biggest fuse size - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-21-2012, 06:09 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
mraybrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 278
biggest fuse size

Hey guys,
So today I got up and it was foggy! I was excited to try out my new kc lights. Got in the jeep, turned on the lights, and my dogs won't come on. It blew the in-line 20amp fuse. Put a new one in, turned the lights and snap! Blew another one. What should I do? Could I put a 25 amp fuse in and see if it works, or what would be causing it to blow fuses like that. Never happened before today. Have used them for the past week without any problems till today.

mraybrake is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 06:19 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
NO, don't put in a larger fuse! Find out where its shorted and fix the problem before you burn up your jeep. This is assuming that the lights came with a 20a fuse. If they didn't and they require a larger fuse, use the right gauge wire and put a bigger fuse in.

__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 08:42 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Phobos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Koppel
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm
NO, don't put in a larger fuse! Find out where its shorted and fix the problem before you burn up your jeep. This is assuming that the lights came with a 20a fuse. If they didn't and they require a larger fuse, use the right gauge wire and put a bigger fuse in.
Spot on
__________________
2008 Wrangler X
2004 Grand Cherokee Limited
1997 Grand Cherokee Larado (retired)
1999 Wrangler Sport (sold)

Ken
Phobos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
mraybrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 278
ok. Where all can I look for the short?
mraybrake is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 10:09 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
KKhamesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 22066
Posts: 651
make sure your wiring is correct. make sure everything is connected properly.
__________________
Getting stuck is never an option

33" GY DuraTracs
3" Zone lift
Engo 12k Winch
built in air system
KKhamesi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 11:05 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm View Post
NO, don't put in a larger fuse! Find out where its shorted and fix the problem before you burn up your jeep. This is assuming that the lights came with a 20a fuse. If they didn't and they require a larger fuse, use the right gauge wire and put a bigger fuse in.

Spot On,

Research your short circuit, don't increase the fuse. The switch probably has a rating of 20 amps and your 12 gauge wire (you did use at least 12 gauge...right?) is only good for up to 20 amps.

If the lamps draw that much current each, use 2 switches and 2 fuses.
crallscars is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 11:14 AM   #7
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,317
Assuming you have the 130w KCs, each light is drawing 10.8 amps, or 21.6 amps for the pair. I have 25 amp fuses on all my KCs. you could try a 25 amp fuse, but if it still blows then you have a short, or something is hooked up incorrecty.

Watts = Volts * Amps. So Amps = Watts / Volts.

So if your lights are only 100w, then you are only using 16.6 Watts and you deffinatly have a short or something hooked up wrong.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 08:08 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
mraybrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 278
Its the 55W KC Fog light kit. I didn't have fogs before them. So whatever came in that kit is what I installed. What bugs me is that I just used them this past weekend without any problems. Stuff like that bugs me. I'll see what I can find this weekend.

mraybrake is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas tank size issue/fix? ipleadda2nd TJ Tech Forum 34 02-15-2014 04:31 PM
92 YJ ECU Fuel System fuse keeps blowing cougarcruisin YJ Tech Forum 8 09-25-2013 09:31 AM
Size rims justice1987wrangler YJ General Discussion Forum 2 03-21-2012 12:00 PM
What size winch? y0diggity General Jeep Discussion 10 03-20-2012 08:51 PM
What size tires? Jdlichty Tires & Wheels 1 03-19-2012 11:44 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC