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:28 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,790
Not going to get ito which is better.
But the switching of tranny's is not a simple trade of transmissions. The PCM would need to be changed, wiring harness and MUCH more. It would easier and possibly cheaper to trade the Jeep in for a model that has the tranny you want.
__________________
Scoob
Scoob is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:34 AM   #9
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
99jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: nothern michigan
Posts: 449
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
Not going to get ito which is better.
But the switching of tranny's is not a simple trade of transmissions. The PCM would need to be changed, wiring harness and MUCH more. It would easier and possibly cheaper to trade the Jeep in for a model that has the tranny you want.
ya i agree, it sounds like ,it would be a b**ch to do. unless you had ALOT of time on your hands.
__________________
99jeeper is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:43 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougie View Post
I don't really get off road at all and I just like a manual better.I was hopeing to find someone that would swap I think that would be easiest.?
you've got a 42RLE. swapping it for a manual will be a HUGE PITA. trust me on this one....I looked into quite deeply and just decided to regear and live with the crappy 42RLE.

The TCM (Transmission Control Module) is heavily integrated into the PCM (Powertrain Control Module). This means the manual and auto use different PCM's & there are some wiring harness differences.

You'd also need to change the starter, crank position sensor and you need to install a pilot bearing on the crankshaft. There is no direct connection between the engine & the auto on a 42RLE, so no pilot bearing is installed. One of the conversions I've been watching over on JF, the guy used a Hesco front mounted crank position sensor. The CPS's are different between the NV3550 and the 42RLE.

And of course you need the TJ manual pedals (brake, clutch), and the clutch sensor. Then you'll need all the slave cylinder stuff, lines, etc.

And of course the transmission. you may run into issues with output shaft of the tranny and the input shaft on the t-case. The manual's used a long input shaft on the t-case, and the auto's used a short input shaft...but all Rubicon's used short, so it might not be that big of a deal.
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:44 AM   #11
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,166
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnlimitedLJ04 View Post
you've got a 42RLE. swapping it for a manual will be a HUGE PITA. i've research it a lot, so trust me on this one.

The TCM (Transmission Control Module) is heavily integrated into the PCM (Powertrain Control Module). This means the manual and auto use different PCM's & there are some wiring harness differences.

You'd also need to change the starter, crank position sensor and you need to install a pilot bearing on the crankshaft. One of the conversions I've been watching over on JF, the guy used a Hesco front mounted crank position sensor. The CPS's are different between the NV3550 and the 42RLE.

And of course you need the TJ manual pedals (brake, clutch), and the clutch sensor. Then you'll need all the slave cylinder stuff, lines, etc.

And of course the transmission. you may run into issues with output shaft of the tranny and the input shaft on the t-case. The manual's used a long input shaft on the t-case, and the auto's used a short input shaft...but all Rubicon's used short, so it might not be that big of a deal.
Not only all that but it's a difficult swap too!

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual AX15 to Auto? billytheyj YJ Tech Forum 3 01-22-2011 07:48 PM
95yj manual trans to auto rindy991 YJ Tech Forum 1 01-19-2011 10:57 AM
Auto or Manual which one do you prefer? Soulman YJ Tech Forum 24 09-08-2010 09:25 PM
Auto Trans To Manual Trans swap HELP!! CKramer2009 YJ Tech Forum 3 11-26-2009 07:37 PM
AX5 to Auto Swap txjcb YJ Tech Forum 6 10-11-2007 05:53 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC